23 Reviews

We liked this cake. I followed the recipe except I only used 3 cups fresh blueberries due to reading the reviews but I love blueberries and the 4th cup would have been okay. The cake was mildly sweet and my son loved that most about the cake. I know that he will be requesting the cake again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas May 26, 2008

THis has been a huge hit every time I made it!! I have made it about 6 times but have yet to review it. I use about 3 cups of blueberries I had picked over the summer and they work even after frozen. Its a delish treat that never lasts when I serve it. It has become a fave in my home and one I will make often. Thank you for this keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stormshiver February 25, 2008

This was very good! We loved the streusel topping! I think next I will only use 2 cups of blueberries. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakinheather September 16, 2007

This was the best crumb cake ever.. I would make this over pie any day. Next time i might add nuts and some drizzle... too delicious; great breakfast snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef tell me more August 27, 2007

This recipe was easy, and really tasty. I only had 2 cups of blueberries, but it was still really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evil Eva July 11, 2007

Wonderful coffee cake. I used half the amount of blueberries it called for and that seemed to be the right amount. I couldn't imagine more. Also, I used a glass pie tin and it worked well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feingold Mom June 20, 2007

We pick blueberries during the season, and then freeze them. This is more popular with my kids than pie or muffins. I added a scant 1/2 tsp. almond extract, and left out the lemon zest because my husband doesn't like citrus in baking. It was REALLY good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefTifara March 27, 2007

The name of this recipe is right on! It is the "Best Blueberry Buckle Cake". Very good, very moist with berries, just wonderful flavor. It is very easy to put together, and worth it! I put mine in a regular 8 in square pan. This will be made over and over again, thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michEgan December 14, 2006

Wow! What an amazing little treat! I have so many blueberries in my freezer, and I was getting tired of blueberry muffins - This really hit the spot! I didn't have any lemon zest, but it still came out absolutely delicious! And it impressed the in-laws! :o) Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SophSheldrick September 14, 2006
Best Blueberry Buckle (Blueberry Crumb Cake)