134 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is truly a wonderful recipe for baked potatoes. All the previous reviews say exactly what I feel too. I will never bake potatoes any other way. I also use olive oil rather than canola, I feel it gives it a bit of extra flavor. Thanks for posting!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahLeap September 07, 2010

Oh my God! It works!

After years of stiff, hard baked potatoes, I am happy to say that I have produced restaurant-quality ones, thanks to this recipes. I poked 2 large russets 6 times each, then nuked them for 3 minutes, placed them on a plate and drizzled them with olive oil. Then I sprinkled them with garlic salt and put them in the toaster oven for about 35 minutes. I did the recipe's method of opening the potatoes, and it was like magic (just rip a paper towel in half--one side for each hand--to protect your hands while you are pushing the potato open). Fantastic! I will make these constantly.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman August 05, 2010

These turned out great! Admittedly, I've never attempted baked potatoes in the oven before (always microwaved them...and I knew I was missing out). Anyway, I wanted to have real baked potatoes with our dinner last night, and this is the recipe I (thankfully) chose. Easy to follow method. I did skip the salt and I don't like to bake things directly on the oven rack so I put the potatoes on a foil-lined cookie sheet to bake. Ended up with tender, perfectly baked potatoes. I really enjoyed the tip about splitting them open as well. As others have stated, I'll never bake potatoes any other way again. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts January 04, 2010

"Another keeper from Alton Brown's show Good Eats! I don't make baked potatoes any other way now."

Original comment says it all... enjoy!



Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/best-baked-potato-71933#ixzz1CIFDcW6A

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grantg January 27, 2011

They came out perfectly! I used my toaster oven (since I only cooked two potatoes) and had no problems with temp or time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat January 11, 2010

Yum! Made these last night with steak and they were soooo good! The salt made the potato. For a faster wake to make it what i did was poked holes in the potatoes then microwave the potatoes (2) for 10 min. then baked them for additional 10 so they were a super fast side!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef mommy pepitone January 12, 2012

I really enjoyed this recipe. With the salt crust, I felt like I was eating a potato from a fine dining restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyndechyme February 09, 2010

Loved this recipe! The directions were really good, especially #8 on how to open the potato. I never really opened a potato the right way until now! Thanks for posting, this was great!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes February 03, 2010

We paired this with steaks and asparagus for our Valentine's Day dinner and it was perfect. I made 6 potatoes and cooked it for 1.15 hours. I used EVOO instead of canola oil and served it with butter, sour cream, and green onions. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing mcb22902!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flaquis from S. Ca February 16, 2009

Great recipe. Very easy and delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SKEMommy March 10, 2014
Best Baked Potato