10 Reviews

I needed something for our Post-Holidays Holiday Potluck at work and this fit the bill perfectly. I made 1.5 times the recipe (which was a ton!) and used pre-cooked bacon (2.3 oz pkg) and pre-shredded lettuce (10 oz) to save time. The only change I made was to cut back the mayo just a little bit (used 1 cup instead of 1 1/8 cup). Many of my co-workers told me how good it was. Thanks for helping me preserve my standing among them as a great cook! :) - Jan 6, 2010. UPDATE: I made this again for this year's potluck and only made one recipe (instead of 1.5) and it was plenty. I again used pre-cooked bacon (8 slices) and an 8 oz pkg of lettuce. I still cut back the mayo a Tbsp or two. The only thing I did different this time was using homemade bbq sauce - Easy BBQ Sauce. Got rave reviews again! Thanks again for sharing! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 January 06, 2011

A great salad that really does taste like a BLT but with pasta instead of bread. I couldn't bring myself to make the full amount of dressing because I thought it would make the dish too wet. So I cut back both the mayo and bbq sauce by just over a third. The end result was perfect. Five of us enjoyed it for lunch, and I'll be making it often. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy January 09, 2013

Wonderful salad, and easy to make too! I used the precooked bacon, and that helped it get done sooner! I didn't change one thing, the taste was perfect just the way it was. I especially loved using the smaller shell/pasta because it really keeps the dressing right inside the shell. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 09, 2012

i just made this for a taste tester for when i make the real thing ! i omitted onions (only because my one friend cant eat them ) and the lemon juice(same reason) but i added peppers and did may ranch and dianas original bbq sauce and i also added grated cheese ! AWESOMMMMEEE!!! im thinking it could use maybe cucumbers in it as well ! ill try that next time

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrennyV1 September 25, 2010

Something different and unusual for us. We substituted shells for elbows. We felt that the barbeque sauce seemeed to take over a little more than we liked. Next time we would use less. Made For Top Favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 01, 2010

This is a good pasta salad - different and interesting. We subbed half of the mayo with homemade ranch, used romaine lettuce and less salt and pepper. DH thought avocado would be great in this. If you are making this as a main dish instead of a side, it would feed 3 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 21, 2010

Really enjoyed this salad for our lunch today and it was an extra bonus that I had most of the ingredients on hand. I added some cucumber and used a mix of rocket and baby spinach instead of the iceberg lettuce. Also used a red salad onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies December 29, 2009

What a wonderful salad thanks CBM! My husband Russ actually made this so I'm reviewing it as the eater. It was simple and he made no change other than to reduce the dressing to 1/2 cup mayo and 1/4 cup barbecue sauce and for us the salad was more than mosit enough. I could have gone without the rest of my dinner and just eaten the salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS December 23, 2009

Excellent! We enjoyed this for dinner tonight. I doubled the onion and used 1 1/2 large Arkansas tomatoes. For the dressing I squeezed 1/2 of a lemon used Baby Ray's Hickory Brown Sugar b-que sauce. Next time I will try Chipolte b-que sauce. I think a little spice would be great. Thanks CBM. Made for Aussie Swap #30.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana July 19, 2009

The bbq sauce is definitely the secret to making this pasta salad delicious. I used Bullseye Barbecue Sauce and it added a wonderful zing to the flavor. I was out of lettuce, so had to omit it. I don't honestly think it would have changed the flavor much, so we didn't miss it. Made for the A/NZ recipe swap June 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess June 07, 2009
Best BLT Pasta Salad