202 Reviews

OMG this was awesome! My husband and I could not stop eating it. Thanks for sharing. Will definetly keep in my collection of recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JN Cali March 31, 2009

WOW!!! This has to be the best Broccoli soup I have ever had!! Even my very picky 9 year old daughter likes it. Thanks Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsrmcooper2000 March 31, 2009

Lovely Soup! It was easy and so much better than opening a can of soup. When I make this soup again I will use 6 cups of broccoli as I didn't think there was quite enough. I used cheddar cheese (white) instead of velveeta. (which I never use) and I didn't have evaporated milk so I used 2 cups of milk. If you are looking for a quick, tasty, soup this is the one. I will be making this soup again. Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmoon13 March 20, 2009

This was easy, healthy and delicious - thanks! I strayed a little from the recipe, just to use what I had on hand. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth, used more garlic than the recipe suggested, and used grated cheddar cheese, about 150g, instead of Velveeta (I'm in Australia; I have to admit I don't know what Velveeta is!). It was delicous and ridiculously quick. I seasoned with a little salt and pepper as I went but the great thing about this recipe is that the broccoli flavour gets to shine. I didn't have a blender, so used a potato masher. This made for a chunkier soup, but the chunks were tasty, so that was fine! The celery is important for a more complex flavour, as is the roux, I think - it gives a good flavour base without the heaviness of cream. I'll be making this again - thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
d_odea March 03, 2009

I did not make this recipe as written. I eliminated the roux and replaced it with cream based on another review. I don't think it would make a difference either way. The soup is pretty basic and there is no flavor pop. I may try it again with some spices added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Preta75 March 01, 2009

Just what you need another review on your wonderful soup. My Husband & I each brought home 2 heads of broccoli from the store. Yikes what was I going to do with all that broccoli? I found your recipe and I am so thrilled I did. Superb flavor. I used Old White Cheddar cheese because that is what I had on hand, and it was out of this world. Thanks Barb. Joan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kermit in Huntsville February 25, 2009

Excellent! I give it 5 stars. I served it to a chef from a good resturant and he said it was better than what he makes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clippmcgraw February 08, 2009

Easy peesy! Great taste, wonderful addition to my soup collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Provl8dy in training January 27, 2009

Great soup! I followed the recipe exactly as written except for the cheese part; I used white cheddar and a little romano and added about a teaspoon of salt. And I also used homemade chicken stock. It tasted great right after making it today and I am sure tomorrow it will be even better. Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie #3 January 19, 2009

Yummy Yummy Yummy! Everyone loved this soup. I will make this again. The only thing I did differently was I didn't have any Velveeta so I used Cheddar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Junction City, OR January 17, 2009
Best Cream of Broccoli Soup