57 Reviews

This is delicious!! I made as directed with the exception of ginger, I didn't have any... also I did as another reviewer suggested and added an extra cup of apples. This is easy and fast to make. I was looking for something to do with my apples other than applebutter, I'm not much of a fan of it. I was extremely happy with the recipe and will be making another batch within a day or two!! Thanks mich for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu October 14, 2012

Absolutely delicious! Since I'm in high altitude, I water bathed the jam for approximately 18 minutes. I used my Pampered Chef food chopper to chop the apples into smaller pieces, which cooked nice and tender . . melt in your mouth yum! A keeper for sure!! BTW, I used the four cups white sugar/1 cup brown sugar -> perfect for us. However, I shared this recipe with a friend, and she preferred 1 cup white sugar/1 cup brown sugar. She pureed the apple chunks in a blender. Hers came out good as well, tasting a bit like apple butter. LOVE this recipe, thanks so much for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie November 23, 2009

Really wonderful! The jam was dark, but good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedi777 November 13, 2009

My guys absolutely loved this! I got almost 7 half pints out of this and one is almost gone already. I just made it yesterday. I used granny smith apples. I will be making this one again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon September 21, 2009

The family and, I really love this jam they were not big on the nutmeg and ginger, but they couldn't even tast it! The only thing that I would say is that for people at higher altuteds to boil the jam for at lest 10 to 15 min. I did the one min boil and it was still not very thick. I will make this for x-mass!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChOw_TiMe September 07, 2009

I gave this recipe to a friend and he brought me 4 jars of it yesterday. It is amazing!! I love it! it's so addictive! I've never been this crazy about a jam before but I have to make this for Christmas gifts. SO GOOD!!! It tastes just like an apple pie! My daughter and I have been sneaking bites on crackers. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mika G. August 12, 2009

My sister and I discovered canning last summer. It was 100 degrees at my Moms. Old house - windows did not open -and the fans would blow out the pilot light on stove- So we suffered the heat and continued canning beans, salsa, pickles and jam. I have to say that this jam was worth every ounce of suffering (haha) They were included in gift baskets and had several requests for a repeat next year :) It is a keeper! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle January 04, 2009

I wish I would have read the reviews that suggested to chop the apples small before I made this. I will definitely do that next time. I also left out a cup of the white sugar and was still too sweet for my taste. Great flavors though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I*Needa*Chef December 21, 2008

OHHHHH this is so good!! I followed the recipe exactly and this is so delicious. I got 7 half pints out of this plus about 1/2 of a jar which I just put into my fridge. I've been picking away at the jar in my fridge all morning. very addictive :) I will definitely find many uses for this. Thanks for this amazing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 01, 2008

Wow- this jam is AWESOME! I followed the recipe but added an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I also stirred it for five minutes as another reviewer had suggested to keep the fruit from floating. I diced the apples fairly fine also. This is KEEPER! Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flourgirl51 October 26, 2008
Best Apple Pie Jam