820 Reviews

Worst banana bread I have ever made. Seriously. I recently moved and left my go to banana bread behind. Thought I'd try this recipe since it got good reviews. Followed to a t and is the most disgusting banana bread ever. It didn't rise it was doughy and all together gross. So disappointed I wasted my bananas on this recipe

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica c. July 01, 2014

I rated this 3 stars for the baking instructions . It does not say how many loaf pans nor the size of the pans.<br/>Do Not Bake this for 60 minutes. If you use dark colored loaf pans reduce heat to 325 degrees. Keep a close eye I recommend starting @30 minutes baking time and go from there.<br/>This recipe was moist. Folding in your flour will keep the bread tender once baked. The family liked it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty C. February 26, 2014

Simple recipe, excellent banana bread. By far a favorite in our house. I've started making them into muffins instead - makes about 16. I cook them for about 20-25 minutes. And I put in about a half cup of wheat flour (the rest, white flour).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smscarch September 22, 2011

This was by far the BEST banana bread recipe I ever made! I was lazy and didn't sift the dry ingredients and it had no adverse effect on the outcome. I also added 1/2 t. cinnamon and swirled some walnuts in on top as an afterthought. The result was super moist and extremely flavorful. I have now replaced my "favorite" recipe with this one for sure! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
really_lala October 24, 2010

Yummy, simple, and perfect. I followed all of the directions except I accidentally added 1/2 tsp too much salt (oops!). It still turned out amazing. I baked four mini loafs for 35-40 minutes. One of the loafs was gone about 10 minutes after they finished baking...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef L Train September 20, 2010

I have tried countless banana bread recipes in the years since I have been baking. I have thought I had found the perfect recipe but curious to see if this was indeed the best banana bread. And the results are that this is IN FACT the BEST banana bread recipe I have EVER tried. I doubled the recipe using 8 large bananas. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose flour. I doubled the vanilla since I love vanilla. I also added a 2 cups of walnuts to the double recipe batter and sprinkled some additional ones on top of both loaves. I baked the bread for about 70 minutes in my Breville Smart Oven. Once removed from the oven I covered tightly with foil and steamed for 30 minutes. I then removed to a cooling rack to finish cooling. The bottom stuck ever so slightly in the middle of the pan so next time I will lightly flour the pan after spraying with cooking spray. The bread was SUPER moist. It had the most wonderful banana flavor. The crust was perfectly brown. I am extremely impressed with this recipe. It takes a lot to impress me and this recipe definitely impressed me.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceywattz August 09, 2013

This was DEELICIOUS! We absolutely devoured the thing--51 minutes at 350 in a convection oven was perfect. I used 3 ripe bananas and 6 super ripe mini bananas--I think the mini bananas added a bit of sweetness that was excellent! I also added a few shakes of cinnamon and nutmeg, and used brown sugar instead of white....we'll be making this weekly! (or, daily at this rate!) Thanks for the awesome recipe, lkadlec!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookerbug October 19, 2009

This is awesome. So simple to make in no time at all. I stuck to exactly this recipe and made muffins (about 20 min). These are incredible, perfect, Nice and moist. Most definitely a keeper and will be used often. Thank you so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry Roberts October 22, 2003

Oh em gee. Best banana bread I've ever tasted. I made 2 loaves at once so doubled the ingredients (I only had 7 very overly ripe bananas). I did use self rising flour instead of AP but only because I am too lazy to sift, and honestly I've never been able to tell a difference in substituting one for the other. I baked for 50 minutes and a toothpick inserted had a little bit of goo so I just turned off the oven and let them sit inside for the next 10 minutes. It makes this phenomenol outside crust that came out of the pan completely intact, and sliced perfectly with a serrated bread knife. I love to cook/bake and I have to say this is one of my greatest accomplishments ever! A+++++!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhumphrey1831 March 31, 2016

THIS IS AMAZING!!!! So delicious!!!! So MOIST!!!! And I didn't have a loaf pan.. so I used a 9in round cake pan and it came out GREAT! Plus I added chopped walnuts. IT TASTES so good... I had it with a glass of milk too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela J. November 11, 2015
Best Banana Bread