22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my favorite blueberry muffin recipe. It is almost as easy to prepare as the box mixes. Cook's Illustrated lists several toppings to use on these muffins. I used the lemon glaze: combine 1/4 c. lemon juice with 1/4 sugar in a saucepan over medium heat; reduce to glaze. Combine 1/2 c. sugar with 1 t. freshly grated lemon zest. After muffins cool 5 minutes, brush tops with glaze and then dip in lemon sugar. Yummy!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms February 14, 2009

There should have been a warning with this recipe about how thick the batter is before baking. I am not an experienced cook and I panicked thinking I had done something wrong. After rechecking the recipe I doubtfully spooned the batter into the muffin pan. However, they turned out great! Nice and moist inside after baking. Next time I will double the recipe. I used low fat sour cream, and substituted splenda for most of the sugar.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr Phil fan April 28, 2010

My husband said this is the BEST blueberry muffins he has ever had. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly except that I used fresh blueberries. The second time I increased the amount of blueberries to two cups, but that was a little much. Think I'll stick with the 1 1/2 cups it calls for in the future. They store nicely and taste just as good if not even a little better in the morning if made the evening before.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wags374 August 31, 2010

Wow! These are more like dessert than a breakfast or snack option. Absolutely delicious ... and incredibly easy to make. No mixer needed. I used fresh plump blueberries and non-fat sour cream. Next time, I'll use the lemon glaze as recommended. That sounds really good -- not that a glaze is needed. These are delicious just as they are.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blissful August 09, 2009

I changed this recipe a lot to make it healthier and it was still delicious. Used a combination of whole wheat, oat bran and flax seeds instead of AP flour. Used 1.5 cups of slightly drained yogurt instead of sour cream and butter. Added 1 TBSP of oil and 1 tsp vanilla. Used only 3/4 cups sugar. Used fresh wild blueberries that tasted divine. Sprinkled sugar and a little salt on top before baking (a little trick I learned). Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny October 14, 2011

I had high hopes for the recipe after reading the reviews - I was not disappointed! I am happy that another reviewer mentioned the thickness of the batter, as mine was closer to cookie dough consistency than runny batter (I, too, used fresh blueberries). I decided to make mine in a "Texas" muffin pan, and this recipe accommodated 6 large muffins quite nicely. I increased the cook time to a full 30 minutes, and left the muffins under the broiler for an additional 2 minutes to brown the tops (my oven is fickle). They were cooked perfectly, and remained super-moist. I also added the lemon glaze, but didn't have lemon zest on hand, so I just finished them with plain granulated sugar. The muffins definitely didn't need the glaze, but it added another element to their delicious flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckeye123 July 12, 2011

BEST recipe! I have yet to make the glaze, no need to! Love Cook's Illustrated, and this is why! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx July 08, 2011

Hooray! I think I've finally found The Best blueberry muffin recipe! These are so good and the instructions are excellent. They really did help a novice baker like me turn out an excellent, perfectly textured muffin. I sprayed the tin with Pam Baking spray and didn't need paper liners at all. They slid out perfectly. I also didn't sprinkle them with sugar and I think they make the perfectly sweet breakfast/snack/dessert muffin as they stand. Thanks so much for my now go-to blueberry muffin recipe, senseicheryl!

UPDATE: I only had about 3/4 cup of sour cream today so I filled the rest of the cup with milk. DH said they were the best I've ever made.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz June 08, 2011

Definitely a great muffin. So moist and flavorful. Love them and will make often with fresh blueberries.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 02, 2010

Easy and delicious. If you can resist temptation and save them in a airtight container, they are even moister and more delicious the next day. I also like them warm out of the oven with strawberry jam. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. July 05, 2009
Best Blueberry Muffins (Cook's Illustrated)