Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Baked Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Baked Potato

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2009

      This is definately a keeper! I did as a previous review said and added some seasoning salt and garlic powder to the salt and rubbed it on the oiled potato. The pototatoes were fluffy and delicious. DH said make this recipe again and again! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      These baked up really great. I finally was able to bake a potato that was fluffy inside, nice and crispy outside. I didn't have kosher salt or canola oil but I didn't want to wait to try them so I used olive oil and sea salt. The results were still delicious. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      This is definitely how I will be making my baked potatoes from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Awesome restaurant quality potatoes! I have always wondered how to get that crispy and salty skin that I eat on restaurant potatoes, well now I know! I made these with massive potatoes and they came out perfectly. I used sea salt because that was all I had. Will definitely make my bakers this way next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Delicious! We've made these several times and we can't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Perfect!! My didn't get as crisp as I liked but I would guess that's because I couldn't wait any longer to eat them!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      Perfection! I used olive oil and sea salt and we ate every last bite. Alton Brown is well loved in this household. Thanks for posting this one! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This was a great baked potato! I had never made them myself before, and they are so easy to make! The skin was so good with the oil and salt....I think this might be the best part of the potato! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      As the name says "The BEST baked potato". My family went nuts over these.....a potato!!! We all really liked the addition of salt around the skin which made it soooo yummy. Thank you for posting this "oh so good" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      These are good. I did exactly as written. I did 4 and it took much longer than written. 1/2 hr to 45 min more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      These were great! So fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside! The skins were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I didn't have canola oil or kosher salt, but I did use this recipe as an idea of how to make a good baked potato. I used olive oil, sea salt and seasoned salt. They turned out great, and of course I ate the skins too because they were delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I am making this recipe as I type and it looks good! This recipe was soo easy and fun to prep. The baking time worried me, so I found this tip for cutting baking time in half: -Scrub and clean the potatoes as normal -Then boil the potatoes for 5-7 minutes and then continue preparing normally Hope this helps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I loved the crispy crust and the flavor from the kosher salt. We topped ours with sour cream and lots of butter (I know, shame shame on us!) and they were enjoyed with our broiled sirloin steaks. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      No more microwave potatoes at my house...this method makes the best baked potato I've ever eaten...and no wonder, since it's Alton Brown...it's GOOD EATS! Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      A great way to bake a potato. I used to wrap in foil, but not anymore. The skin was deliciously crisp and the insides soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      MY Mom and I have had a silly fight over the years on whether to wrap potatoes in foil or not when baking. This recipe FINALLY won her over. ( I guess she had to see it in writing. LOL) Anyway, I have done my spuds like this for years. Sometimes I mix some kosher salt, Lawry's, and garlic powder in a bowl and roll the potatoes in that. This method produces the best baked potato ever! Thanks for posting mcb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Very simple and understated but produced a delicious potato! I think I put a bit too much oil on mine, and as a result I had to keep switching out the aluminum foil on the bottom of the oven because the oil would drip and burn, setting off my smoke alarm. When they still weren't ready in a little over an hour I wrapped them in foil and they were all set 5 minutes later. We served with vegan sour cream and bacon salt (vegetarian! WHO WOULD HAVE THOUGHT!) and had a delicious vegan side dish. Will make again, but will probably wrap in foil to a) cook faster, and b) keep my smoke alarm from going crazy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Baked Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites