701 Reviews

For me, a good recipe has got to have good flavor and all, but for my lifestyle, it's got to also be quick and easy. This banana bread is excellent. It also kept very well in the refrigerator for a week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackwarr February 05, 2012

My Gramma would slap me for posting this...but when I didn't have brown sugar to make her recipe, I looked on here for one that didn't call for brown sugar. Found this one and made it. FABULOUS!
(shhh... I liked it better than the old family one)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pretty....Cheesy January 24, 2012

I found this recipe about 2 years ago and have made it countless times. Everywhere I bring it I get rave reviews and requests for the recipe. The best was when my 7 year old nephew says to me "This is the best banana bread I've ever had!" I usually use 5 bananas instead of 4 because I love dense, moist breads. And the key to a really good banana bread is using black bananas. So when bananas go bad I stick them in my freezer and wait til I have enough to make a loaf. I even made a gluten free loaf once with rice flour and it was still delicious and moist. I will never use another banana bread recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onesweetrepsol January 17, 2012

This is a great recipe. I just made a double batch last night. The couple things I tweaked were, I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and I added a half cup of sour cream. Very yummy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gracie1004 January 11, 2012

I fixed it exactly as written. I was AMAZING!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rnlynns August 17, 2011

I was looking for a banana bread recipe like my Mom and I've found it! It's very simple and so easy to make. I love that have a good recipe to use when I've got bananas to use up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizEast August 08, 2011

This made a very nice bread. To cut back on the fat and calories by just a little bit, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups and I substituted 3 tbsp of butter with apple sauce. Because my bananas were on the small side, I got a fluffy bread. It wasn't overly moist (though it wasn't dry either). I would say it had the consistency of cake. I will likely be turning to this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay June 29, 2011

I love it!!! It's so moist and yummy. I'm definately NOT a baker but found this recipe to be simple and very easy taking only a few minutes to throw everything together. I added a 1 tsp of Cinnamon and replaced the regular sugar with brown sugar and it was so flavourful. My husband loves it and Thank you so much for sharing this recipe I give it 5 stars!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurposeByDesign June 28, 2011

I am new to making banana breads. I baked it like directed and it got dry and didn't raise hardly at all. The flavor was great tho. Next time I will watch it and take it out of the oven sooner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebopgrandma June 23, 2011

I added one more banana, and toasted walnuts. Other than that, a really good bread. Also try honey-eyed butter for dipping!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
august26 October 06, 2010
Best Banana Bread