Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Baked Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Baked Potato

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2010

      Oh my God! It works!

      After years of stiff, hard baked potatoes, I am happy to say that I have produced restaurant-quality ones, thanks to this recipes. I poked 2 large russets 6 times each, then nuked them for 3 minutes, placed them on a plate and drizzled them with olive oil. Then I sprinkled them with garlic salt and put them in the toaster oven for about 35 minutes. I did the recipe's method of opening the potatoes, and it was like magic (just rip a paper towel in half--one side for each hand--to protect your hands while you are pushing the potato open). Fantastic! I will make these constantly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      This is truly a wonderful recipe for baked potatoes. All the previous reviews say exactly what I feel too. I will never bake potatoes any other way. I also use olive oil rather than canola, I feel it gives it a bit of extra flavor. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      These turned out great! Admittedly, I've never attempted baked potatoes in the oven before (always microwaved them...and I knew I was missing out). Anyway, I wanted to have real baked potatoes with our dinner last night, and this is the recipe I (thankfully) chose. Easy to follow method. I did skip the salt and I don't like to bake things directly on the oven rack so I put the potatoes on a foil-lined cookie sheet to bake. Ended up with tender, perfectly baked potatoes. I really enjoyed the tip about splitting them open as well. As others have stated, I'll never bake potatoes any other way again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      "Another keeper from Alton Brown's show Good Eats! I don't make baked potatoes any other way now."

      Original comment says it all... enjoy!



      Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/best-baked-potato-71933#ixzz1CIFDcW6A

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      They came out perfectly! I used my toaster oven (since I only cooked two potatoes) and had no problems with temp or time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I really enjoyed this recipe. With the salt crust, I felt like I was eating a potato from a fine dining restaurant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Loved this recipe! The directions were really good, especially #8 on how to open the potato. I never really opened a potato the right way until now! Thanks for posting, this was great!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      We paired this with steaks and asparagus for our Valentine's Day dinner and it was perfect. I made 6 potatoes and cooked it for 1.15 hours. I used EVOO instead of canola oil and served it with butter, sour cream, and green onions. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing mcb22902!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      Great recipe. Very easy and delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Perfect EveryTime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      These were good and easy to make. I used olive oil and placed the potatoes on a cookie sheet. My potatoes were huge so they took an hour and a half to cook. We all enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      I didn't even have canola oil or kosher salt, but vegetable oil and regular iodized salt worked wonders. This is so much more convenient and delicious than foil-wrapped potatoes. Alton Brown for the win!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      OMG! That was soooooo easy! And they were delicious! I never make baked potatoes in the oven because they always seemed so involved with the foil and all....so I always just did the microwave version.....NEVER again!! These were sooooo good and soooooo easy! Thank you for posting! This is AWESOME!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      A really good baked potato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      This was a very good potato. I used vegetable oil instead of Canola just because that's what we have on hand. We like our potatoes simple and flavorful and this was the answer. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      I agree..it's the best baked potato. I used olive oil because I prefer the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      Just like those delicious baked potatoes you get in restaurants! This was fabuous and I will be using this recipe from now on! Followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      I used this method to make twice-baked potatoes. My whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Yum! Made these last night with steak and they were soooo good! The salt made the potato. For a faster wake to make it what i did was poked holes in the potatoes then microwave the potatoes (2) for 10 min. then baked them for additional 10 so they were a super fast side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Wow this is really a wonderful recipe. I am so glad I stumbled onto this one. Sometimes the simplest of things are the best of things & this recipe is no exception. I just lined my oven rack with a little non stick aluminum foil & baked them directly on that. Simple & easy clean up. ;) I completely agree with another reviewer that stated that this recipe produces restaurant quality baked potatoes. Absolutely fabulous!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Baked Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes