57 Reviews

Wow....what a great recipe! I made a batch yesterday and it was great. I had more apples and jars so today I made another batch. This time I used Chef on the Coast's idea of adding cranberries. I also added 1 c. finely chopped walnuts. I used a veggie chopper to dice the apples into tiny pieces. It worked great. Tastes like apple pie without the crust. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie July 06, 2008

I'm another first time "jammer" (and reviewer) and this is positively marvelous! A dream to make and [it will be] a delight to give along with gifts. It's so easy to make, tastes true to it's claim and is absolutely stunning to admire when you're done. Out of tastebud preferences -I used 2 cups of brown sugar and only 1 cup of white sugar, lime juice instead of the lemon, and I used a bit more of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger- but only from knowing how spicy we like things here. Definitely worth 5 stars, or more!!! Thanks sooooo much!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ronanlouise June 08, 2008

This is great! Very easy to make & very tasty, especially with the tart apples (I used Granny Smiths). I also added 1/4 teaspoon each of allspice & ground cloves for extra spice. I'm sure I'll be having to make more of this soon as 6 half-pints won't last long!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtine November 07, 2007

Brilliant! I just kept cooking it until it passed the traditional jam test and it's been fantastic. So great on a whole wheat tortilla with peanut butter. Even better inside a grilled cheese with sliced apples and swiss cheese. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
auntie shelley October 02, 2007

Wow great recipe. Fantastic flavor!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hope2day October 11, 2014

Delicious!!! I would use a little more apples, and cut them smaller next time, but very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elflngchld December 06, 2013

Love this recipe. The hubby and I ate a whole half pint in one day. I made it exactly as written using Jonathan apples and canned it in half pint jars. It tastes just like an apply pie!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g'ma w September 21, 2013

The apple trees here on the Ranch have me with an over abundance of apples so I went searching for ways to use them and decided to try this recipe. OMG!!! So glad I did, it's so easy and turned out great. I pretty much followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1 teaspoon of all spice; do wish I'd followed other reviews about upping the amount of apples but didn't want to take a chance of making it so the jam wouldn't set. As it came out it was perfect with that yummy apple pie flavor. I got 6 half pints as stated plus one extra (it had less apples, but still has the flavor) I'm going to make another batch of these in the small jars to use with my Christmas baskets this year, it's that good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 31, 2013

Completely delicious, steps were easy to follow and it set perfectly. For those in Aus, the 'Jam Setter' stuff you get in the sugar aisle worked just fine and the amount is perfect. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne August 31, 2013

This is great. I tried the trick of stirring and all to get the apples to float down to the bottom and it didn't work, but still good nonetheless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookfor5kids hubs March 10, 2013
Best Apple Pie Jam