633 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe twice, both times it was delicious! the first time following the recipe exactly with choc. chips. the second, i substituted whole-wheat flour and applesauce, due to lack of ingreidents and added walnuts and cranberries. the result was a very moist tasty bread. this one's a keeper!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arianne February 02, 2002

5 stars baby!!! Bam!!! This is the bomb banana bread!! the term bomb is a good thing :) Kids like it. Neighbor likes it. Husband likes it. I like it. Thank you for sharing it!! :)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina M September 10, 2001

This bread is great!!! Added pecans and could have eaten the whole loaf myself. Quick to mix and taste is supreme!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE January 31, 2002

love it.... i put chocolate frosting with almond bits and spred some cinnamon powder...yummy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yihua.ms89 September 23, 2001

The smell of this when its in the oven!....wow....this is delish!! =)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* September 17, 2001

Oh my goodness, this may be the best banana bread I've ever made or eaten! I did use 1/4 cup applesauce in place of half the butter and I used half white and half brown sugar and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I baked it in two aluminum bread pans for 50 min. I let them rest for 10 min. after removing them from the oven, then got them out of the pans and cooled on a rack. I then ate half a loaf and am thinking about going back for more. It is SO Good!!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra May 14, 2011

This is very tasty and moist. The only thing I would be able to tell anyone is that if you use a non stick pan.....I would decrease the cooking time by at least 5 minutes. It was still VERY good but the bottom crust was a little too done for my taste. This recipe is a keeper!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom April 10, 2002

This turned out really well. I used 3/4 cup sugar and 1 1/4 cup flour. The bread was dense, but had a wonderful flavor. I sprayed the pan with cooking spray just to be sure it came out in one piece.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jean July 25, 2002

This is fantastic! I used applesauce instead of butter, whole wheat flour instead of white, cut the sugar in half, and doubled the recipe. I made muffins instead of a loaf (couldn't find my loaf pan!) and they still turned out great. I cooked the muffins for about 25 minutes, and sprayed the papers with Pam (otherwise, the crust sticks to the paper). Even with all those changes, they came out dense but moist, with a wonderful not-too-sweet banana flavor. Great recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon May 10, 2011

Awesome recipe! Thanks. My family loved it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ricachica24 July 19, 2003
Best Banana Bread