Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Beef Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    317 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 317

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2014

      Good recipe with these modifications. Use fresh mushrooms (canned are rubbery and tasteless) for better flavor and texture; sauté with onions. Increase pepper and garlic by 2x or more according to your taste. Add 1 TBL Worcestershire sauce. As written this it very thick; add beef broth to thin to the desired consistency. Use 1/3 to 1/2 cup sour cream; a full cup is too much for most tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      I gave this 4 stars for easy to make. It was very tasty but not the stroganoff I'm used to. I did like this dish only thing I changed was I didn't have canned mushrooms so subbed fresh. I just have to say this -- most of the reviews are other peoples recipes, they didn't follow yours. "I addded this, I did this, I didn't add this. I wish folks would just follow the recipe. It seems as they're submitting their own instead of making this dish. Thanks for an easy recipe for stroganoff Bri22, I did like it! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      As written this is only 3.5 stars...but adding the Worcestershire sauce brings it up to a five. I can eat sour cream by the spoonful but my husband not so much so I cut that back to half a cup. I added the sour cream to half the batch so I could give it an honest review according to how it is written then added the other half back to account for cutting back on the sour cream. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      I followed Jimmy's suggestions for increased garlic and pepper and less sour cream. I also used 98% fat free mushroom soup and low fat sour cream and it was very delicious, this will be in heavy rotation! I live that I have all of the ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I made this last night and it was wonderful!! I read the reviews first and added only 1/4 cup of sour cream which was perfect. Also added 1/3 cup of milk and 1/3 cup of water to the soup... I thought I made a mistake because it looked toooo watered down, but after a few minutes it thickened up to a perfect consistancy. I'll def make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      This was great! Perfect for a snowy afternoon... and my husband RAVED about it. I did read through all 311 reviews of this dish prior to cooking, so I followed some advice and made a couple of changes (I used fresh mushrooms, which I sauteed along with the onions and garlic, and I used 1/3 cup of sour cream instead of the full cup). Other than that, I followed the recipe with success. I served over whole wheat egg noodles and sprinkled with a bit of parsley. This is a very RICH dish, so it's not something I would make often, but it sure was delicious for a mid-November treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      super easy to make. used suggestion of worcestershire sauce and upped the pepper. <br/>used cream of celery due to mushroom allergies which means i omitted the mushroom slices altogether. so mine was beef/sauce no 'shrooms. worked for us. will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      This is great. I only added a few flavors to make it more like my mom's. Fresh minced garlic. A bit of tomato paste to the ground beef, and a little beef bullion paste and beef broth. I also didn't add as much sour cream. If you have it handy a half-dram of sherry gives it an authentic taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Thank you for sharing this wonderful dish! I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      Awesome recipe. My family loved it. The only changes I made was adding extra onions and garlic, just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Seriously delicious comfort food. Very easy too. Perfect Sunday dinner thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Good recipe. Very quick to prepare and tasty...do feels bit heavier now though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      This recipe is great with the revisions posted by 'Jimmy801' (post before mine) and will definitely stay in the roster of my monthly dishes. My young boys loved it and my friend asked for it after having a playdate/dinner at my house and seeing her daughter devour it. She doesn't really like beef and is more calorie conscious, so she substituted the recipe with chicken mince and used low fat sour cream and was happy with the result. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe. I've been making this for over a year. My husband loves it when I make this. As a matter of fact he requests it often. I enjoy cooking from scratch and with lots of garlic thus unknowingly I incorporated many suggestions already posted. I use 2-3 garlic cloves depending on the size, half an onion, freshly sliced mushrooms, and instead of sour cream I use plain yogurt (gotta cut the calories where possible). Also instead of using all the butter to sautee the onions I use a bit less than one tbsp of butter and about the same amount of olive oil. Like others I also add a cup of milk to make it a bit more runny since we don't like this as thick. The base for the recipe is delicious. Say goodbye to that boxed stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      My husband and I both loved it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      This is a great recipe with the modifications suggested by Jimmy801 on Oct 26, 2012 (e.g., only 1/3 c. sour cream and add some Worcestershire sauce). I learned this basic recipe from my Mom and made it for my family all the time my kids were growing up. It's still a favorite. I do add a little cream cheese also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      Excellent. Both my husband and I really enjoyed this. I did add a little milk to the beef mixture when I added the soup to simmer. Seemed a little thick. Will be sure to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      I loved this a lot. It was really easy and tastes great, I did add one chicken bouillon Cube to it and 2 garlic cloves. I use condensed mushroom soup because someone said the sour cream was to much. Added a little milk at the end. This was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      Really good and will be the one I use from now on. It is a rarity anyway so I think we can get away with the sour crème and butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Loved it and better yet my picky husband went back for seconds which is extremely rare to see him do! Thanks sharing Bri22!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Beef Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 582.1
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    49%
    Total Fat 32.1 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 139.5 mg
    46%
    Sodium 904.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 24.2 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites