Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Damn Borracho Beans Period! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Damn Borracho Beans Period!

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2012

      Very good! Everyone loved them! Felt the directions were a bit fuzzy, for instance when do you add the chicken stock, I didn't....just the water and beer. Thanks for a great pot of beans, this is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      The best dang borracho beans!!!!! Yum! Made these for the family today! SO DANG GOOD! Everyone loved them! I soaked my beans over night. To boil I used 2qts of water and a 22oz bottle of budwieser. Added a diced bell pepper as well. This is a keeper! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This makes a very nice pot of beans but technically they are NOT Borracho Beans. Borracho in Spanish means "drunk" and these beans have no beer in them. Use a can of beer in place of some of your water and you will have true, savory, Borracho Beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      I'm from Texas, too. This is a great recipe. I typically would use a premixed seasoning packet for my beans, but I moved to New England and now can't get it. So I wanted to have borracho beans at the last minute, which doesn't work well as we all know. I used two CANS of pinto beans, which even I revolt at, bacon for the ham, garlic powder for the garlic. I chopped bacon and cooked it in a skillet, poured it into the boiling beans, grilled the onion in the same skillet for a minute or two, then added all the spices and the onion. Added some water, simmered for 10 minutes. It was AWESOME. So even with some minor substitutions, this recipe is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      I have been trying to perfect my beans for 15 years now. This recipe is amazing. It has great flavor and it is still very easy to make. I got rave reviews when I brought this to the last BBQ and these were requested for the next BBQ I am attending.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      I made a vegetarian version of these beans. I also had to make it yeast-free for my kid,so, no beer ( so, yes, the original recipe is a true borracho version) Instead of ham and drippings, I used coconut oil and I used vegetable instead of chicken stock. I agree that the directions are fuzzy. I cooked the beans for the 30 mins and drained and added more water to simmer as directed. While the beans cooked, I melted the coconut oil in a separate pan and first fried dried chili peppers for a few seconds before adding onions and garlic. I let the onions cook until soft and then added the rest. I only used a 1 tsp of pepper instead of a tablespoon. I then let the resulting sauce simmer for about 30 mins before adding to beans (water in pot had reduced enough to allow the room in my dutch oven) and simmered until beans were cooked through. The result was still better than anything I've had at a Mexican restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      YUM! I cut the recipe in half and it still made a ton......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      There is a man that knows Tex Mex

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      These turned out great! I thought they made a nice cowboy bean type side dish to go with things like Tex-Mexiladas. Nicely seasoned, but not so heavy that the beans weren't the star. Made for PAC Spring 2008 L~S

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Great beans! I used chorizo as that was what I had and Goya's Recaito for the cilantro. It makes a BIG pot of beans, but for our family's Christmas pot-luck it was a huge success. Thanks Texas Pete for a very flavorful dish. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Damn Borracho Beans Period!

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.5
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    34%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1112.0 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham hocks

    bacon drippings

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes