Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    215 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 215

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2008

      Already so as always I ended up with tons more apples then I could use in desperate search for new and tasty recipes that helped me use some of these apples. I found this cake and had to try it. I made mine as directed with the exception of nuts which I didnt have on hand, used bundt pan and rather then whipping cream I used heavy cream. The cake is definitively very dense. It is not light and fluffy like most cakes but the taste is by all means not too sweet or over powerful. The recipe is very easy and straight forward to follow through with and the aroma while it bakes is nevertheless worth the time. The cake baked up to a wonderful golden color and got tons of oohs and aah from my guys when it came out of the oven. I made the sauce at the same time I baked the cake and let it sit in worm spot on the stove while the cake finished baking and cooled. One batch of the sauce was more then enough for the cake, we used the left over sauce over ice cream. None of us thought the cake was over sweet or that it was missing anything. Fabules cake, super easy to make and it looks like it took forever to make... in my opinion its a winner and a keeper. Thanks Rose for awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Excellent apple cake! I made it in a bundt pan and it turned out fine. I'll definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      This is good but VERY sweet. My husband isn't a huge fan of overly sweet things so I probably won't make it again but I'm sure the guys at work will devour it, so I'm sending the rest with him on Monday. I'd eat it myself but I'm being good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      My 9 year old son and I just finished making this and we tried our first pieces. We love it. Ryan especially loved it since he helped to make it. I usually don't bake sweets but this caught my eye. A great rainy day project for the two of us and he can't wait to make it again. We changed nothing about this recipe. My husband will be home tomorrow and I can't wait until he tries it. He loves that I like to cook but wishes I would bake desserts. I usually buy them. We made short work of dicing the apples with my vidalia onion chopper. If you've never tried this chopper, you should. Kids love it and it really simplifies prep work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      I made the 6 serving version of this cake except without the walnuts because I wanted a less dense cake and used two small/med eggs instead of 1 1/2 large. I also used Granny Smith apples, a pinch of cardamom and cinnamon, a 1/4 tsp of lime juice, and a tbsp or so of vanilla sugar. The resulting cake was moist and not too dense, a bit like a muffin/bread in texture, and tender from all that sugar. My first taste after cooling an hour, I thought the cake was too sweet and wanted more apple and tartness, but like many have mentioned, this cake tastes better after it's cooled completely or the next day. The buttery flavor of the glaze and the sweetness of the cake mellows out. Next time I think I'll chop the apples less fine, add half a tsp of lime and leave out the cinnamon. Nonetheless, the cake disappeared pretty quickly when usually my family aren't too big on sweets and cakes. I loved how this was quick and easy, no need to use a mixer or fuss with a frosting. I used a 9 inch springform and baked for 30 minutes with the convection on in my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      i can't believe i didn't rate this recipe already! i just recommended this cake to someone, it's absolutely fantastic! I sent some w/ the guys on their hunting trip last year and they're STILL talking about this cake! I've made it using pears and apples and both ways are just wonderful. i like to poke holes in the top w/ a chopstick so the sauce can really soak in. otherwise it seems to run to the sides and the middle doesn't have as much gooey goodness as the outer pieces. ;) i can't wait till the apples on our tree are ripe, i'm going to literally stuff myself w/ this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I made this twice recently. Once for church coffee hour and once for work (I work in a small restaurant), I substituted zuchini for the apple. Using a large zuchini, peel and scrape out the seeds, and dice up. Put into a saucepan with some lemon juice (not a lot), cook until tender. I added about 1 tsp cinnamon to them after they were tender. I didn't add the apple juice, as I had extra juice from the lemon juice. I baked it about the same time. I substituted carmel ice cream topping for the topping to save time, actually liked it better that way. Very Yummy either way. Look forward to trying it with actual apples when in season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      My family and I really loved this moist cake, but since there was no time mentioned for the sauce that goes on top, I found the sugar hadn't totally melted. It made the cake too sweet. So we cut off a layer from the top to get rid of the sauce and the cake was delicious. I use 1 1/2 cup of sugar and the sweetness was just right. I substituted 1 medium banana (1/2 cup) for 1/2 cup oil as we don't get apple sauce here and it was undetectable. A great substitute. Can someone who reviews after me please tell me how long to boil the sauce . I too used cinnamon 1 tsp and nutmeg 1/4 tsp and baked in a 9x13. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      This was excellent!!! Not that you need another review...made this tonight and WOW!!!!! I did add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves and 1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg, omitted the nuts as I did not have any and wow!!!! Excellent, thank you for sharing...oh and I did not have apple juice I used OJ and it worked great...thank you!!! Definitely a keeper. UPDATE...MAY 10, 2008 Just adding here have made this again in a bundt pan, this time using exact ingredients, and my cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg as stated above, just needed a little longer cook time, just watch and test with a tooth pick. This is such a family favorite and a huge hit at all times...thanks again, I've added some pics enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      This was great. I used 1/2 oil 1/2 applesauce. Poked it alot so that the carmel would seep in. The cake tastes better warmed up a little. Next time i will try a little nutmeg and maybe cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

    • on April 02, 2008

      This was an excellent cake. I liked that it wasn't smothered in cream cheese frosting. The Caramel Glaze on top was a perfect amount of sweet addition to the cake. I used pecans instead of walnuts as that is what I had on hand. I also liked that I could whip it together without getting out the kitchen aid stand mixer (although I love to play with it). I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This was wonderful. The apples and walnuts gave it a nice texture. It was moist and apple infused. It reminded DD of apple oatmeal. Delicious! You can also add a small jar of baby food applesauce or regular applesauce in place of 1/2 C oil to make it a little more figure friendly. Thanks for sharing this cake recipe--I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Wonderful! I just made this cake this morning and it is gone already! I made two 8X8 inch cakes, one went to a friend and the other we kept. They baked for 45 minutes and only took a few minutes to whip up. I used cameo apples, it took 1 and a half apples to make three cups (I live in Washington and we have HUGE apples out right now). I didn't add in the nuts but didn't miss them at all. Next time I will try with. I also added 1/2 a tablespoon of cinnamon and 1/2 a teaspoon of nutmeg, added a bit of flavor so I would do that again. Poking the holes in the top was a great idea. I wouldn't double the topping , I made a regular batch and had a fair amount left over. Very good and tasty, I am going to make it again tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Holy Cow this was amazing! I had some leftover pecans that I used and the sauce was wonderful! DH is anti-nuts and has requested this again w/o the nuts since he only ate 2 1/2 pieces before the teenagers wiped us out! I loved how easy this was to whip up and we'll definately be making again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This was wonderful! Easy to make and delicious - loved the caramel-like topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      OH MY! this was the best cake ever. I made this recipe for my family and they almost ate the whole cake in one evening because they loved it so much. I will try adding a touch of Cinnamon to the recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe. I have an apple cake recipe that I have been using for years but this one was a little different. I followed the recipe exactly except for putting in a few golden raisins and cooked it in a tube pan. Had to cook it about 60 minutes. I can strongly recommend this recipe to anyone as it is simple to make and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Wow!!! Sooo moist even without the sauce..loved it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.3
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    45%
    Total Fat 32.3 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 262.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 55.7 g
    223%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes