59 Reviews

Wow!! This was fantastic. I made it in my 6 quart Rival slow cooker and was able to get 14 servings from this recipe. My family of five all had two bowls. I did make a few adjustments. I addded 1 teaspoon of crushed garlic, used 3 large carrots, 2 stalks of celery. I got everything ready the night before and just plug in the slow cooker in the morning. Cooked it on low for 10 hours. The flavor was fabulous. Next time, I might add 1/2 cup of red wine. Thanks for posting.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M April 09, 2003

I love barley soups and my 18 month old couldn't get enuf of this hearty thick soup. I used leftover moose roast from crockpot #25508 with the au jus.Keeper!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 07, 2003

I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT. Beef-Barley soup is my all time favourite and always order it in restaurants when on the menu. I could never quite get a recipe I really "liked", until this one. Thanks for your posting. I made this (just to have around), and we ate the whole pot. Delicious.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA April 16, 2003

This was a real hit! My nine year old gave it a "9" on a scale from one to ten. I agree! I must've taste-tested this twenty times..."ooo, this is good, but I better taste it again just to be sure." My kids weren't fooled! They came to the table right away when I called them (this is rare!) The only changes I will make next time: half the barley and/or double the broth, water and au jus. As is, the barley soaked up all the wonderful broth and I didn't have much to dip my bread into. I did add more carrots and celery, just cuz I love the flavor. Awesome for Wisconsin freezing winters and rainy spring days...and just when we want something hearty!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinsplusonemom May 08, 2003

Loved this soup!! I was swayed by the reviews. I've tried a slew of recipies for B.B. soup, and was never satisfied. I loved this one! The only change I made was adding a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The family loved it ! Thanks!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chisel Monkey November 17, 2003

I have made this delicios soup many times already and thought I had reviewed it. I usually add alot more veggies but follow the rest of the recipe. Be sure NOT to leave out the au jus it really makes this soup. My family asks me to make this one so it really must be good. Thanks so much for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young February 03, 2012

I used this recipe as a base recipe. The veggies I added were lima beans, peas, corn, carrots, onion, and green beans. I also added 1 can of crushed tomatoes. The spices I added were thyme, garlic, rosemary, basil, salt and pepper. I added a couple dashes of worcestershire sauce, 2 small few ounce cans of spicy V8, and 1 envelope of au jus mix. I decided to add chicken broth, beef broth and some "Better than bouillon beef flavored". I added approx 1- 1 1/2 cups barley too along with the beef. I was very pleased with how this turned out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky D October 27, 2011

Good soup! I was looking for a way to use up some leftover roast beef. I left off the worcestershire and increased the salt and didn't have barley so I used 1/2 c. pinto beans and 1/2 c. black eyed peas. Thanks for posting it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl April 09, 2003

SO GOOD! First time making this and is it ever a keeper! I made a few changes - added a total of 4 cups chicken broth just because I wanted to use up the other half of the carton; added more celery & carrots, and whisked in about a tbsp of tomato paste. I also cooked the barley separately and added to each serving as we ate it so the barley wouldn't absorb all the broth - will definitely do that again next time. Great way to use up leftover roast beef! The only thing I didn't like was the use of the au jus/demi-glaze. I used a packet of au jus and while it did definitely add a great depth of flavour (which we enjoyed), I really didn't like adding all that sodium to the soup. Will try to figure out more natural way around that for next time. Already looking forward to my next bowl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginnyfyr December 23, 2015

The worst soup I have ever made. Ihat the flavor of prepackaed gravy or sauces. No one liked it in my group.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Marie S. January 19, 2015
Best Beef Barley Soup