Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Baked Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Baked Potato

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2008

      These were terrific! I'm not usually a fan of baked potatoes b/c I find them too dry, but these were not. I topped them with sour cream, cheese and green onions and they were superb. Will be making these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Thanks for posting mcb, this was great and so simple. I've always thought you had to wrap in foil and it never made a big differance between that and the ease of the microwave. But this has converted me, so soft and fluffy inside and even the skin was yummy - the addition of the oil and kosher salt made all the differance. I'll never make them another way from now on. This is the only way to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Made these potatoes last night for dinner. They turned out GREAT. This is the only way I will make baked potatoes from now on too. We topped them with some Lowfat Cottage Cheese and Green Onions that were blended until smooth in the food processor. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I've been making potatoes like this for several years. I don't put them in a bowl, I just toss them in the oven right on the rack. I've never had any drippings as I don't coat them heavily with oil, I use olive oil. I use a bit of coarsely ground pepper as well. Delicious every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I give you my word, I will never-ever bake another potato, other then this way...cross my heart and hope to burn anything I bake! Thank you, Charmie777, sometimes "JUST THE BASIC STUFF" excapes me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I'm avoiding butter, so I thought this would be a good way to add some flavor to what would otherwise be a "plain" baked potato. It was delicious! I normally don't eat the potato skins, but in this case it was my favorite part!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Great basic recipe,I've used it many times. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Doesn't get much simpler or tastier, really. Thank you for sharing a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      We use a generous amount of cracked sea salt on the outside. Though it does take some planning beforehand, because they do take about an hour to bake, this recipe is still amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      HAHA, hey some of us still need this basic receipes, keep them coming! Mine were GREAT, I never knew how to make them before, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I usually bake my potatoes using a different method, but when I saw this was how Alton Brown makes his potatoes, I had to try it! I used 4 medium sized russets and poked them about 10x each. I rubbed them with some olive oil and sprinkled witht he kosher salt. I don't know what was so different about this method than my other method, but these potatoes were so fluffy! Easy to prepare and pop in the oven so you can go on to make the rest of your meal. We topped ours with some butter, cheddar cheese and sour cream... just delicious! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

    • on October 24, 2007

      I am a foil kind of girl.... But this was great!! I love the skin. Thanks so much for posting. I will make them like this from now on. Now all I have to do is get my mom to toss the foil out too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      One of my favorite "recipes"! It's so easy, and although it sounds kind of messy, it's really not... Nice crunchy potato skin with the salt...mmmmmm....think I'll pop some in the oven now! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This is now the only way I cook potatoes. I have used the canola oil, sometimes evoo, dipends on my mood and what I'm fixing. The skin is nicely coated with kosher salt and makes a very tastey jacket for twice baked potatoes. Tried to convince my brother-in- law to cook them this way. But, alas he is a die hard "aluminum foil wrap" kinda person, his loss. Thanks for posting this cookgirl, saving in my spud and sarah cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      My boyfriend and I made two of these last night and they turned out perfect! I love Alton Brown, thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Mine was not nearly done after an hour, but would be great if cooked the rest of the way through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Yes, this is the only way to make a baked potato. We've been doing them like this since I watched this episode of Good Eats. Thanks for taking the time to post this here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      My new favorite way to make baked potatoes! This recipe really is the best. And very easy. I followed exactly as written, but used a sheet of aluminum foil placed on the racks. Thanks for posting!(P.S. This does taste like Outback's!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      This is the only way to make a baked potato. Couldn't be easier and it comes out perfect every time. Just make sure you stab them with the fork, otherwise they will come out mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Baked Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes