Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Blueberry Muffins (Cook's Illustrated) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Blueberry Muffins (Cook's Illustrated)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2009

      This is my favorite blueberry muffin recipe. It is almost as easy to prepare as the box mixes. Cook's Illustrated lists several toppings to use on these muffins. I used the lemon glaze: combine 1/4 c. lemon juice with 1/4 sugar in a saucepan over medium heat; reduce to glaze. Combine 1/2 c. sugar with 1 t. freshly grated lemon zest. After muffins cool 5 minutes, brush tops with glaze and then dip in lemon sugar. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      There should have been a warning with this recipe about how thick the batter is before baking. I am not an experienced cook and I panicked thinking I had done something wrong. After rechecking the recipe I doubtfully spooned the batter into the muffin pan. However, they turned out great! Nice and moist inside after baking. Next time I will double the recipe. I used low fat sour cream, and substituted splenda for most of the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      My husband said this is the BEST blueberry muffins he has ever had. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly except that I used fresh blueberries. The second time I increased the amount of blueberries to two cups, but that was a little much. Think I'll stick with the 1 1/2 cups it calls for in the future. They store nicely and taste just as good if not even a little better in the morning if made the evening before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Wow! These are more like dessert than a breakfast or snack option. Absolutely delicious ... and incredibly easy to make. No mixer needed. I used fresh plump blueberries and non-fat sour cream. Next time, I'll use the lemon glaze as recommended. That sounds really good -- not that a glaze is needed. These are delicious just as they are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      I changed this recipe a lot to make it healthier and it was still delicious. Used a combination of whole wheat, oat bran and flax seeds instead of AP flour. Used 1.5 cups of slightly drained yogurt instead of sour cream and butter. Added 1 TBSP of oil and 1 tsp vanilla. Used only 3/4 cups sugar. Used fresh wild blueberries that tasted divine. Sprinkled sugar and a little salt on top before baking (a little trick I learned). Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      I had high hopes for the recipe after reading the reviews - I was not disappointed! I am happy that another reviewer mentioned the thickness of the batter, as mine was closer to cookie dough consistency than runny batter (I, too, used fresh blueberries). I decided to make mine in a "Texas" muffin pan, and this recipe accommodated 6 large muffins quite nicely. I increased the cook time to a full 30 minutes, and left the muffins under the broiler for an additional 2 minutes to brown the tops (my oven is fickle). They were cooked perfectly, and remained super-moist. I also added the lemon glaze, but didn't have lemon zest on hand, so I just finished them with plain granulated sugar. The muffins definitely didn't need the glaze, but it added another element to their delicious flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      BEST recipe! I have yet to make the glaze, no need to! Love Cook's Illustrated, and this is why! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      Hooray! I think I've finally found The Best blueberry muffin recipe! These are so good and the instructions are excellent. They really did help a novice baker like me turn out an excellent, perfectly textured muffin. I sprayed the tin with Pam Baking spray and didn't need paper liners at all. They slid out perfectly. I also didn't sprinkle them with sugar and I think they make the perfectly sweet breakfast/snack/dessert muffin as they stand. Thanks so much for my now go-to blueberry muffin recipe, senseicheryl!

      UPDATE: I only had about 3/4 cup of sour cream today so I filled the rest of the cup with milk. DH said they were the best I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Definitely a great muffin. So moist and flavorful. Love them and will make often with fresh blueberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Easy and delicious. If you can resist temptation and save them in a airtight container, they are even moister and more delicious the next day. I also like them warm out of the oven with strawberry jam. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      These are great and easy. I reduced the sugar by 1/4cup and I only had greek yogurt so had to sub that for the sour cream. They are a very thick batter but bake up nice and moist so don't worry about the thickness. I did add a little bit of cinnamon to the dry ingredients, I like cinnamon and blueberries. I also managed to get 16 muffins, guessing my pans are on the smaller size. This is a keeper recipe and look forward to making it again with the sour cream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      I realized a bit late that I don't think the recipe calls for thawing the blueberries. I was worried they'd turn my muffins purple and wasn't sure about mixing them with the dry ingredients once I'd thawed them so instead, I drained the berry juice and tossed the berries in a few tbsp of the dry mix, and then added them to the batter at the end instead of with the dry ingredients. I added 2-3 tsp of lemon juice and my batter was definitely nowhere near as thick as some of the other reviewers. I like the bit of tartness and it didn't seem to do any harm. My muffin tins must be a little smaller because this yielded 18 for me, baked for 18 minutes instead of 25 and they were perfect. I also tried the glaze. I like the extra lemon taste but might skip the lemon sugar next time as these are quite sweet in the first place, it was a bit more than I needed. Still delicious though, will definitely make again!<br/>Update: went to make these again and realized too late that we're out of sour cream. I sub'd 1 c. sour milk (1 c. reg milk + 1.5 tsp lemon juice, let sit 10min) and doubled the melted butter - still delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Delicious. Because it is a thicker batter, the blueberries stay put and do not sink to the bottom! I made them the evening before, for a morning coffee gathering and they were wonderful - fresh and flavourful. The only change I made was to add the rind of a whole lemon to the batter and it gave the muffins a delicious lemony undertone. I topped the muffins off with a combination of sugar and lemon rind before baking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      My kids loved these. They only problem I had is that the blueberries leaked and the batter turned purple...I tried to gently fold everything together at the last step, but it was so thick that the berries got damaged in the process. Anyone have any tips for preventing this?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This has got to be one of my new favorite recipes. It is truly amazing!!

      I made these for the first time with the lemon glaze and the end result is by far the BEST blueberry muffin recipe I have ever tasted.
      (I have to say the lemon glaze is what makes them so incredibly delicious).

      I only ran into one problem and that was that the tops of the muffins didn't turn a golden brown. They were lacking any color (but cooked all the way through). I was short on time, so I didn't cook longer. Hopefully next time I won't run into this problem. It doesn't matter though, the taste completely makes up for it!

      A MUST TRY RECIPE!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Easy to make and delicious. The sour cream really does the trick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      These muffins are delicious. I used fresh blueberries instead of frozen. I dipped the tops of the muffins in sugar mixed with a small amount of fresh, grated nutmeg after the muffins were removed from the pan and still warm. I didn't use paper liners thinking I wouldn't have a problem since I was using sprayed, nonstick tins. Big mistake! They stuck like glue. I'll definitely use liners next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Delicious and sweet. The berries don't sink to the bottom! I also added two mashed bananas at the end of the of the sour cream mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      Very good blueberry muffin! My toddlers helped make these, and enjoyed eating them. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Followed the recipe, muffins have a strange taste, would not brown much. I used a full tablespoon of baking powder, and they have an aluminum like taste. I wonder if it should be a teaspoon instead. Not sure, however the texture is very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Blueberry Muffins (Cook's Illustrated)

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.3
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    33%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 38.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 214.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    92%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites