Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Baked Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Baked Potato

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2008

      I'm sold! I will never wrap my spuds in foil again! I have to admit that I rub them with the oil, sprinkle with kosher salt and put on a cookie sheet...I have a relatively new convection oven and am still slightly neurotic about getting the inside of it messy! This is an awesome way to make potatoes. Thanks so much-Amy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Excellent and Easy. The only way we make baked potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I was surprised that something so simple could make such a big difference over the way I normally bake potatoes. I normally smother my spuds in butter, but it simply wasn't necessary with these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Yuuu-uuum! I've made this several times and I always use spray olive oil (non-stick cooking spray made with olive oil) to coat the 'tater. Then, I generously sprinkle on salt, pepper, and garlic powder. This is definitely the best way to make a baked potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      This is the only way I have been making baked potatoes for over 40 years. I also sprinkle pepper over the outside and my family loves them. I started making baked potatoes this way years ago because this was how my elementary and h.s. cafeterias made them and I just loved them. Now, my family won't eat them any other way. I also use them in making Potato Soup #40173.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I altered this recipe and it was great! I used red potatoes, olive oil, and garlic salt. Delicious! The best baked potato I have ever made. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Perfect baked potatoes! This makes the skins so tasty that I ate them as well. This is now the only way I will be making baked potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      A great way to make baked potatoes. It will give the skin a great crunchy texture and a nice fluffy inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      very easy and very tasty! yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      This is definitely the best way to cook baked potatoes - they actually bake instead of steaming in foil, and it makes for a much better texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      A great and tasty way to make baked potatoes. Since it was so hot today I "baked" these on the grill. I rubbed olive oil on the potatoes and then sprinkled them with Fleur de Sel (sea salt from France). I lit half of the grill to medium and put the potatoes on the side that wasn't lit, but close to where the flames were. I closed the lid and let them bake for 1 hour. During the 1 hour cooking time I added grilled corn on the cob and a steak to the grill. Everything turned out perfectly. The potatoes were nicely baked, tender and fluffy. I topped them with a little butter and french onion chip dip. Yummy! This is how I will be making baked potatoes from now on. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      My husband LOVES this recipe. Its so tasty and exceptionally easy. Potatoes shouldn't be baked any other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      This is the best baked potato recipe ever! Hint; If you are eating the skin, buy organic potato's and avoid the EDB that growers have used as a pesticide for years. It's mainly on the potato skin and causes cancer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      This makes a perfect baked potato! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      It came out great. i wrapped each potato in aluminum foil and I used plain salt and vegtable oil spray. baked on cookie sheet 1 1/2 hr. topped with adobo & pepper and i can't believe its not butter!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      I baked these and then topped with cheese, ham, and sour cream. They were great, but I kick myself that I forgot to take a taste before loading them up so I could really compare the taste to how we usually make them. We always rub with oil or crisco and then salt with the larger sea salt crystals. I did use the canola oil, as directed, and then our sea salt. I will say that they definitely baked faster being directly on the rack. I had 3 large baking potatoes, and they took about 1 hour and 15 minutes to be perfectly baked. It did make the grates dirty, so I wouldn't do it this way if you just cleaned your oven, but since I need to clean it soon anyway, it didn't matter. I really liked how the larger potatoes didn't take forever to bake, like usual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      The best way to make a baked potato, hands down. Great recipe....thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      I didn't have baking potatoes on hand and instead used 2 medium red potatoes. I also used olive oil instead of the canola oil. Even with the smaller potatoes, an hour of baking time seemed to be about right. While I am still not a fan of the skin of baked potatoes, Hubby really like the crispy saltiness of these potatoes baked without foil and directly on the racks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This was a great recipe... exactly what I was looking for... a simple baked potato recipe that turns out great everytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      yes! this is the perfect baked potato recipe!! I'd been wrapping my baked potatoes for years till I saw this episode of good eats. The skin comes out so crispy and the potato is fluffy and fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Baked Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites