Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2011

      I thought I found the perfect broccoli soup (Uncle Bill's #19107), but wanted to try one that used cheese. Now I have two favorite broccoli soups, and both are easy and delicious. I did substitute sharp chedder, and melted it into the white sauce; then added the sauce to the vegetable soup. While the soup tasted great that way, I then incorporated one of Uncle Bill's soup secrets--a tablespoon of soy sauce. You will not detect any soy sauce taste, but it does impart a more robust flavor. Thanks Barb, for sharing another great recipe--all yours sound good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Velveeta! You have to be kidding, this is not even cheese. As some of the members have done, please substitute with cheddar or even swiss cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      Really very good. Doubled the white sauce as it was too thin, added 1T soy sauce and used shredded mozzarella cheese as it was all we had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      This was great! Only bad thing is that this is one of those hearty soups that fills you up very quickly! I barely ate enough to fill up a coffee mug. I added a dash of cayene pepper and used about 6oz of velvetta and 4 oz shredded sharp cheese. Used 1 cup half and half and 1 cup evaporated milk. served this with crusty bread and some oven roasted chicken wings. Dipping the bread in the soup was my favorite part. I only wish I could've ate more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This is such a great recipe!!!! I added a ton more broccoli and about 4 more sticks of celery, plus two cloves of garlic. Plus, I used cornstarch instead of flour, cream instead of milk, and I used 150g of Boursin cheese instead of Velveeta. Thanks so much for posting this!!!! ~~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      Barbara,this is a very good cream of broccoli soup. I do wish it had been thicker,I like it extra thick.I will just add more butter and flour the next time I make the soup. I served the soup with sourdough bread.Yum! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Yummy! And even better the next day! Thanks for sharing - a great way to use broccoli when it is on sale.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Another fabulous recipe Barb! I added about 1/8 tsp cayenne (could have used more) and a 1/2 tsp thyme. I also used about 5 cups broccoli (just to use up what I had) and about 1 cup extra sharp cheddar cheese. DH loved it! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Very good. Even my husband liked it and he is not a soup guy! I will probably try it with cheddar next time and see how that compares. With the leftover soup the next day I added some leftover baked potato chunks and shredded chicken... that was quite good too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

    • on February 28, 2014

      amazing soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Clearly, this recipe does not need another 5* review, but I couldn't resist. I had some broccoli & cream that I needed to use up, and selected this recipe. I omitted the celery (didn't have any), used a head of broccoli without measuring, used part cream and the rest whole milk, and used Gouda and a small handful of Parmesan (actually Grana Padano, which is just as delicious & cheaper). Followed the method in accordance with the recipe. This is terrific! I loved the delicious broccoli taste, and do not agree with those who said the soup needed additional flavor - I feel that other spices would disguise the taste of the broccoli, which was not my intent. For me, this was a WOW! recipe that I will be making again frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      This was excellent. I used a broccoli crown and shredded the stems before cooking (in a blender with one can of the broth). I used an extra can of broth because two cans didn't cover the amount of broccoli I used. I used a pint of half and half instead of milk. It probably wasn't as thick at it should have been due to the extra can of broth but the taste was superb. I'll be making this again for sure...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Great recipe, very easy to tweak to your own personal tastes. I put in a cup of regular marble cheese instead of the half cup of Velveeta, and used carrots instead of celery. Also steamed a small head of broccoli to throw in after the blending to make it a little more chunky. <br/>The kids absolutely loved it, and it is quite filling so it goes far!<br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Fabulous! wasn't paying attention to detail and mixed my milks: 1 canned milk and 1/2 cup skim. Think I'll do ths from now on tho. Velvety smooth. Great recipe-good times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I can't believe this is the hightest ranking cream of broccoli soup, not a single review even follows the ingrediants to any detail. I tried to follow it but couldn't.<br/>My recipe:<br/>4 cups water<br/>2 tablespoons boullion I use "Better the Boullion"<br/>4 heads of broccoli<br/>3 stalk of celley<br/>1 leek ( just because I had one)<br/>I small onion<br/>3 Yukon Gold potatoes<br/><br/>boil 15minutes<br/>mash with potato masher<br/>Add:<br/>4 T butter<br/>4 tablespoons flour or less of cornstarch<br/>2 cups milk<br/>blend in separte pan before adding<br/><br/>ad 3/4 -1 cup cheese (not velvetta)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      My family loves this,we have it at least twice a month during the winter months. I have tweeked it a bit. Instead of doing plain milk,I use 2 cups FF evaporated milk and instead of velveeta I use 1 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese soup. I am in the process of attempting to convert this to a Crock Pot recipe. If I am successfull,I will post a comment again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Delicious! Never made soup before so I was a little anxious to try this out, but it turned out really well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      This soup was excellent. However rather than using Velvetta I used 4 oz of cream cheese. I don't have anything against Velvetta it is just that it is not something I purchase. Cream cheese is a staple in our home. This soup was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Excellent soup! And so easy. I was limited to what I had on hand so used frozen broccoli, red onion and Half & Half in place of milk. I was also intrigued by several reviewer's use of a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce - so I added that and I must say, the flavor effect was subtle but very, very nice. And I have nothing against Velveeta, but I don't keep it on hand, so I used sharp cheddar. Overall a very nice broccoli cheese soup that I will make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.7
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    60%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 55.2 mg
    18%
    Sodium 902.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Velveeta cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes