30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These doughnuts are great! I sent some with my boyfriend when he went to visit a mutual friend and he said they tasted like mini elephant ears! The key to making this recipe work is to ADD VANILLA EXTRACT. I put a little over a teaspoon into the full recipe (36 doughnuts) the second time I made them and the reviews were much better: more moist, better flavor.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ballantd August 05, 2010

First of all, cake like is exactly right. This is not a doughnut. My friends and I decided to call it a "snikerdoodle snack cake". It's more of a snack/short cake consistency. Done in regular size/medium muffin pans...one recipe yielded alot...so unless you want a whole buch don't double the recipe. Taste was ok but wasn't impressive.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrawberryParfait July 31, 2007

this was very easy to make. I used equal instead of the sugar and it came out very good.my family taught it was very delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcia bunyak March 02, 2004

I was really excited by this recipe because of the 4* rating and really cute picture. Really dissapointed - nothing at all like doughnuts and rather more like an incredibly sweet scone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my_dunh March 29, 2015

My son loves doughnuts and wanted me to make them for his birthday. The recipe looked tasty enough, until you get to the direction which do NOT reflection the picture given. Instead of getting the doughnuts with a hole, I got muffins and a bummed kiddo... and I now get to go look for another recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 17, 2015

These were amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel N. January 30, 2015

I made these in my donut pans and they were very good. Need to cut recipe in half next time, though. Prefer to make and eat rather than freeze some (although that's not a bad thing, especially when packing lunches). Anyway, my family requested plain, baked donuts and these fit the bill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
menzrob June 08, 2014

Like so make other reviewers of this recipe I did not fully read the instructions, and took a hardy leap into the mix before looking. Once I did realize these were not going to look anything like the photo (As I don't have a doughnut pan, and I don't think most people do either) I had to make last second decision on what to do with these things. StrawberryParfait's review gave me the idea to turn them into coffeecake muffins. Good base recipe, but you'd get better reviews of you changed that default pic to something more muffin-like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VelcrowMistress February 26, 2014

This recipe is absolutely phenomenal! I received a donut pan for Christmas so my friend and I decided to try it out using this recipe--and we are so glad that we did! The doughnuts were the perfect texture, not to dry or too cake-y. We finished them with a basic glaze and dipped half in a chocolate peanut butter icing and the other half in a white chocolate coconut icing. They received rave reviews from my family. I will definitely be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amelia C. January 20, 2014

Very disappointing - picture and recipe are misleading. These are cupcakes, that's all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
washedone November 23, 2013
Best Baked Doughnuts Ever