Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2010

      YUM! What a great recipe! I love that it has whole wheat, no sugar, no eggs, no dairy and just a little bit of healthy oil. I used white whole wheat flour and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. It made a very moist and tastly loaf. It rose great but then fell after I took it out of the oven. Next time I might bake it a few extra minutes and put some foil over it the last half of baking to prevent over browning. But really, it makes a great loaf as written. The only problem I have is that it's irresistable and the part where it says "serves 4-6" might turn into "serves 1"...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      An easy recipe, great flavor (love the honey/banana combination). I doubled the recipe since I had 6 bananas that needed used. I thought I had whole wheat pastry flour, but only had regular whole wheat--so I did 2 c. wheat & 1 cup white. I baked my loaves for 55 minutes, then decided not to risk browning the bottoms any more...they were just a touch undone in the middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      10 stars!! I loved it and it is the best banana bread I have ever made. Simple to make. I have used pastry flour one time and the other time whole wheat flour. I always add 2 tsp of the vital wheat gluten and it turns out simply delicious. Thank you so much for this awesome recipe. PattyJo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      It's drier than the banana breads with butter/eggs, but this is an excellent heathier alternative that's full of flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I used regular whole wheat flour and added 1 1/2 tablespoons of Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten. I used wildflower honey for the honey!

      I baked these as muffins, 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes.

      The results were delicious moist and fluffy muffins! No sugar, no white flour, and no butter! Amazing! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Love the simple ingredients! This is a good basic recipe. I didn't have pastry flour so I did half whole wheat + half all purpose. It still rose nicely and has a nice texture. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This is the best banana recipe I've tried yet. What a bonus that it uses ww pastry flour and honey, so I don't have to try to substitute! I baked for 45 min. but it could have used an extra 5 or so, I'll have to remember for next time. I did lay a piece of foil across the top after 35 min. so the top wouldn't get any darker. My 17 month old adores this. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Just took everything out to make this (skipping the nuts) and noticed I don't have whole wheat flour so I am making it with regular flour. I wanted to make a honey cake for Rosh Hashana and I had 3 bananas that were crying out to be used so I thought this was the perfect recipe. I didn't get to taste this but others said it was very good. Mine came out darker than the bread in the photo by melting pot. I cooked it about an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I have never liked banana bread, I LOVED these!! I made them muffins and added mini chocolate chips instead of nuts. Great recipe!! Can't wait till i have rotten bananas again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      This took at least an hour to bake, and it didn't rise as high or have as nice a texture as the other whole-wheat banana bread recipe I usually use. But it was so good, and soooooper banana-y! I don't think I'll make it again, but it was a success nevertheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      I didn't see your note at the top to use pastry flour and I used regular whole wheat flour. It was fine. I had to cook it for 70 minutes for it to be done, but it turned out very moist and yummy. I didn't add the nuts and next time I would use 4 bananas as I prefer a more pronounced banana flavor. Thanks for the simple, easy, yet delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Very yummy bread. I followed the ingredients exactly (which I almost never do!). The only problem I had was that it was not done at 50 minutes but the top was so dark I decided to take it out anyway. (Could be my oven. It's a rental house.) The middle wasn't quite done. But hey, there are no eggs, so I can eat it squishy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Great recipe! Easy to make, using the simplest ingredients, and very tasty. I used sunflower oil instead of canola and it worked just fine. A delicious treat for unexpected guests or last minute get-togethers. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Lovely. I added 1 cup diced strawberries so I think I should have decreased the amount of honey. I already only added 3/4 cup but maybe 1/2 cup would be better suited to my taste. Otherwise, lovely texture- light, not too moist not too dry just right! Thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 599.9
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    39%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 621.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.6 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 46.5 g
    186%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes