11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! Everyone loved them! Felt the directions were a bit fuzzy, for instance when do you add the chicken stock, I didn't....just the water and beer. Thanks for a great pot of beans, this is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
long beach gal January 02, 2012

The best dang borracho beans!!!!! Yum! Made these for the family today! SO DANG GOOD! Everyone loved them! I soaked my beans over night. To boil I used 2qts of water and a 22oz bottle of budwieser. Added a diced bell pepper as well. This is a keeper! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natgelina September 05, 2011

This makes a very nice pot of beans but technically they are NOT Borracho Beans. Borracho in Spanish means "drunk" and these beans have no beer in them. Use a can of beer in place of some of your water and you will have true, savory, Borracho Beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmillerranch November 15, 2008

I'm a Texan of Mexican decent and have been living in Australia for the last 3 years. I finally found some pinto beans at a local weekend market and had to make some borracho beans. I researched several recipes and settled on this one. I am damn glad I did. These beans were off the hook!!! I made a half batch by halving all of the ingredients and added a little more water than called for to make them soupy which is the way we prepare them back home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adam May 19, 2015

I'm from Texas, too. This is a great recipe. I typically would use a premixed seasoning packet for my beans, but I moved to New England and now can't get it. So I wanted to have borracho beans at the last minute, which doesn't work well as we all know. I used two CANS of pinto beans, which even I revolt at, bacon for the ham, garlic powder for the garlic. I chopped bacon and cooked it in a skillet, poured it into the boiling beans, grilled the onion in the same skillet for a minute or two, then added all the spices and the onion. Added some water, simmered for 10 minutes. It was AWESOME. So even with some minor substitutions, this recipe is fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sewcraysee June 25, 2013

I have been trying to perfect my beans for 15 years now. This recipe is amazing. It has great flavor and it is still very easy to make. I got rave reviews when I brought this to the last BBQ and these were requested for the next BBQ I am attending.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hka017 June 03, 2013

I made a vegetarian version of these beans. I also had to make it yeast-free for my kid,so, no beer ( so, yes, the original recipe is a true borracho version) Instead of ham and drippings, I used coconut oil and I used vegetable instead of chicken stock. I agree that the directions are fuzzy. I cooked the beans for the 30 mins and drained and added more water to simmer as directed. While the beans cooked, I melted the coconut oil in a separate pan and first fried dried chili peppers for a few seconds before adding onions and garlic. I let the onions cook until soft and then added the rest. I only used a 1 tsp of pepper instead of a tablespoon. I then let the resulting sauce simmer for about 30 mins before adding to beans (water in pot had reduced enough to allow the room in my dutch oven) and simmered until beans were cooked through. The result was still better than anything I've had at a Mexican restaurant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelleyEdwards April 16, 2013

YUM! I cut the recipe in half and it still made a ton......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meganalissa November 14, 2012

There is a man that knows Tex Mex

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrumpler September 06, 2012

These turned out great! I thought they made a nice cowboy bean type side dish to go with things like Tex-Mexiladas. Nicely seasoned, but not so heavy that the beans weren't the star. Made for PAC Spring 2008 L~S

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau April 27, 2008
Best Damn Borracho Beans Period!