219 Reviews

I have been on recipe zaar a while and I have never reveiwed a recipe, but this one "takes the cake" so to speak... I also followed the advice of fellow reviewers and cut the sugar 1 1/2 cups and also used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 of apple sauce. This is a great go-to recipe. I almost always have the ingredients on hand. My family is not really into sweets, so I wanted to try something new and they ALL raved on it...I should have made two! Easy easy...I could just go on and on! I make it a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogchef August 10, 2009

Made this cake.. Just changed a couple things.. Instead of just fresh cut up apples i used dehydrated apple chips that were soaked in apple cider sugar and cinnamon and instead of the apple juice i used the cider that i marinated the apples in before dehydrating them. I gave a piece to my roommate who said he didnt like apple cake and he took one bite and couldnt stop.. LOL. It was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandrakm July 21, 2009

This is a wonderful cake! Reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 or 1 2/3 cups makes it perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes July 15, 2009

Excellent moist, dense caramely cake. Everybody loved it and it was super easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purplepen July 05, 2009

Well this recipe is appropriately titled!!!! We really enjoyed this. I did need the entire 50 minutes baking time -- and perhaps could have added another 3 or 5 minutes. I also added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. The glaze is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie May 20, 2009

I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon & replaced 1/2 of the oil with apple sauce. This was a big hit. Shared with friends & everyone enjoyed it. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej May 06, 2009

This was way too sweet for my taste. If I were to make this again, I would add some spices & use tarter (green?) apples. On the 1st day it was way too oily & sweet. The next day I only had half a slice & that's just the right amount or it gets too sweet/greasy for me! Try a sharper apple as I found the sugary glaze drowned out the taste of the apple. This cake freezes well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustGemsOfNZ April 24, 2009

This is so good! I made the following changes. I used half oil and half applesauce (homemade sugar free), this decrease the oil taste some were talking about. The cake wasn't oily to me. I added cinnamon and nutmeg too. The sauce is amazing with this cake I doubled it and used about 3/4 of it. I also decreased the sugar by 1/2 c. The cake was not too sweet and super moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha in Ut March 06, 2009

Excellent!! I love apple cake and am always searching for the best recipe. Well my search is over. My oven is often unreliable in terms of temperature and when i took it out at 50 min i could tell it was slightly overdone. I was worried but no need it was quite moist despite this. Like other reviews i added cinnamon and nutmeg. Everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen February 16, 2009

I'm sorry I can't agree with the other reviewers on this one. It came out way too dense for me. I was looking for a moist, light, fluffy cake. It had okay flavor, but not what I wanted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance February 15, 2009
Best Apple Cake