Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2002

      I made this on the weekend and we loved it. hubby and I are big stew fans and this one rated right up there! I used red wine as I did not have Port wine on hand and it turned out great! I was a little apprehensive about the horseradish, but wow did it make a great difference! Thanks Dorothy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I loved the consistency of this beef stew - not too "soupy". I added one package of sundried tomatoes which worked very well with the other flavors. Thanks, Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

    • on June 15, 2012

      I have been making this stew for years. Thanks Derf. I almost panicked when I realized the site had changed and I thought I had lost my recipe book. I would not make beef stew with any other recipe. The only thing I would disagree with is the stew tasting better the next day. I have never had leftovers to find out!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      A delicious stew Derf, I know it would be even better with wine! I used beef broth this time. I did not add the celery or potatoes, I made dumplings DH's favourite! A great flavourful meal on a cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This recipe didn't work for me. I picked it because I love garlic and love cooking with wine, but the result was terrible. Sorry. It's just too much wine! I used a mid-priced bottle, and the flavor was just too harsh. Maybe this would work with a really really nice wine, but I'm not willing to spend that much for wine to cook with-- to drink, yes. To cook, no. Anyway, I fiddled around with the seasonings for a half-hour or so and did my best to cover that hot-cooked-wine flavor. Sorry Derf... thanks anyway! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Thought we were going to be eating trout today for supper (first day of fishing season), but DH didn't catch any. No matter, thoroughly enjoyed making and eating your stew instead. The only thing I didn't add was the horseradish as I didn't have any. Whenever I used to visit my grandparents as a child and they served up beef stew they always had "dough boys" to go along with it and I now do the same. I like them for sopping up the gravy. Great recipe and will be making again. Thanks Derf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      This had such a wonderful flavor & the taste was perfect! Thanks for sharing. Katherine in Alberta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Great stew! It smells absolutely fantastic while cooking. I used some leftover merlot and cabernet for the wine. I also left out the mushrooms. It is a bit of work, but well worth it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This is a great recipe. It's almost identical to mine except I add a couple of tbs of brown mustard to mine. The combo of the horseradish and mustard is WONDERFUL!! Give it a try. WTG on this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      The recipe was pretty easy and the results were terrific. The only thing I added were peas. The Port wine gave it a very slightly sweet flavor though I'm sure a good red would have been fine as I could have drank the red with the meal. Thanks Derf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      this way a new way to prepare stew meat . it was excellen. the flavor was unusual and delightful. thanks for the change in pace.....patsy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

    • on October 26, 2004

      Wow, we did not like this very much. My husband ate it, but my daughter's and myself were not impressed at all. The only substitution that I made was to use beef broth instead of water. I am not sure what happened, but I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      Highly recommended. I have been sticking to a beef stew recipe for 1 year now, but my family liked this a lot I will have to make it often from now on. Temperature, cooking time were all okay and the odd mix of ingredients - rutabaga, head of celery, etc. infused the traditional beef stew with better taste. I used high quality Spanish red wine. The addition of creamed horseradish made everything taste much better than the usual beef stew. Who´d ever think horseradish tastes good in a stew. I always thought it would be too strong in a stew, but it turned out so well. Thank you so much Derf, we will make this again and again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 793.4
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    28%
    Total Fat 25.0 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 82.9 mg
    27%
    Sodium 657.7 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.0 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 24.8 g
    99%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes