Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Cherry Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Cherry Pie

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2007

      Why is this pie so DELICIOUS??!! The ingredients aren't much different than other cherry pie ingredients -- but this pie is just wonderful! I did cut back on the sugar and I used the Splenda Baking Sugar (next time I'm going to use the regular Splenda). I also added an extra can of drained cherries. Maybe adding the butter and letting the filling stand for the 15 minutes is the secret. I think I could have eaten the entire pie in one sitting!!! My husband commented with almost every bite he took "this is really good pie". He's diabetic, so having a home-made pie that is so scrumptious is a real treat for him. I can see that I'm going to have to put another one together real soon -- AND IT'S SO DARN EASY ON TOP OF IT ALL!!! UPDATE: I love blueberries, so decided to make a blueberry pie using this recipe. It is fabulous. I used a bag of frozen blueberries -- but realized I wouldn't have the juice I needed. So I picked up a can of blueberries and had plenty of juice (although there was added sugar to it -- not ideal for hubby). I think with all the blueberries I used, they were probably equivilant to about 3 cans of cherries. I didn't use any food coloring and did not add the almond extract --but did increase the lemon juice from 2 teaspoons to 3 teaspoons. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. If you like blueberries, give it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      This is seriously the best cherry pie! And even better--it can be made all year long with canned cherries (in water)! I made as written, except for the food coloring. It was wonderful! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This was SO GOOD. It was my first time making a cherry pie. Every one loved it so I made two more the next day. Thank You!....... The only thing is I put it in at the time and temp. suggested and it was too dark and that was even taking it out 10mins early. I also left out the food coloring and used only 1/2 the lemon juice and vanilla instead of almond extrac...only cause I didn't have any. But VERY GOOD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This was my first time trying to make my own cherry pie. My husband and I thought that it was very good. I personally thought that the filling was a little dry - when I make this again (and this is the recipe I will be using) I will add a little more of the cherry juice. Very easy to make - a definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      This the second time I have made this recipe. Both times recipe AS IS! It was so yummy when I made it just for DH and myself, this time I am taking it to share with friends at dinner tonight. Not only the BEST it is PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      This is a wonderful cherry pie recipe. I followed the advice of a couple other and only put in 1 cup of sugar. My brother, who loves cherry pie, was speechless after taking the first bite. He said it was the best cherry pie he has ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      Really good cherry pie. Not too sweet and had that tart pucker to it! My husband thought he did not like cherry pie because all he had tasted was cherry pie filling. His eyes have now been opened to REAL cherry pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      My My What A Cherry Pie! This was the best cherry pie we've had. I particularly liked the fact that it was not made from a pre-made caned filling. It was easy to make, and came out looking and tasting perfect! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, it is definitely a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Fabulous! And I never thought to use food colorng - how clever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I don't like cherry pie, but my honey does...so I made this recipe (my first cherry pie ever) for Easter dinner and everyone loved it....even Mom and I...the non-cherry lovers! You should try it for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Nummy !!!! I too left out the food coloring and cut back on the sugar a wee bit. This was served today for our Easter dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Excellent recipe! I used my frozen cheeries too. All I did was make the filling ingredients on the stove top and after it cooled a bit, I popped it into a unbaked pie crust, covered with a top crust and baked till it was brown. It turned out excellent. This is my new cherry pie recipe! yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Great recipe! Really easy too. I made this for a friends birthday and even though I found that she didn't really care for cherries, she liked this pie. I also got compliments on it when I made it for Thanksgiving. And trust me my sister's inlaws are hard to please.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Fabulous recipe...I made this with Splendra and it turned out perfect...I had to use 3 cans of cherries as my pie plate was a little deeper... thanks for a great and easy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Great cherry pie! I left out the food coloring, but otherwise made it just as is. I also used the pie crust recipe from Illinois Apple Pie (#8423), which is simply the best pie crust recipe ever. This pie was just right for us - not too tart, but not too sickly sweet either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      This was my first attempt at a "real" cherry pie (I've always used canned pie filling before). Everyone thought it was wonderful. WIll keep this one and make again! I even did the lattice top and it looked fanastic! Thanks for submitting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      I'm getting ready to make this pie a 2nd time and realized that I hadn't reviewed it yet, oh no. This pie so wonderful, delicious and my kids have been begging for more! I made the recipe as is but I did decide after e-mailing Luby that I should have drained my cherried a bit longer. The pie didn't thicken up exactly as I had hoped but I know it will this time! This is a winner cherry pie at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      This is without a doubt the Best Cherry Pie I have ever eaten in my 51 years on this Earth. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and left everything else the same. People, you MUST try this pie. Thanks for sharing this Luby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

    • on March 28, 2005

      Janet, you're right on target! I made this for Easter dinner yesterday & wanted another piece right away (didn't let myself have it, though!) I like cherry pie, but am always bothered by the amount of sugar in it. I was inspired by Janet & soulmatesforever to reduce the amount of sugar. I used 3/4 cup of sugar, omitted the salt and food coloring, and used margarine instead of butter. I left the lemon juice at 2 tsp. It came out slightly on the tart side of perfect. I used tart red cherries in water: I think reducing the sugar any further would be too tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Cherry Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.5
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    36%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 326.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 39.1 g
    156%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites