67 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really did not need to submit a review because this is the recipe I have been using for years, almost 40 years to be exact. The title says it all, Best Cherry Pie. Thanks for posting Luby Luby Luby.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana Chickens March 24, 2008

This was the first time I made a cherry pie and it was delicious! The filling spilled over the sides a little bit so it didn't look very pretty, but it tasted just as good (probably better) than any other cherry pies I've had before. You could probably even substitute some/all of the sugar with Splenda for a lighter alternative.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StringBean January 19, 2008

This was my first attempt at cherry pie, and it was delicious! I used the pie crust from the "Illinois Apple Pie" recipe, and made the lattice top and everything! It was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjmarcoski January 18, 2008

My son had never made a pie before but he wanted to try cherry. He used this recipe and LOVED it! He used a pre-made crust for top and bottom. Nothing spilled out. I did add a little sugar to the bottom and top crust, just sprinkled on, 'cause that's what my grandmother did. He's making another one right away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphnexduck December 20, 2007

Don't tell my grandma, but this is the ONLY cherry pie recipe I use now. Everyone who eats this pie raves about it. Even my husband who typically requests coconut cream or lemon pie says he now has a new favorite. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cottage Baker December 16, 2007

Very yummy and super easy, even for a beginner cook! Definitely stick a cookie sheet underneath this in the oven - a lot of it boiled over onto the pan. I omitted the red food coloring. Sugary goodness!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littledubber November 26, 2007

Delicious! My sons requested a cherry pie for Thanksgiving and they all loved this one. Omitted the red food coloring and used Basic Pie Crust I. Made a beautiful and delicious dessert. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 22, 2007

Great recipe-- super easy! I added an extra 1 tsp of cornstarch since some cooks commented that it turned out kind of runny. The consistency was perfect. Everything else followed the recipe to a T. Lots of compliments, definitely a repeater!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HerbofGrace November 22, 2007

This was terrific, though for some reason it was quite runny. I was surprised because some reviewers said that they wanted more liquid in it. I didn't add more, and it was still runny. Maybe I didn't drain the cherries well enough. But that didn't stop the people at work from devouring it in about 10 seconds. One guy said it was the best cherry pie he'd ever had... (but I already knew that ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy October 09, 2007
Best Cherry Pie