134 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is definately a keeper! I did as a previous review said and added some seasoning salt and garlic powder to the salt and rubbed it on the oiled potato. The pototatoes were fluffy and delicious. DH said make this recipe again and again! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 14, 2009

These baked up really great. I finally was able to bake a potato that was fluffy inside, nice and crispy outside. I didn't have kosher salt or canola oil but I didn't want to wait to try them so I used olive oil and sea salt. The results were still delicious. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 12, 2009

This is definitely how I will be making my baked potatoes from now on. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dudemickgal October 07, 2009

Awesome restaurant quality potatoes! I have always wondered how to get that crispy and salty skin that I eat on restaurant potatoes, well now I know! I made these with massive potatoes and they came out perfectly. I used sea salt because that was all I had. Will definitely make my bakers this way next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
desertlady September 19, 2009

Delicious! We've made these several times and we can't get enough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CryPixie83 July 27, 2009

Perfect!! My didn't get as crisp as I liked but I would guess that's because I couldn't wait any longer to eat them!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coastiehoney June 08, 2009

Perfection! I used olive oil and sea salt and we ate every last bite. Alton Brown is well loved in this household. Thanks for posting this one! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee May 09, 2009

This was a great baked potato! I had never made them myself before, and they are so easy to make! The skin was so good with the oil and salt....I think this might be the best part of the potato! Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. April 05, 2009

As the name says "The BEST baked potato". My family went nuts over these.....a potato!!! We all really liked the addition of salt around the skin which made it soooo yummy. Thank you for posting this "oh so good" recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 24, 2009

These are good. I did exactly as written. I did 4 and it took much longer than written. 1/2 hr to 45 min more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy but capable March 13, 2009
Best Baked Potato