Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Brunch Egg Bake! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Brunch Egg Bake!

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2009

      I made this for some friends who came for lunch today, and got lots of compliments. I used an older loaf of a crusty sourdough bread that I left out on the counter for a few days. Then, I chopped up a package of turkey bacon, cooked it, and sprinkled it on top of the bread. In the same pan I had cooked the bacon in, I added a little bit of oil and browned half of an onion and a 2 cloves of garlic and sprinkled them on top of the bacon. I topped that with 1 c. cheddar and 1 c. swiss. I also didn't have 2 tsp. of dill so, I only used one, but added 1 tsp. of a 15 ingedient blend no salt mix. I didn't try this...wish I could have...but from the look, the smell, and the compliments, I think I will keep this as my stand by egg bake from now on! P.S. For a tasty treat try ham and chopped asparagus, or roasted red pepper, artichoke heart, spinanch, and goat cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Really good and so simple to throw together. I was cooking for some guests that couldn't fathom veggies for breakfast so I made a plain version with just chives sprinkled on top. Was suberb in it's simplicity, but I personally will load it up with veggies next time. Thanks for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I used chewy homemade sourdough bread. I'm sure I used more than the equivalent of 8 slices. To compensate, I tossed in 2 more eggs. I was still worried that the bread had absorbed all the liquid and it would come out as milk-toast. I shouldn't have worried. It turned into a perfect egg-bake. It all melds together, even with serious bread like mine. I don't think my guests even noticed there was bread in their eggs, but the bread layer makes it fluffier and lowers the fat content when compared to egg bakes that are mostly egg and cheese. Another plus for this recipe: Good opportunity to empty your veggie bin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      I had a ton of fresh eggs on hand so I decided to try this out and take it to work. What a great, versatile recipe! My dish is larger than 9x13 so I added 5 more eggs and 1c. milk and it came out great! I used cheddar and mozzarella, mushrooms, and chives. Thanks Megan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      This is a great recipe for when you have company and do not want to spend the morning cooking. It tastes great and I have found that using speciaty breads makes it even better. I love the fact that you can alter it with what people like and it turns out great each time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Megan, you are not boasting when you say, "Best." I've tried many egg bakes and this one tops them all; without reservation I call this the best ever. I'm not a fan of dill in anything but pickles, but this works. Albeit, the shining characteristic of your dish is texture and I would submit that any seasoning or ingredient combinations befitting the preparer's tastebuds would be complimented by the strength of this recipe. This is a keeper and will replace all previous efforts I've found as they sink to the level of mediocrity in comparison. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Excellent recipe. Added the chorizo, and mushrooms. Just wish I had made more. Next time I will double the recipe. I can always freeze it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      We loved this except mine never really set in the middle. Not sure why. I added green onions, mushrooms and just a little sausage. i loved the addition of the dill. I used french bread instead of regular bread. Maybe it was too dense and that caused the setting issue. I will try it again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I tested this recipe today to see if I wanted to make it for my husband's employee Christmas brunch. I will certainly be making it, as it is fabulous! It's such a great winter comfort food! It makes a lot, so it is going to be perfect for having to feed so many people. I will actually make 2. I will make one with veggies and another with veggies plus turkey bacon or sausage. Thanks Megan! I'm so excited to have such a delicious make-ahead brunch recipe. Happy Holidays and best of luck with your mini cupcakes :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Made this for company we had staying over night and it was a huge success. Thanks Megan for a great do-ahead brealfast. I choose to use ALL the extra options as we love them all and it was wonderful and filling. The bread on the bottom gave a really nice texture to it. I did spread a little of the extra cheese on top just to use it up. All the flavors blended so nicely and the ability to make it up the night before gave me time to sit and visit with the company before the meal and they left so that was a real plus in my book. Served this with hot coffee and Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Biscuits and they all thought I'd been up preparing from early in the morning. This does make a LOT so be prepared for that - I divided the left overs into single servings and froze them for a quick meal when needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      this is excellent! I made it for my church brunch and it got many compliments!!! I added italian sausage and chopped up turkey bacon for extra treats :) along with mushrooms, red and orange pepper, fresh cilantro and rosemary. very tasty dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This is great! The dill really adds a lot of flavor to this. The flavor is even better in the leftovers. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      This was a hit when I brought it to work for our Friday staff breakfast. I used fresh dill, broccoli, and green pepper. I'm going to try it using egg whites; if it works I'll have a new healthy favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Just FANTASTIC!!! I kept it simple and just had green onions in this with no other veggies. My daughter's 18th birthday brunch would not have been the same without this dish...everyone RAVED about how delicious it was. I will be making this regularly for Sunday brunch. Next time I'll try the optional veggies as well. Thanks, Megan, for an outstanding recipe. Sorry, no photos this time as it was a hectic morning to feed 15 folks but will add one later. It was beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      this recipe was great... so, so easy and i had some left over ham from dinner and i chopped it up and threw that in and it was great... i would make this again for a brunch in a heart beat...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Brunch Egg Bake!

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    52%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 178.9 mg
    59%
    Sodium 303.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes