876 Reviews

I used three bananas and two jars of banana baby food was only gonna use one jar but my 5 year insisted we had to put both jars in. also realized halfway through i didn't have baking soda since we just moved and everything that was in the fridge at old house got thrown away. So I substituted 1tsp baking soda for 3 tsp baking powder since that's what my cookbook says under substitutes. Also I did muffins. Which they were still really good even with all the stuff i did.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommy2_3kids June 23, 2010

This was a very good and easy banana bread recipe. I used a glass loaf dish, which may have contributed to it being a little more well done (bottom 1/2" was browner than rest of loaf). Very tasty - thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megans Jewelry Box March 25, 2010

I really loved I am not sure the difference in 4 stars or 5. It was moist, flavorful, done in 50 minutes. I added Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Walnuts and decreased butter to 1/3 cup as another review said it was too greasy and used 1/2 sugar & 1/2 brown sugar. Nice to have a basic recipe in which I don't need to go to the store to buy an ingredient

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady March 01, 2010

A lovely recipe. I made it exactly as specified except I lined the pan in cooking paper AND, most importantly, I cooked it for 30 minutes and then covered the bread pan with foil and continued cooking. Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tania July 15, 2009

Great recipe. I add a tbls of cinnamon, pecans and walnuts. Family fav!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelisah P. September 23, 2016

I made this recipe and it turned out amazing! I subsituted regular butter for light butter as well as used truvia cooking sugar instead of regular sugar and Unbleached all purpose flour. Still tasted amazing, best and easiest banana bread I have ever made!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennylynn90 September 22, 2016

Wow! I'm very impressed! Moist, full of flavor, few ingredients and easy! Finally the kind of banana bread I had hope for, just banana taste and no cinnamon or nutmeg overwhelming. I won't change a thing of this recipe, except for personal taste, I will maybe use a little less butter, a little less sugar and cook 5 to 10 minutes less because of individual oven. Thanks for a winning recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mic September 18, 2016

It was the first time I tried banana bread and this came out fantastic. Simple and perfect the first time. Alterations: I added walnuts to get some extra crunch. The baking soda we get in India is probably more potent, I used 1/2 teaspoon only with good results. Next time, I would reduce the sugar to 3/4 th cup too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sowmya M. September 14, 2016

I have tried different recipes, but this one was a HIT! Everyone in my family loved. I added ginger, nutmeg and walnut, the cake was extremely moist even though I left it for 10min extra. You will definitely love it and do not have to search anymore like I have. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcalcano2469 September 08, 2016

Never made banana bread before. Followed this recipe and it came out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca L. September 08, 2016
Best Banana Bread