Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Baked Doughnuts Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Baked Doughnuts Ever

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2010

      These doughnuts are great! I sent some with my boyfriend when he went to visit a mutual friend and he said they tasted like mini elephant ears! The key to making this recipe work is to ADD VANILLA EXTRACT. I put a little over a teaspoon into the full recipe (36 doughnuts) the second time I made them and the reviews were much better: more moist, better flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      First of all, cake like is exactly right. This is not a doughnut. My friends and I decided to call it a "snikerdoodle snack cake". It's more of a snack/short cake consistency. Done in regular size/medium muffin pans...one recipe yielded alot...so unless you want a whole buch don't double the recipe. Taste was ok but wasn't impressive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      this was very easy to make. I used equal instead of the sugar and it came out very good.my family taught it was very delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      I made these in my donut pans and they were very good. Need to cut recipe in half next time, though. Prefer to make and eat rather than freeze some (although that's not a bad thing, especially when packing lunches). Anyway, my family requested plain, baked donuts and these fit the bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Like so make other reviewers of this recipe I did not fully read the instructions, and took a hardy leap into the mix before looking. Once I did realize these were not going to look anything like the photo (As I don't have a doughnut pan, and I don't think most people do either) I had to make last second decision on what to do with these things. StrawberryParfait's review gave me the idea to turn them into coffeecake muffins. Good base recipe, but you'd get better reviews of you changed that default pic to something more muffin-like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      This recipe is absolutely phenomenal! I received a donut pan for Christmas so my friend and I decided to try it out using this recipe--and we are so glad that we did! The doughnuts were the perfect texture, not to dry or too cake-y. We finished them with a basic glaze and dipped half in a chocolate peanut butter icing and the other half in a white chocolate coconut icing. They received rave reviews from my family. I will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      Very disappointing - picture and recipe are misleading. These are cupcakes, that's all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      This recipe is TERRIBLE....very dry and they just fall apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      Make these all the time. The family loves them. I halve the recipe though and use the full 1/2 cup of butter (simply an error in reading the recipe originally but I like the added flavor) additionally I use a full teaspoon of nutmeg and no cinnamon. They are just as great served as a plain cake doughnut as they are dipped in butter. I think tomorrow I will try making a maple syrup glaze for them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      My family loves these doughnuts. I've made them a couple times now. I do add vanilla as other reviewers recommended, and I also sub brown sugar for about 1/4 cup of the white sugar. I usually use part buttermilk or even all buttermilk for the milk. I've even added cocoa powder and a little chocolate syrup to make chocolate doughnuts. I frost the doughnuts with maple frosting or chocolate frosting and add sprinkles to some. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      These were nothing like a doughnut...... great for cupcakes though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      OMG these are AMAZING!!! I did use vanilla extract as a previous review suggested. I didn't have any nutmeg either, so that was omitted. I also cooked them in an electric mini donut maker instead of the traditional oven method.
      I tried a few in powdered sugar and quickly switched back to butter, sugar/cinnamon.. I ate at least 6 before putting them away. I had to stop myself so my kids could have them for breakfast ;) I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      These doughnuts were delicious! I added the extract as a previous reviewer suggested and they came out really good! I have to say, I didn't try it without, but will continue to do it with the vanilla as it probably does add to the yumminess of the doughnut. Will make again, but this time double the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Not like doughnuts at all, lol! But very light and fluffy! I added some orange and vanilla extract to the batter, it came out very tasty. Used the glaze from Krispy Kreme Doughnuts Copycat, adding some orange extract and extra vanilla, it's a really yummy combination. Would not recommend baking them on a cookie sheet in an attempt to achieve a biscuit shape...they came out like giant hand-sized cookies instead lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I thought the recipe would have a thicker dough like batter and I didn't have a muffin pan. I dumped the batter in to a cake pan and it made a great coffee cake. My hubby loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      These were nothing like a doughnut. They did however make a good tasting snack that my husband gobbled up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I've made this recipe several times now and always to rave reviews! It's light, subtly flavored and totally delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      My 10-year old daughter chose this recipe to make and had alot of fun with them. We made 1/3 with cinnamon/sugar, 1/3 with plain frosting, and 1/3 with chocolate frosting, for a total of 21. The actual "donut" could use a little more flavor, but over all a good tasting, fun recipe, thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I chose this recipe because I liked the fact that it had 1/2 cup of butter which made it a very light version. On the positive side, the doughnuts worked beautifully and the recipe made exactly 36. I didn't coat them in butter and cinnamon sugar but used Kitten's Icing Easy Bakery-Style Doughnut Topping Glaze instead. These were very nice but you should keep in mind that they are not a yeast dough fried in oil so they won't have the same texture or flavour as a normal doughnut but I found these a very acceptable substitute if a little cake-like and the kids devoured them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I made these in doughnut pans and I got 1 dozen big doughnuts. They are very light textured but not super big on flavor, but that is easy to remedy. From start to finish it took me 30 minutes. I will definatly keep this recipe close at hand for a very quick morning snack. Thanks, Dian

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Baked Doughnuts Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (1272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.2
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    41%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 130.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites