12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love these muffins. They freeze well and are so easy on busy mornings - just pop one in the microwave and go. I've tried them with blueberries, but I like them best with a few chocolate chips and walnuts. Thanks for another great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spider Monkey 5 January 03, 2010

These muffins are AWESOME! I have always had homemade bran muffins served to me that were dry and blah and, because of that, I have shyed away from trying to make them myself. However, these are totally moist and full of flavor! I used half applesauce and half oil, used 3/4 c. brown sugar, omitted the raisins (family preference), used vanilla extract, used 1 c. all-purpose flour, and 1 tsp. cinnamon. Oh, I also put 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice into 1 c. milk, because I didn't have any buttermilk. I got 15 muffins (I didn't fill some of the cups as much as I probably could have), and they were baked perfectly in 18 minutes for me. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you, Kittencal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 March 13, 2009

What an amazing recipe! I made it almost exactly as written except I left out the raisins (I don't like them) and I added a little nutmeg and ginger with the cinnamon. To die for! So moist and soft and sweet. Thank you once again for an awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aksingingbreeze July 14, 2008

5 stars for sure, for taste, texture, and ease of preparation. I love these! By the time the all bran and buttermilk have rested for 10 minutes the oven is hot and the other ingredients are ready to go. I used all canola oil, vanilla extract, the half cup of whole wheat flour, and blueberries instead of raisins. Delicious muffins!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo May 02, 2008

These muffins were sooo tasty and soft. I expected bran muffins to be sort of hard and grainy, but not at all. My two little boys devoured them like cupcakes!! They are so delicious that I am baking a batch for the girls at work! I used 5 small boxes of raisins and the amount was perfect. Thanks so much for a such a great recipe! I will be making a few more batches before the week is through :0)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BenandMatt'smommy February 02, 2008

Really nice bran muffin!

I substituted 2 tablespoons of the oil with prune baby food to reduce the fat a bit. They were oh, so perfectly moist. I reduced the sugar to only 1/2 cup, and it was still plenty sweet. Thanks for another great recipe, Kittencal!

Update: I made them a second time, but without the nutmeg and cinnamon and they were still outstanding. I added 1/2 cup pecans and 1/2 cup raisins. A real keeper recipe that's easily adaptable to suit your taste! Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliadjulie January 29, 2013

Excellent! I loved these muffins. I used all the sugar. I love my muffins a little sweet. Also, I used Raisin Bran cereal and it worked wonderfully. Thank you! Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 October 07, 2010

Made these for breakfast this morning using Raisin Bran cereal and they were scrumptous..some of the BEST and most moist bran muffins I have ever eaten..I used a 24 count muffin pan for smaller muffins..I did not have liners, so I just sprayed my coated muffin pan with Pam and they lifted right out after cooling a few min...I did reduce cooking time to 15 min......Thank you for ANOTHER DELICIOUS recipe!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive February 24, 2010

I always love your muffin recipes, so I feel terrible writing a somewhat negative review. I used all bran, was assuming that it was the "buds" and not flakes, as this is what I've used in other bran muffin recipes. The buds did not soften in the specified amount of time, nor did they soften much later. I was making a large batch for a church function. I let the batter sit overnight and the buds softened enough so that not many people noticed, and most enjoyed the muffins. I liked the flavor of the muffins, but wonder if possibly the flakes are called for instead, and that was not specified. I may try this recipe again, but need more clarification.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauradoony November 09, 2009

Great muffins and very quick to make. I folded some diced apple through - just fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 13, 2009
Best Bran Muffins