Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Corned Beef/ Silverside on the Planet. Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Corned Beef/ Silverside on the Planet.

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 29, 2012

      So yummy!! Super moist and tender, couldn't stop myself from picking and eating it. Though I didn't have golden syrup, I used honey instead and it turned out very nice. Also I cut down on cloves and orange. I used 1 orange and probably 20 cloves as my meat was a little smaller than the recipe. Served it with mustard sauce ( I put some horseradish cream in for an extra flavour ( I foundmustard suace itself a little too bland). Will definitely cook it again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This is the best recipe for corned beef. i never thought that so many cloves could make it aste so good. I have cooked this for others and they've said the same thing. it's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Have tried corned silverside other ways but after making this numerous times I have to say this truly is the best on the planet!!! We've passed this recipe onto others who have happily raved about it to no end - thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      Yummo, I agree with the description! This is much more flavoursome that the usual vinegar based cooking methods. I also included a few vegetables in the pot and it gave them a great flavour as well, although you wouldn't want to use any of the stronger tasting vegertables. I used carrots, celery and corn cobs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Yum!! The juiciest corned beef around. I have to admit only cooking corned beef a few times due to my DH thinking his Mother makes the best around so I hadn't even bothered to compete...well did I show him with this recipe! Instead of studding the beef with the cloves I just tossed them in along with the oranges (my family isn't too keen with the strong flavour of cloves)and you still got plenty of flavour from them without it being overpowering. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      I am no chef, but a very late comer to cooking and I found this recipe simple to follow and the critics raved about it. Just the softest, juciest corned beef ever. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      My family loved this corned silverside. I had always made the vinegar/golden syrup recipe also, but this will be the new standard in my household. I cooked mine in the crockpot for 5-6 hours and put some carrots in part way through cooking. I did not stud the meat with the cloves as my family are not that keen on a strong clove flavour, but put about a tablespoon of them into the water. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      We really enjoyed this. Very yummy! I cooked up a 2kg piece and left it on low on the stove top for over 3 hours (Hubby got home late from work). I wasn't sure whether to cover or not but went back and read a few other recipes and decided to. The cloves have quite a strong flavour and my daughters were a bit unsure of it but the orange flavouring is just perfect. Served with Jen T's Mustard Sauce Mustard Sauce which I made with a cup of your cornbeef stock. I do have leftovers which I will use in sandwiches today. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Every time I feel like silverside for lunch, I go back to this recipe...love it...thank you so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      For boiled beef it is a good recipe, but to call it corned beef you are cutting too much corner. Definition: Corned beef is a preparation in which a cut of beef, usually the brisket, is cured in a brine solution along with various seasonings, and then slowly simmered until cooked.

      Corned beef can also be made from the beef round primal cut. Both the round and the brisket are relatively tough cuts of meat that are best cooked by slow, moist-heat cooking. A good corned beef is quite tender with a delicious salty flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Man ..... this was to die for..... Thanks SO much for sharing !!! I'm one happy camper now as is the rest of my crew!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      The only "corned beef" I ever find has the separate seasoning spices and is brined somehow. Is that ok to use and omit the seasoning packet and proceed with the ingredients listed here? I am excited to try this next week for St pats = wwhich is also our Jack Russell's B-day. Thanks a million. I guess you could post your answer as a review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      The best corned beef recipe ever. I didn't have cloves so used a part of an aniseed star and a few whole allspice pimento. The smell while it was cooking was amazing. I would have taken a photo but we might have eaten that too! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I thought I'd give this a try due to the no vinegar factor. Although the meat was tender we all found the cloves were overpowering. Next time I'll halve the cloves and oranges and I'm sure we will enjoy a beautiful silverside meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      We really enjoyed this and DH who isn't a corn beef fan at the best of times declared it wasn't bad and better than normal. I think I will cut back on the cloves and OJ (maybe not put the oranges in) as they were a little overpowering. Thank you kiwidutch for sharing your recipe. This was made for the Please Review My Recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      This is the absolute best recipe. I loved it, my hubby loved, even my kids loved it. We had it with Jen T's mustard sauce and that was fabulous too. So easy to make, so easy to eat!! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Corned Beef/ Silverside on the Planet.

    Serving Size: 1 (597 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1384.8
     
    Calories from Fat 892
    64%
    Total Fat 99.2 g
    152%
    Saturated Fat 32.8 g
    164%
    Cholesterol 490.0 mg
    163%
    Sodium 5727.8 mg
    238%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 92.7 g
    185%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites