216 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very moist cake. I substituted pecans, because that is what I had on hand. I also used half applesauce and half oil. LOVED the glaze. Like other reviewers, I think it would be great over ice cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 28, 2010

This is my only apple cake recipe from now on. It is everything and more we expected from it. Followed recipe exactly as we love everything in it. Had a light dinner so we could enjoy dessert. Priorities. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 February 26, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! We made this for Valentine's Day and it turned out wonderfully! The flavors of the nuts, the apples, and the sauce really complement each other well. We also used pecans instead of walnuts. My children loved the sauce so much that they were licking up the spots where it had spilled on the table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bookworm M February 14, 2010

Great cake that is perfect for breakfast or a snack. We enjoyed it with coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog February 07, 2010

This is a fantastic recipe. My husband of ]45 years says it was the best cake he has ever eaten. I used Mac's for the apples, and dark brown sugar for the glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon777 December 08, 2009

Dense, sweet, rich, and lovely even with some modifications to make it gluten free... I used GF flour plus 3 tsp xanthan gum, added a quarter cup of yogurt, and subbed milk for the apple juice (just because I didn't have any juice.) I had to add a little extra milk to get the texture right but it cooked up beautifully and the sauce was great. I did add a little cinnamon and next time I would cut back the sugar by at least 1/2 a cup but that's just my taste. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulamonster September 27, 2009

OMG-I could not stop eating this. It was so moist and even my ILs asked for the recipe. I didn't even make the glaze. These are my subs: cut back the sugar to 1.5c, used .5c oil and .5c whole milk, added 1 tsp cinnamon. Next time I may cut back the oil more and use applesauce as others have done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EasyCooking September 21, 2009

I have been on recipe zaar a while and I have never reveiwed a recipe, but this one "takes the cake" so to speak... I also followed the advice of fellow reviewers and cut the sugar 1 1/2 cups and also used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 of apple sauce. This is a great go-to recipe. I almost always have the ingredients on hand. My family is not really into sweets, so I wanted to try something new and they ALL raved on it...I should have made two! Easy easy...I could just go on and on! I make it a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogchef August 10, 2009

Made this cake.. Just changed a couple things.. Instead of just fresh cut up apples i used dehydrated apple chips that were soaked in apple cider sugar and cinnamon and instead of the apple juice i used the cider that i marinated the apples in before dehydrating them. I gave a piece to my roommate who said he didnt like apple cake and he took one bite and couldnt stop.. LOL. It was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandrakm July 21, 2009

This is a wonderful cake! Reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 or 1 2/3 cups makes it perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes July 15, 2009
Best Apple Cake