57 Reviews

Great recipe. Thanks for sharing. I took the tip to cut the apples very small. I tried the "stir for 5 mins after boiling" trick to get the apples to stay suspended in the jam, didn't work for me. Easy enough to stir the jam when you open a jar. I didn't like the goo to apple ratio, so i upped the apples some and reduced the sugars by 25% in my second batch with excellent results.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny kitchen, big chef November 02, 2009

Another 1st timer to jam and this was easy to make and super tasty too! I used granny smith apples and my batch made exactly 6 - 8oz. jars. I look forward to making several more batches to put in gift bags along with english muffins for hostess gifts this holiday season. To keep the fruit from floating to the top of the jar, I stirred for 5 minutes after cooking and before putting in jars - this hint was on the canning board and I found it to work. Great recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW December 04, 2007

Yes indeed this a delicious apple jam. I pretty much followed the recipe except I put my apples in a 4 cup measuring cup and had it heaping with apples then added the water to the 4 cup mark. I then put all of the ingredients in my pot except the pectin and sugars and cooked the apples a bit to soften them up (probably about 10 minutes). I then added the pectin, brought it to a boil for 1 minute then added the sugars and brought it back to a hard boil that couldn't be stirred down and boiled for 1 minute. I removed it from the fire and let it sit for 5 minutes stirring often before I finished processing in my sterilized jars. I, too, like other posters chopped my apples in small pieces. I can't wait to try this on biscuits, ice cream, pound cake or just on the end of a spoon - DELICIOUS!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby August 30, 2009

Awesome recipe! Here are some tips i used based on other reviews (and a few ideas of my own) that made this recipe come out perfectly! FIRST, use a 4 cup measuring cup. They're cheap and easy to find at any grocery store. Put the lemon juice and about half a cup of water in the measuring cup. This will keep your apples from turning brown if you go slow. SECOND, cut the apples very small. I cut them so they were a little smaller than a pencil eraser. So, they were roughly 3/16 to 1/4 inch cubes. THIRD, bring the apples, water, lemon juice, and pectin to a boil. Boil for about 2 minutes before moving on. FOURTH, after adding the sugar and brown sugar, bring it to a boil and let it cook for 6-7 minutes. FIFTH, when you're ready to pour it into your hot jars, wait 3 minutes. Just let it rest a bit and give it a stir before ladling into the jars. I've done this recipe 3 times today and by doing these things, I've come out with perfect jam! The apples are distributed evenly throughout the jar and the texture is perfect! Good luck! You're going to love this jam!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary W. October 31, 2014

I'm another first time canner and I was certainly apprehensive to say the least. This recipe turned out beautifully and I think the people receiving these jars will definitely enjoy them. I used granny smith apples like other users and I assumed I should peel the apple even though the recipe didn't specify. I also stirred the jam for 5 minutes after taking it off the heat to try and help w/ the floating apple issues and it worked. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes December 15, 2011

absolutely amazing. Try it in a biscuit[the kind that come in a roll. Just pat out each biscuit put a teaspoon of jelly fold and seal . Kids loved them ,esp the ones i sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnaw.v. mcguire October 31, 2007

I once, again, canned and lived to tell about it. What will be next...Dancing With the Stars?!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 02, 2012

I made several pints last week and after friends did some "taste testing" I'm going to have to make some more tonight! This is a great recipe. I didn't change a thing. It set up beautifully. Thanks for this addition to my "tried and true" recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
savedmarcinekmom July 01, 2009

Yumm-o!! I have to agree with everyone else this is the best ever jam. The only change I made was I didnt have any lemon juice so I used lime juice. It worked great. It set up beautifully and I'm fixing to make another batch before I go to bed tonight. A neighbor to my parents gave me all the apples off his property they dont look the best but they sure do make some darn good jam. I will be making this every year and putting in Christmas baskets and presents for the kids teachers. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv September 01, 2008

This is very tasty and oh so easy to make. I also used Granny Smith apples, chopped quite small. I'd thought about grating the apple, but decided against it. It might have been more like mush then. Of course.....I might give it a try next time. I added maybe a bit too much cinnamon, but that's okay. Ginger I'm not fond of so left that out. All in all.....it's really good. I stirred for about 5 minutes once I removed it from the heat, and that took care of any floating fruit. Set up beautifully too! The whole house smelled like a bakery. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 August 17, 2008
Best Apple Pie Jam