Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Buckeyes (Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Buckeyes (Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candies)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2002

      I made these to use for Christmas and they are delicious. I was just going to buy them but not at 7.99 for 6. They are very easy to make. I didn't have any parrafin on hand so I just used a little bit of shortening and they turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      My daughter wanted to make Buckeyes for a school book report - these were easy and were the best buckeyes EVER. T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      I just want to add a note about using paraffin in any recipe. I use it when I make these yummies too but please be careful if you are grating over the stove, etc. Paraffin is flammable. I've never had any trouble but just be aware and be careful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2002

      Not hard to make and worth it for the taste. Like to have them around often. Great for serving at holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Excellent recipe and 2 of the best ingredients in the world...however, I don't know why anyone needs special coating ingredients such as paraffin [ick! barf]...I have been making candies, truffles, florentines and cookies for years using melted good quality chocolate or chocolate chips. You do not need special chocolate...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      I give this recipe 5 stars because I love reeces peanut butter cups and this is EXACTLY what that tastes like. (Using milk chocolate morsels of course.) However, I was looking to make something a bit different from the traditional reeces so I added 1 more cup of confectioners sugar as the Jiffy's peanutbutter website suggested. This made it much easier to roll into balls. Before adding the 1 cup, my daughter and I had a lot of difficulty shaping the balls and ended up with slobs of peanut butter all over our hands. We even chilled it a few hours! This tasted perfect too and made it seem like I was making gourmet truffles! I will also use semi-sweet chocolate next time as the milk chocolate was a bit too strong. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      I love these...a good friend introduced me to buckeyes and hers has such a creamy center,different recipe,though..These were just as awesome,but I heard paraffin is indigestable,so I used 1 1/2 Tbs. of shortening,melted that and the chocolate chips in the microwave together on a low setting..easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Few tricks: Using Auto-mixer, Kitchen Aid---- 1) Used Teddy, all-natural, unsalted PB and added 2 teaspoons of sea salt to mixture for superb taste, texture, and no other additives. 2) Forming round balls less "sticky" using 4- 5 cups of confectioners sugar. Able to form good and round centers. 3) Found a (6 cup w/ non-stick finish, removable liner) rice cooker was AWESOME for melting wax & chocolate chips. Place in cooker and stir often until all melted. Shut heat off and start dipping. Just reheat when needed to thin the choc. 4) A bamboo skewer makes dipping much easier than toothpick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Upon reading the reviews I did opt to use coating chocolate in place of the chocolate chips and paraffin. These were awesome!! I made these for the holiday treat baskets and froze a batch as well. Frozen Buceyes are now a favorite family treat! Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Very tasty!!! I used some coating chocolate that comes in a microwavable container. It wasn't the easiest thing to work with. I will try and find the "chocolate bark coating" you spoke about when I make them thre next time. These were a really nice addition to my Christmas goodies. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Go Bucks! I made these because I know I'm not going to get to watch the Big Game (Ohio St. U. vs U. Mich) today, and I wanted to make an effort to assert some Ohio culture around here. (I'm now living in British Columbia, where buckeyes are called horseshoe chestnuts.) The center of these buckeyes is wonderfully smooth, but not as peanut buttery as I was expecting. I may use less vanilla next time. I also used shortening in place of paraffin; it worked just fine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      Being from Ohio,U.S.A.(the state tree is the Buckeye) I have a personal bias toward these little treats.They do taste great and my recipe also calls for paraffin wax,but I can also tell you that the recipe turns out just as good even if you omit the paraffin wax(which I have because I don't have it on hand).Wonderful for gift giving or if you are someone who has a passion for Reese's Peanut Butter Cups. These taste just like them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      These were *VERY* good, and easy to make...made them for my holiday cookie tray(forgot to review), everyone loved them!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      Thank you, Karen, As long as I can remember, my Grandmother always made these for Christmas. We waited for these! I made these this year and it brought back wonderful memories. She always dipped the balls completely in the chocolate....I liked your picture, showing them drizzled on the top....so that they looked like buckeyes! They made a pretty presentation. Thank you again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      I have a friend who is NUTS for buckeyes, but also very particular about buckeyes. I made this recipe (without paraffin, with butter), and the response was MmmmMmMMmmMmm. Easy to make, and VERY POPULAR with a picky audience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Ok here I am saying I'm throwing out all my other buckeye recipes because this is hands down the best recipe I have ever had to make these awesome little treats. ty for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      This is BY FAR the best Buckeyes recipe. The others are cloyingly sweet and they don't add the paraffin, without which the chocolate coating (A) is too thick and (B) never hardens. This is the recipe I remember from my childhood in central Ohio.

      AND I made the entire batch of 50 Buckeyes in well under an hour. The other recipes took more time due to dealing with the thick melted chocolate (sans paraffin) and the fact that all the added sugar made the Buckeyes hard to manipulate; they kept falling apart.

      Well done! YUMMY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I love this version of the recipe because it makes a lot of candies. I only got 60 (instead of 80) using a small scoop. I also use crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy (I like the texture of the finished candies better). If you use crunchy, add 2 tablespoons of melted butter at the end so that the dough sticks together rather than crumbles. I am still trying to find a way to get a less "sticky" chocolate coating. Adding the wax helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      This is the best buckeye recipe that I have ever made. Nothing more needs to be said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I love these. They have been a family tradition at christmas in my house since I could remember. I was looking for a recipe like my grandmothers. This was similar only hers had powdered milk in it. I think it makes it a little less sweet, but still firm to be able to dip in chocolate. If you add more sugar... obviously they are sweeter. Will keep looking for a recipe with that included. Thanks for sharing, still very good. I just had to freeze a little to dip so they would stay on the toothpick better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Buckeyes (Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candies)

    Serving Size: 1 (1478 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.0
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    56%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 42.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    paraffin wax

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes