Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Applesauce Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Applesauce Ever

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I love the complexity the orange juice and vanilla add to the flavor. I like my applesauce sweet, so I added about 3/4 c. brown sugar plus about 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. I also made this on the stovetop, so it was done in around an hour. The second time, I used a large pot and tripled the recipe to have some for canning. I used a mixture of different apples: Jonathan, MacIntosh, Golden Delicious and Granny Smith, and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I had some apples that were getting a bit mealy and I thought they might still work as applesauce....I added some cinnamon and brown sugar and this WAS the best applesauce ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I love this recipe. I make several batches after we go to the apple orchard in the fall. We use a lot of applesauce as an egg replacer in baking; this is applesauce particularly excellent in muffins. I always use it for Apple Streusel Muffins, and it makes them perfect! Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This was great! It only took about 5 hours, and we had it poured over ice-cream. Was yummy! [Made for Fall 08 Pick-A-Chef]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Thank you for posting this. It is very hard to find appelsauce recipes with no sugar or sugar substitute. We loved this. I added the OJ and Vanilla together and mine was done after five hours. Tasty, healthy and dee-lish - my kinda recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      We LOVED this applesauce! I agree, mine was probably done sooner than the recipe stated. Made as directed with some less than stellar golden delicious apples. This recipe saved the day and turned our tastless apples into a yummy applesauce. I added just a smidge more vanilla. DH ate his cold on buttered bread. Although I looked at him like he was crazy, after one bite I did the same thing. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      I took this applesauce to a church potluck, and one of my friends said, "I don't normally like applesauce, but this is the best applesauce ever!" The recipe really lives up to its name. It was really easy to make; the only time-consuming part was peeling the apples. The applesauce cooked faster than the recipe indicated. After 2 1/2 hours on high, it was done. I added cinnamon and brown sugar for extra flavor, and it was delicious! This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      This is wonderful! I added a tsp or so of cinnamon and the aroma that filled the house was so great! I didn't cook it for as long as recomended though. I cooked for about 4 hours and then added vanilla; then cooked about 30 more minutes. Maybe my 'high' setting was higher than yours but I wondered if I should have done 5 hours on lo??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      Very easy, and also had the perfect flavor and texture! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      This was very good! I put the apples in the crockpot at bedtime, and had warm apple sauce for breakfast. I put it in the food processor and just pulsed to smooth it out a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Applesauce Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.9
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    86%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 34.7 g
    138%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites