323 Reviews

I wish that I'd left out the sour cream. I tasted it before adding, and it was plenty creamy already. The sour cream just made it bland, even though I only used 1/2c. I used fresh mushrooms (cooked separately in butter) and added a few splashes of worcestershire sauce. If I were to make this again I would leave out the sour cream, and maybe add some paprika and parsley. I do agree that it was very easy to make and has a nice meaty flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurit July 16, 2010

This was a wonderful base recipe for Stroganoff. I did add a few items and change one or two things. I used Top Round cut into cubes which I browned with the onion, garlic, as well as a minced cerrano pepper (we like a little heat). I seasoned the meat with a little salt, pepper, and paprika before browning. I also used fresh button mushrooms (i think next time I will either slice some crimini's or use chantrels). This is an easy dish to make, and tastes extraordinary. If you want to put a little spin on it you can also serve over rice, which I did the first time I made it, and it is really nice. Serve with either fresh green beans or maybe asparagus if it is in season. Great recipe. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kinglefty June 30, 2010

Delicious recipe I did tweek a bit, added 1/2-1cup dry sherry, 1 tsp dijon mustard, and 1tsp paprika to the cooking ground beef. Also one little squirt, maybe 1-2 T of ketchup layers the flavors.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ace7455 #2 August 28, 2013

HI this is a great recipe. The only thing that I would change is instead of ground beef I used flat iron steak slice really thin. The flat iron steak is the second most tender steak on the market and cost half the price of cheaper cuts ( about 6-8 bucks each ). If you try it cut it in half length whise and then slice it realy thin across the grain. PS it helps if the steak is a little frozen. Thanks for the recipe it was really good!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Awsome October 03, 2010

Not that impressed. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlowens July 19, 2010

Simple and easy. It was good and we will definitely make it again. The sauce didn't have as much of a meaty flavor as I would have preferred. The sauce was also a little thicker than I wanted. Perhaps next time I will add some beef broth to change the texture and flavor a bit. I also used fresh sliced mushrooms instead of the canned ones. I think fresh mushrooms taste a thousand times better than canned ones but that's just me. My DH loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsLuTu April 07, 2010

I made the recipe for dinner last night, but since I am on WW, I made a few adaptations to make it a little more waist-line friendly. First of all, I used turkey instead of beef. Secondly, I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Thirdly, I used margerine instead of butter. Finally, I lower cal, 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup. I followed the instructions as provided (except I did double the garlic), but per other reviewers' instructions, I used worcestershire sauce (probably a couple of tbsp worth, i didn't really measure) and some beef broth (probably 1/2 c, once again, didn't measure) too. This turned out well. My husband loved it! I liked it, but discovered I don't really like cream of mushroom soup (not reflected in the review b/c that's not the recipe's fault)..I'm not sure what I'll use next time, maybe cream of chicken like one other reviewer did. Overall, however, this was a good recipe and one we will be adding to our dinner rotation. For those of you on WW, with my substitutions, I calculated the points value on the recipe to be 7pts for 1/8 of the pot (this include the egg noodles). Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G March 30, 2010

I didn't really care for this, but my husband absolutely loved it. Maybe I used beef that didn't have enough fat in it. I used 7% lean ground beef because that's what I always buy. The flour didn't have anything to soak up....I ended up having to add two cans of mushroom soup in order for it to be moist enough, and I used a container of fresh mushrooms instead of canned. But my husband wants me to try it again, so maybe I'll try different % of beef, and name brand soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jusme November 26, 2009

This is a good basic recipe but I had to add worcheshire and A LOT of salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder to liven up the flavor. Good base recipe though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ambrosia July 02, 2009

This is exactly the same as my mom's recipe except that we use cream of chicken (sounds different but works Wonderfully!). Thanks for posting this easy and awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lynn~ April 15, 2009
Best Beef Stroganoff