202 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this Cream of Broccoli Soup. I made it today and it is delicious. I don't know what people have against Velveeta, I think it is great. Melts wonderfully and gives the soup a smooth creamy taste. Thank you for sharing. I will make this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish's Dishes January 13, 2015

amazing soup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 February 28, 2014

Clearly, this recipe does not need another 5* review, but I couldn't resist. I had some broccoli & cream that I needed to use up, and selected this recipe. I omitted the celery (didn't have any), used a head of broccoli without measuring, used part cream and the rest whole milk, and used Gouda and a small handful of Parmesan (actually Grana Padano, which is just as delicious & cheaper). Followed the method in accordance with the recipe. This is terrific! I loved the delicious broccoli taste, and do not agree with those who said the soup needed additional flavor - I feel that other spices would disguise the taste of the broccoli, which was not my intent. For me, this was a WOW! recipe that I will be making again frequently.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyBoop330 February 27, 2014

This was excellent. I used a broccoli crown and shredded the stems before cooking (in a blender with one can of the broth). I used an extra can of broth because two cans didn't cover the amount of broccoli I used. I used a pint of half and half instead of milk. It probably wasn't as thick at it should have been due to the extra can of broth but the taste was superb. I'll be making this again for sure...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach December 22, 2013

Great recipe, very easy to tweak to your own personal tastes. I put in a cup of regular marble cheese instead of the half cup of Velveeta, and used carrots instead of celery. Also steamed a small head of broccoli to throw in after the blending to make it a little more chunky. <br/>The kids absolutely loved it, and it is quite filling so it goes far!<br/>Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewel B. November 28, 2013

Fabulous! wasn't paying attention to detail and mixed my milks: 1 canned milk and 1/2 cup skim. Think I'll do ths from now on tho. Velvety smooth. Great recipe-good times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tallie in Pacific NW May 06, 2013

I can't believe this is the hightest ranking cream of broccoli soup, not a single review even follows the ingrediants to any detail. I tried to follow it but couldn't.<br/>My recipe:<br/>4 cups water<br/>2 tablespoons boullion I use "Better the Boullion"<br/>4 heads of broccoli<br/>3 stalk of celley<br/>1 leek ( just because I had one)<br/>I small onion<br/>3 Yukon Gold potatoes<br/><br/>boil 15minutes<br/>mash with potato masher<br/>Add:<br/>4 T butter<br/>4 tablespoons flour or less of cornstarch<br/>2 cups milk<br/>blend in separte pan before adding<br/><br/>ad 3/4 -1 cup cheese (not velvetta)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Kahuna in Alaska April 21, 2013

My family loves this,we have it at least twice a month during the winter months. I have tweeked it a bit. Instead of doing plain milk,I use 2 cups FF evaporated milk and instead of velveeta I use 1 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese soup. I am in the process of attempting to convert this to a Crock Pot recipe. If I am successfull,I will post a comment again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathleen A. February 28, 2013

Delicious! Never made soup before so I was a little anxious to try this out, but it turned out really well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misty113 February 16, 2013
Best Cream of Broccoli Soup