Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    215 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 215

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2008

      This was the first recipe I tried on Zaar. The cake is amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      We loved the cake. It reminded me of the cake my g'ma used to make. DH loved the sauce I drizzled over. Thank you for an old fashioned recipe from my childhood. Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      This is the yummiest apple cake you will ever eat. My husband said when I review it to tell you he gives it 6 stars! You will not be disappointed in this lucious cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Fabulous cake!! It is truly addictive and hard to walk away from. As suggested by other reviewers, I used half the oil and replaced it with apple sauce. When I make it again, I'll double the sauce recipe because it is just too delicious! Thanks for the amazing recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      found this very easy and a great sweet tasty pudding. will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      I followed the recipe and mine turned out very wet and soggy. None of my family liked it much. The caramel flavor was little bland for our liking and the cake texture was very gooey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This was a fantastic cake that I will make again. I did take another reviewers suggestion and used 1/4 cup apple juice and 1/4 cup rye and it was a nice addition and gave the cake some additional depth. I left everything else the same and served with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This cake is KILLER!!!!!! I made it on Wedsnesday afternoon and served it that night with vanilla ice cream on top. I used a straw to poke holes for the caramel sauce to seep through. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon and otherwise made no changes. We only finished 1/2 on weds. so I brought the other half to work on Friday. It totally improved in taste and texture. I work at a cooking school and everyone there knows a special dessert when they taste it. Everyone flipped over how yummy this was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I only made the cake part, but it was wonderful. I made one small substitution - rye for all the apple juice. Highly recommend that change... it's still very apple-y.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This was amazing. I took the suggestions about the oil and substituted 1/2 for applesauce. I did pour the caramel sauce over the cake and soaked right in. Then, later, when it was time to serve it, I made a second batch of the caramel sauce and spooned it warm over the cake. MMMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I hate to be the dissenting vote but followed to a T and it was disappointing. The topping was great but the cake lacked flavor. Easy enough to put together though and none left over...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This was OK. Everyone said it was good. I do have an apple cake that I like better that has some spices in it. The sauce on that one is similar but served warm. I'll probably use my other recipe from now on. But it was nice to try something else. This one has a great nutty taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Marvelous. I always try to make dessert a little healthier, so I cut back the sugar by 1/2 cup, substituted half the oil with applesauce, and half the butter with Smart Balance. I didn't have any cream, so I used the same amount of fat-free evaporated milk. The sauce was a little runny, but still delicious. This one is a keeper - delicious with vanilla ice cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I usually shy away from cakes that aren't made with cake mix, b/c i find they don't come close- HOWever, i was convinced by all the reviews and the yuMMy photo (thanks MarieAlice!) I'm SO glad i tried it, this cake is marvelous! I baked half in a 9-inch square pan at 325 in 30 minutes in my convection oven, and the other half in 12 muffins for about 20 minutes. And the caramel topping!! I couldn't stop licking!! This is a great, moist, dense cake- most definetely cake mix quality! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I can't disagree with the name of this cake--I have actually had a few people tell me it's the best, bar none, even including gooey chocolate cakes, that they've ever had. I added 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves and a good amount of fresh-grated nutmeg (no cinnamon--that would mask the lovely fresh flavour), and used pecans in place of walnuts. Oh, and I used Magners Cider instead of apple juice--then had the rest of the bottle over ice while I waited for the cake to cook! Just a great, easy cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This is fanastic! It definitely deserves its high reviews! The only change I made was to add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. I don't normally like nuts in my sweet things, but they added just the right amount of crunch. I could eat the entire pan by myself!!! (though my DH and whoever else is around strenuously objects to that...as does my figure!) Thank you for such an incredible recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Really a feel good type of cake. It reminds me somewhat of a pineapple upside down cake but with apples. similar consistency to the cake. I wanted more of the caramel drizzle though. I might just make up some more in the morning and serve it warm with the cake for breakfast. Very light and fluffy! Thanks Rose of Sharon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      MMM so good! I didn't have the apple juice, so I just used water. I also used 1/2 applesauce/ 1/2 oil and left out the nuts due to allergies. The sauce makes this one a favorite! Will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Loved it, moist and very appley and caramelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This is wonderfully decadent:)) I can hardly wait to share this with family and friends. This will definitely be our dessert of 2008. And the outside edges are the very best. I did replace half the oil with applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.3
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    45%
    Total Fat 32.3 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 262.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 55.7 g
    223%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes