Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2003

      These are an excellent sugar cookie. However, your yield amount is way off. I got 64 very large cookies. I wondered when I saw the 4 plus cups of flour. I will certainly make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      These sugar cookies are very, very, good! They are soft, light, and rich. I also flattened the cookie with a glass dipped in sugar and cinnamon. Yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      I made these last night and added the nutmeg as another reviewer suggested. My hubby threw his in the trash after one bite. I like nutmeg in a lot of things, but these cookies are NOT one of them. Would have probably been good without that addition. I should have known better. Otherwise, were flaky, melt in your mouth and uniform in shape and color. Made them for a neighbor's 1st grade son to take to his teacher. I hope she doesn't flunk him. ;(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      These are the worst cookies I have ever eaten. They are so dry and crumbly. Total waste of butter sugar and rest of ingredients. I made these for holiday gathering. So embarrassed. Dont waste your time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Excellent cookie and it stays moist. Add salt though if you are using unsalted butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      I have been using this recipe for years but just realized last night that I never reviewed them. PERFECT! Absolutely perfect sugar cookie. I have literally been using this very recipe for almost 10 years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      These where okay, but they were very dry and crumbly.Overall they where okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Found these in one of my antique cookbooks years ago and have been making them for 20 years ever since. The recipe works for cookie pizzas, fancy iced, or just plain out of the oven...these are just that good! I was happy to see them here. Watch your measurements. For those of you that find them dry, you are not sifting or lightening your flour before adding or perhaps your home is dry. Flour varies in density. Eggs also can be the culprit if you didnt have the correct size on hand. Try adding a few tablespoons of a beaten one. For those that found them greasy, real butter MUST be used and is non negotiable. These are Fabulous! Thanks for posting so I dont have to slog through my many books. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      These were fine tasting but seem quite crumbly. I do not believe I over baked them. They have a light airy texture...sort of melt in your mouth. Unfortunately it's not the texture I was going for. Perhaps adding more flavoring would also help. Someone mentioned making these a pecan sandie would be nice -- I concur. They do sort of remind me of the pecan sandies you can buy, but without the pecans. I'll give them "good" rating as they are good to taste -- how couldn't it be as it's a cookie. But I do not think they're "very good" due to the texture. And I do not think they are excellent for a sugar cookie. I have tried many recipes for sugar cookies, and I personally prefer more chewy cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Wonderful, wonderful! I was so pleased with these beautiful and delicious cookies- they look like they are professionally baked! I made 1 1/2 x the recipe- the resulting dough was much too soft and sticky. I added more flour and the dough tasted bland and floury. So I dumped in more powdered sugar until the dough tasted good! Yet they still turned out wonderful! Chilled the dough overnight. I used a large cookie scoop, dipped them in sprinkles, and didn't flatten before baking. They spread and flatten quite a bit in the oven. The final product is just a bit greasy, so I would like to try decreasing the oil next time. GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Love these cookies. Not sure how they would be if you tried to roll them out and use cookie cutters as the dough seemed very soft. I just dropped them on the pan, didn't have time to chill and they turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      This recipe is from aSouthern Living Cookbook. I have used it for 10 years. I added a teaspoon of nutmeg to the recipe to make them taste like my grandmother's drop sugar cookie, but better. If you are in a hurry and don't have time to refrigerate, drop a cookie scoop full of dough into colored sugar. Use your fingers to roll just the bottom of the scoop of dough. With your fingers again, pick up the ball of dough and invert it onto a parchment covered cookie sheet. Press cookie down a little with the bottom of a water glass. Plenty of sugar gets coated on the top of the cookie and little or none is on the cookie sheet. Makes perfectly round cookies very uniform in size. Never like a sugar cookie before but when looking through the Southern Living Cookbook, the ingredients of oil, powdered sugar, and cream of tartar interested me. I was not disappointed and neither are family or friends that I bake for. Enjoy. the added nutmeg makes them over-the-top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      I'm not a big sugar cookie fan either, but I just loved these! They have such a light sweetness about them, and light texture. I originally made them in order to use up some frosting in my fridge, BUT they were so good, I didn't even bother eating them with frosting, heh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      I love the delicate taste of these

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      These cookies were JUST what I was looking for. They came out so light and delicious and did great with frosting. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I LOVE these cookies!! Fabulous flavor and texture. I made them with Earth Balance buttery spread as I have lactose sensitivites and butter is too rich. I halved the recipe, added a splash of almond extract, and coated cookies in sparkling sugar before popping them into the oven. Next batch, I'll dip half cookie in chocolate, other half, apricot glaze. Thank you for this great recipe. Baking time was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

    • on December 22, 2009

      I dont think that these tasted much like anything. The first batch I dipped in sugar. The rest of the batches I did make I rolled in sugar before baking and I also flattened them out a tad. Didnt finish baking the rest. I wished I only made half the batch and not wasted so much flour and time. I will look for another sugar cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I just emailed my dad for this recipe today. My great grandma makes these cookies, and they are melt in your mouth good!! She calls them "darn good cookies." The only difference in her recipe is that she has 1 tsp of salt too. Can't wait to make them tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Superb! These are light, delicious, and elegant. Great base recipe that you can add many flavors or spices to. I added vanilla paste and orange zest. Simply wonderful result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (1393 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.9
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    54%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 50.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes