23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my son today, he has informed me that it is almost all gone, and that the cake was just wonderful! Although I did taste the ends of it, I know that I will be making this again, it a wonderful cake, with the most delicious topping, and oozing with berries. I increased the sugar by a couple of tablespoons, and added in 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. I think though the next time i make it I will only use three cups of berries. Roxy, thank you for this wonderful recipe!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz July 28, 2005

Made this for the first time on the 4th of July. It really is the best blueberry dessert I have ever had. Everyone loved it. I used all four cups of blueberries and baked it in a deep-dish 9-inch glass pie plate. It fit perfectly and looked amazing. Can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yumstermeister July 06, 2013

I tried this cake today and followed the recipe exactly. It was very good, moist, and had lots of fruit in it. However, next time I make it I would add little more salt to the batter to offset all the sugar. Or maybe reduce the sugar a little bit. I was a little worried when I made the batter because it was such a thick batter and I thought I did something wrong. I am a novice baker and have never made a crumb cake so I appreciate your detailed instructions greatly! The topping along with the sugar in the batter overwhelmed the blueberries. The berries I used were slightly tart, and my cake was still too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepper Monkey June 19, 2013

I thought this was very good. My B/F thought it had too much fruit in it. But I think there is never enough fruit in most cakes. I did run into one problem, I had the blueberries in the fridge before I added them to the cake. Once I mixed them in the cake because very cold and stiff. So I recommend you let the fruit come to room temp before you make the batter. I got good reviews of this at work too. So only my B/F was overly picky :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud September 13, 2012

I couldn't find my Mom's recipe so came online and used this one. Wonderful! I used 3 cups of frozen berries, since that is how many were in the small bag of blueberries I purchased. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used orange zest as I only had oranges in the house. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy March 17, 2012

This is hands down the absolute BEST blueberry anything I have ever had in my life!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zuzieq611 December 26, 2009

I thought it was perfect as it is too! Delicious dessert to have anytime! With some Vanilla ice cream over the top it was outta sight! I did add some crushed walnuts to the topping as we love them in everything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryGourmetQueen September 05, 2008

I had purchased 1/2 gallon of blueberries from a local farmer and searched for what seemed to be the BEST Blueberry Buckle! This really is! My family had this polished off in a day! We aren't scared of blueberries, so I added all 4 cups and found this recipeto be perfect, as it is! Thanks so much for posting this...I will make this for many years!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 July 27, 2008

It was fabulous!!!!! Everyone enjoyed my dessert. Thanks so much@

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frances Lodge July 26, 2008

Fantastic recipe! Would never fit in a 9" cake pan though. I used a 10" pie plate the first time and it nearly ran over. It was beautiful though, viewing it in the clear glass pie plate! My second try is cooling right now in a 9.5" springform pan. It came 2/3 of the way up the sides of the pan. I would not skimp on the berries though; 4 cups made a wonderfully perfect buckle! I do not have a processor or a standing mixer. A pastry cutter worked great for the buckle and a mixer on high speed worked fine for the batter. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suecosgrove July 23, 2008
Best Blueberry Buckle (Blueberry Crumb Cake)