68 Reviews

A good review is nothing new for this recipe, but I wanted to express my appreciation. I was asked to make a cherry pie for Thanksgiving, and having never made one, I looked to recipezaar for guidance. Because I was making a 10" pie, instead of an 8 or 9" one, I increased the filling amount, using 3 cans of cherries and increasing the other ingredients by 50%. I held the almond extract to a scant 1/4 tsp and added the same amount of vanilla extract. Bonus: the one cup of filling that wouldn't fit in the pie shell baked nicely in its own little dish, so I could sample the completed, baked filling without cutting into the pie. The pie was a big hit yesterday, so this recipe will go in my Thanksgiving recipe book for future years. Thanks to Luby Luby Luby for sharing the recipe, and to all the reviewers who encouraged me to give it a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadacook November 27, 2009

Delicious and turned out perfect. I knew I could count on you Luby. Thanks..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio November 26, 2009

Luby, This really will be the best cherry pie...when I follow your directions. ;) I listened to another reviewer's advice and cut the sugar to one cup because I don't like sickly sweet..big mistake...it made the pie a little too tart. Also, I don't like the taste of almond, but have found it's a wonderful addition to peach and cherry pie so I used it. To those of you that are replacing the almond with vanilla, I say give it a try...you can't really taste it...it just adds depth. Thanks for a great recipe sweety. UPDATE: I made this wonderful cherry pie again and followed the recipe exactly...and it really is perfect. Do not change anything and the end result will be the best cherry pie, ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely November 11, 2009

This is the best Cherry Pie, absolutely the best. I made this just as written, it will be my only Cherry Pie. Thanks, Luby what a wonderful recipe!! You must try it, I love the fact you don't cook the filling before baking, makes it so much faster!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csvmgems September 30, 2009

OMGosh!! What a delicious pie, and I made it! How impressive this pie is . . thanks to Luby. I used 1 cup Splenda (husband is diabetic) and 1/4 cup sugar, no red food coloring, and used vanilla vs. almond extract (no likey the almond). No problem with runny juices, pie was total perfection! I purchased an awesome cherry/olive pitter (OXO brand) for approximately five/six cups of fresh cherries. THANK YOU for making me look good, and feel good about my first homemade "cherry" pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie July 18, 2009

This was the first fruit pie I've ever made. I made this pie for X-mas eve 2008 (went to my boyfriend's family) and it was a HIT! Most of the men polished it off before any of the women got a chance to try it. There were MANY compliments. I used the Most Incredible No Fail Pie Crust also found on this site. I will definitely be making this pie again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brookeherren January 05, 2009

DH did not like this at all and I have seen him polish off a cherry pie in two days. Says it is too watery and made the bottom crust soggy. Even though I only used about 1/8 tsp of almond extract we felt it was too strong. I used my own pie crust recipe which I have used forever so I am sure it wasn't the crust. Linda's Fantabulous Food Processor Pie Crust. I am not a cherry pie lover so I guess this one is an expensive mistake. So sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent December 28, 2008

I never really cared for Cherry pie much but since my boyfriend loves it and hadn't had it since he was younger I decided to give it a try. I made my pie crust with Most Incredible No Fail Pie Crust (very yummy). And boy of boy was this pie goooood. It totally changed my opinon on cherry pie and he said it was delicious and he doesn't say that about much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegasAnnette October 27, 2008

I grew up in Michigan and have had my fair share of cherry pies and this by far is the best. I go as far as having my cherries shipped to me from Michigan to my home now it Utah. People think I'm partial to my home state till they taste the pie. I have now made it over 5 times and have never changed a thing. LOVE IT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmwoodruff July 18, 2008

The flavor of the filling is good, but it is runny. So if you like a runny pie this is the one for you. The flavor is really good though, so if you can thicken more it would be a great filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
escape June 14, 2008
Best Cherry Pie