Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Basic White Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Basic White Rice

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      Good recipe to have! I prefer it with less water, but that's my taste.Great when there's not a lot of time and I need a quick rice dish. I liked the addition of chicken broth.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Great rice! Enjoyed the flavor using the chicken broth instead of water. Will use this recipe often. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I made this rice, so that I would have rice already cooked on hand. I just love rice with nothing but butter on it. This recipe gave it a fuller flavor.....I guess because of the broth. This is how I will make all rice from now on. Wrote down recipe and put it in the jar that I keep my rice in. Thank you. Made for ZWT4 Team: Chic Chefs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I made this last night to serve with curry & naan. It does make a lovely rice but just didn't have that light fluffy traditional texture that we love with curry. I reckon that this would be good though with spices added to cut through the taste of the stock. It's also similar to a recipe I have that has spices in it & is used for a base as a pilaf, so maybe we didn't have the right accompaniment? (This rice started off a conversation about whether you ever boil rice or purely just leave it on low & it effectively steams it, the things we talk about when we cook!). Thanks cookiedog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Well, my rice definitely turned out better than the last few times that I've cooked it. I omitted the butter for health reasons and added a few more spices. This was a good basic technique. Made for ZWT 4. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I started my diet today and was looking for a way to make white rice. I tried this recipe. It was great will definatly make it again. thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Wow I actually made rice that wasn't still hard and crunchy :) This was a good basic rice recipe just as the name implies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      This rice was so easy to make and the taste and texture was great! Using chicken broth as the liquid ingredient really made for a very flavorful rice. Thanks, cd~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Basic White Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.6
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    14%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 899.7 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes