Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Apple Pie Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Apple Pie Jam

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2009

      Great recipe. Thanks for sharing. I took the tip to cut the apples very small. I tried the "stir for 5 mins after boiling" trick to get the apples to stay suspended in the jam, didn't work for me. Easy enough to stir the jam when you open a jar. I didn't like the goo to apple ratio, so i upped the apples some and reduced the sugars by 25% in my second batch with excellent results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Another 1st timer to jam and this was easy to make and super tasty too! I used granny smith apples and my batch made exactly 6 - 8oz. jars. I look forward to making several more batches to put in gift bags along with english muffins for hostess gifts this holiday season. To keep the fruit from floating to the top of the jar, I stirred for 5 minutes after cooking and before putting in jars - this hint was on the canning board and I found it to work. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Yes indeed this a delicious apple jam. I pretty much followed the recipe except I put my apples in a 4 cup measuring cup and had it heaping with apples then added the water to the 4 cup mark. I then put all of the ingredients in my pot except the pectin and sugars and cooked the apples a bit to soften them up (probably about 10 minutes). I then added the pectin, brought it to a boil for 1 minute then added the sugars and brought it back to a hard boil that couldn't be stirred down and boiled for 1 minute. I removed it from the fire and let it sit for 5 minutes stirring often before I finished processing in my sterilized jars. I, too, like other posters chopped my apples in small pieces. I can't wait to try this on biscuits, ice cream, pound cake or just on the end of a spoon - DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      I'm another first time canner and I was certainly apprehensive to say the least. This recipe turned out beautifully and I think the people receiving these jars will definitely enjoy them. I used granny smith apples like other users and I assumed I should peel the apple even though the recipe didn't specify. I also stirred the jam for 5 minutes after taking it off the heat to try and help w/ the floating apple issues and it worked. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      absolutely amazing. Try it in a biscuit[the kind that come in a roll. Just pat out each biscuit put a teaspoon of jelly fold and seal . Kids loved them ,esp the ones i sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2014

      Awesome recipe! Here are some tips i used based on other reviews (and a few ideas of my own) that made this recipe come out perfectly! FIRST, use a 4 cup measuring cup. They're cheap and easy to find at any grocery store. Put the lemon juice and about half a cup of water in the measuring cup. This will keep your apples from turning brown if you go slow. SECOND, cut the apples very small. I cut them so they were a little smaller than a pencil eraser. So, they were roughly 3/16 to 1/4 inch cubes. THIRD, bring the apples, water, lemon juice, and pectin to a boil. Boil for about 2 minutes before moving on. FOURTH, after adding the sugar and brown sugar, bring it to a boil and let it cook for 6-7 minutes. FIFTH, when you're ready to pour it into your hot jars, wait 3 minutes. Just let it rest a bit and give it a stir before ladling into the jars. I've done this recipe 3 times today and by doing these things, I've come out with perfect jam! The apples are distributed evenly throughout the jar and the texture is perfect! Good luck! You're going to love this jam!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      I once, again, canned and lived to tell about it. What will be next...Dancing With the Stars?!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      I made several pints last week and after friends did some "taste testing" I'm going to have to make some more tonight! This is a great recipe. I didn't change a thing. It set up beautifully. Thanks for this addition to my "tried and true" recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Yumm-o!! I have to agree with everyone else this is the best ever jam. The only change I made was I didnt have any lemon juice so I used lime juice. It worked great. It set up beautifully and I'm fixing to make another batch before I go to bed tonight. A neighbor to my parents gave me all the apples off his property they dont look the best but they sure do make some darn good jam. I will be making this every year and putting in Christmas baskets and presents for the kids teachers. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      This is very tasty and oh so easy to make. I also used Granny Smith apples, chopped quite small. I'd thought about grating the apple, but decided against it. It might have been more like mush then. Of course.....I might give it a try next time. I added maybe a bit too much cinnamon, but that's okay. Ginger I'm not fond of so left that out. All in all.....it's really good. I stirred for about 5 minutes once I removed it from the heat, and that took care of any floating fruit. Set up beautifully too! The whole house smelled like a bakery. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Wow....what a great recipe! I made a batch yesterday and it was great. I had more apples and jars so today I made another batch. This time I used Chef on the Coast's idea of adding cranberries. I also added 1 c. finely chopped walnuts. I used a veggie chopper to dice the apples into tiny pieces. It worked great. Tastes like apple pie without the crust. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I'm another first time "jammer" (and reviewer) and this is positively marvelous! A dream to make and [it will be] a delight to give along with gifts. It's so easy to make, tastes true to it's claim and is absolutely stunning to admire when you're done. Out of tastebud preferences -I used 2 cups of brown sugar and only 1 cup of white sugar, lime juice instead of the lemon, and I used a bit more of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger- but only from knowing how spicy we like things here. Definitely worth 5 stars, or more!!! Thanks sooooo much!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This is great! Very easy to make & very tasty, especially with the tart apples (I used Granny Smiths). I also added 1/4 teaspoon each of allspice & ground cloves for extra spice. I'm sure I'll be having to make more of this soon as 6 half-pints won't last long!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Brilliant! I just kept cooking it until it passed the traditional jam test and it's been fantastic. So great on a whole wheat tortilla with peanut butter. Even better inside a grilled cheese with sliced apples and swiss cheese. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      Wow great recipe. Fantastic flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Delicious!!! I would use a little more apples, and cut them smaller next time, but very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Love this recipe. The hubby and I ate a whole half pint in one day. I made it exactly as written using Jonathan apples and canned it in half pint jars. It tastes just like an apply pie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      The apple trees here on the Ranch have me with an over abundance of apples so I went searching for ways to use them and decided to try this recipe. OMG!!! So glad I did, it's so easy and turned out great. I pretty much followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1 teaspoon of all spice; do wish I'd followed other reviews about upping the amount of apples but didn't want to take a chance of making it so the jam wouldn't set. As it came out it was perfect with that yummy apple pie flavor. I got 6 half pints as stated plus one extra (it had less apples, but still has the flavor) I'm going to make another batch of these in the small jars to use with my Christmas baskets this year, it's that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Completely delicious, steps were easy to follow and it set perfectly. For those in Aus, the 'Jam Setter' stuff you get in the sugar aisle worked just fine and the amount is perfect. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      This is great. I tried the trick of stirring and all to get the apples to float down to the bottom and it didn't work, but still good nonetheless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Apple Pie Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (1602 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1468.0
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    48%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 3.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 69.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 378.0 g
    126%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 354.8 g
    1419%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes