75 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are an excellent sugar cookie. However, your yield amount is way off. I got 64 very large cookies. I wondered when I saw the 4 plus cups of flour. I will certainly make these again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 August 28, 2003

These sugar cookies are very, very, good! They are soft, light, and rich. I also flattened the cookie with a glass dipped in sugar and cinnamon. Yum, yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Dawn September 17, 2003

I made these last night and added the nutmeg as another reviewer suggested. My hubby threw his in the trash after one bite. I like nutmeg in a lot of things, but these cookies are NOT one of them. Would have probably been good without that addition. I should have known better. Otherwise, were flaky, melt in your mouth and uniform in shape and color. Made them for a neighbor's 1st grade son to take to his teacher. I hope she doesn't flunk him. ;(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swanhillfarm March 10, 2014

These are the worst cookies I have ever eaten. They are so dry and crumbly. Total waste of butter sugar and rest of ingredients. I made these for holiday gathering. So embarrassed. Dont waste your time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debra m. December 25, 2013

Excellent cookie and it stays moist. Add salt though if you are using unsalted butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisaengel_9403806 December 16, 2013

I have been using this recipe for years but just realized last night that I never reviewed them. PERFECT! Absolutely perfect sugar cookie. I have literally been using this very recipe for almost 10 years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daggersmommy December 13, 2013

These where okay, but they were very dry and crumbly.Overall they where okay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BunnyLovingCook July 14, 2013

Found these in one of my antique cookbooks years ago and have been making them for 20 years ever since. The recipe works for cookie pizzas, fancy iced, or just plain out of the oven...these are just that good! I was happy to see them here. Watch your measurements. For those of you that find them dry, you are not sifting or lightening your flour before adding or perhaps your home is dry. Flour varies in density. Eggs also can be the culprit if you didnt have the correct size on hand. Try adding a few tablespoons of a beaten one. For those that found them greasy, real butter MUST be used and is non negotiable. These are Fabulous! Thanks for posting so I dont have to slog through my many books. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MM Margoulette March 01, 2013

These were fine tasting but seem quite crumbly. I do not believe I over baked them. They have a light airy texture...sort of melt in your mouth. Unfortunately it's not the texture I was going for. Perhaps adding more flavoring would also help. Someone mentioned making these a pecan sandie would be nice -- I concur. They do sort of remind me of the pecan sandies you can buy, but without the pecans. I'll give them "good" rating as they are good to taste -- how couldn't it be as it's a cookie. But I do not think they're "very good" due to the texture. And I do not think they are excellent for a sugar cookie. I have tried many recipes for sugar cookies, and I personally prefer more chewy cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngieME December 25, 2012

Wonderful, wonderful! I was so pleased with these beautiful and delicious cookies- they look like they are professionally baked! I made 1 1/2 x the recipe- the resulting dough was much too soft and sticky. I added more flour and the dough tasted bland and floury. So I dumped in more powdered sugar until the dough tasted good! Yet they still turned out wonderful! Chilled the dough overnight. I used a large cookie scoop, dipped them in sprinkles, and didn't flatten before baking. They spread and flatten quite a bit in the oven. The final product is just a bit greasy, so I would like to try decreasing the oil next time. GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 09, 2012
Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever