Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Baked Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Baked Potato

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-134 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2005

      I actually wondered it this was going to make that much of a difference but I was very convinced after I ate it. It was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      Superb. Normally I use peanut oil as well, and using my hands grind Maldon sea salt into the skins rather than piercing. Messy, but effective. Splitting the temperatures helps as well - 15 minutes at 450 followed by 45 to 90 minutes at 350-ish depending on size and type of potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      Great! I usually bake potatoes at a higher temperature with no oil so was interested to see how these compared. Great directions, I cooked four baking potatoes about 15 minutes longer. The skin came out softer than my usual method but quite good. I loved the kosher salt and devoured the whole thing. No problem with drippings. I don't know why anyone would microwave a potato when you can make these so easily. Thanks, VirginiaGeek, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Kids devoured the baked potatoes. Olive oil and Lawry's seasoned salt was in the cabinets. Definitely the new way to bake potatoes. As added bonus for cholesterol, topped with butter and shredded cheese when served.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      I used plain salt and olive oil because that's what I had on hand. These were very good-- the potatoes had a crispy skin and the inside was fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This is a good way to cook spuds. I use olive oil, kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. The light coating of oil helps the S&P stick. I love to eat the skin the best. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      These were very good! I have always used foil but now that I found this recipe it will be Oil and Kosher salt from now on. LOL The salt really makes a nice taste and I don't have to add any salt during dinner. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      I always wondered how Outback made thier potatos, now I know. A very simple recipe, I love how they taste, nice and fluffy texture, with a semi crisp skin. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      The first time I have baked a perfect potato!!! Thank you so much! The Kosher salt made it taste just like one of the delicious potatoes from Outback!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      I tried this for dinner last night. They baked up great! Nice and fluffy inside and crispy outside. I wasn't sure about baking them on the racks alone, but they did just fine. Didn't have any kosher salt, so just used plain salt. Good recipe, will make them like this again, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      These Potatoes were excellent! I used peanut oil and made them on the grill at 450*. I also wrapped them in foil since they were very large. But they still had a nice crispy outside and a wonderful flavor. We really enjoyed them. I definitely will be making them like this again! Thank you!!glitter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      This is a great way to cook baked potatoes! They turned out perfectly cooked inside and crispy on the outside. I do not think I will cook mine any other way from now on. Alton Brown sure knows his cooking! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      It is surprising how helpful such a simple recipe can be. I could remember the length of time baked potatoes cook, but couldn't remember the temp. My potatoes were great, and much better than a lot of restaurant baked potatoes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Good baked potatoes! Mine never did crisp up, the skin was still kind of soft, but the flavor of the spud was good. I used super fresh Wisconsin russets. The family enjoyed finding 'restaurant looking' potatoes on their plates tonight. Thanks Virginia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Baked Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes