9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh these are wonderful! I took them to a dessert buffet we had for a class I am taking (a little savory to go with all the sweet), and they were a big hit with all the guests. A word of warning...these are very hot. That is fine with me, I like spicy food, but some may want to cut the cayenne pepper back to 1/2 to 3/4 tsp.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta November 26, 2002

Great and unusual! Easy to make. I also cut back the cayenne to 1/2 tsp because children will be eating them. I think 1 TBP of butter is not enough to ensure that the spices stick to the nuts. I added 1 TBP when it was all finished and wished I had added 2.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melinda2 December 11, 2003

Excellent! They were the perfect blend of sweet and spicy. The flavor and texture improves after the nuts have cooled down a bit. I thought 1 tsp of cayenne would be too much but it was a perfect balance with the sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn January 18, 2010

I was just searching for this recipe and voila, found it! This is a great recipe, one you can't stay away from! My hostess served them warm and they were a wonderful hit! I too am going to give them out as Xmas gifts, packaged in small, sealed containers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenchemistrypro December 07, 2009

These are amazing..made them for the commencing of college football today..my son and I cannot stop eating them. Personally, I don't care for hot hot food..these were perfect! They had some zing to them, but the rosemary and brown sugar made it worth it. If your gonna have good bar nuts these are really worth it. I'm thinking I may make a bunch and put them in cute containers for Xmas gifts for friends..Really..They were that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melba Sundevil September 05, 2009

These were pretty good. However, it was not exactly the taste I was looking for, so I don't foresee making them again. But thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RHOS January 20, 2006

Had these at a party and begged my friend for the recipe and she sent it and I was going to put it in the computer and here it was all along! My friend only uses 1/2 tsp. cayenne and I thought they were perfect. I craved these nuts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala October 09, 2005

Rave reviews from consumers! I cut back salt to 1/2 of recommended. Great to take to picnic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connie3632 June 24, 2005

I have been making these for ages and they are truly wonderful! So good served warm... I do generally cut down on the cayenne, as I preer them with a little less heat! Thanks for posting, Miss Annie... I was going to post it myself but now I don't have to type it! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy K January 26, 2005
Best Bar Nuts