Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    215 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 215

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2008

      I thought this was a good cake, but I don't know that I would say it's the BEST cake ever! Easy to make and a great cake to get you into the fall spirit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Great Cake! I got done mixing everything up and found that my 13x9 had mysteriously vanished. Baked in 2 9inch round pans and it came out perfectly. I sprinkled the top with cinnamon and allspice before baking. I picked this to take to a baby shower so I was extremely pleased when both cakes just poped right out of the pans without any trouble. And it was just dense enough to cut into pieces without any crumbling which made for a lovely presentation. It was referred to throughout the morning as the "Delightful applicious bakey thing" lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Best is no exaggeration! This is awesome! My only adjustment is that I add a teaspoon of cinnamon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Very moist and yummy! I did change a couple things, in order to reduce fat...1/2 c oil and 1 c apple sauce and no apple juice. The glaze was perfect! Thanks for sharing, I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This was a winner for us. A great moist cake with a wonderfully easy caramel glaze. My hubby had a piece and I took the rest to work. It was almost all gone by lunch time and there are only 12 of us in the office. Thanks for a great recipe, Rose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      I'm not much for apple desserts, but DH loves them so I thought I'd give this one a shot. It's fantastic!! The sauce really makes it; I plan on doubling it next time. Thanks for sharing your great recipe, Rose! EDIT: After enjoying this cake again the next day, I don't plan on doubling the sauce anymore. The sauce soaks into the cake and flavors it perfectly. I never thought I'd see the day when an apple dessert was one of my all time favorites! YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Just okay for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half regular flour. I agree with the last couple of posters that it was more like apple bread than cake but that didnt really matter to me or anyone else that tried this. It was really really delicious and I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      This was great for a potluck or for a fall dessert. Really anytime. The apples were not as prevelant as I thought they would be, but it was good nonetheless. Didn't stop me from eating bite after bite after bite! The glaze is what makes it special. I agree with ilovecuppycakes that it is more like a bread. maybe in my mind I envison a dense APPLE, but this is not that type of cake. Would make again and proudly serve to company. (I did think adding cinnamon might be nice while mixing this, but stuck to the recipe. I think this it is dandy just as written.) TY for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      PERFECT FOR AUTUMN! The only reason I gave this 4 stars, instead of 5, was because I was looking for more of a "cake" texture. I shared these with neighbors, and they all really liked them... even the next morning. Good flavor, but much more of a bread texture. If you are looking for a dense, chunky, homey dessert, this is the one for you. I made these as cupcakes, and topped them with a caramel (topping) swirl and a small pretty, piped star of cinnamon cream cheese frosting. I will make these again, but as a "muffin" instead of "cupcake"... then I think I would have to give this recipe 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Good! I did think it could use a 1/2 tsp of some sort of spice like cinnamon or all spice. I like another review preffer the taste of butter. I know its not healthy but it taste soo much better. Next time I will also replace the apple juice with apple sauce or sour cream, hopefully that will make the cake a little bit moister.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      In Canada, we are celebrating Thanksgiving this weekend. I made this last night for our family dinner and it was very good! I subbed half the oil for apple sauce as many suggested. The glaze was the perfect finishing touch to this not-too-rich-and-guilt-free Autumn dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Yummy way to use my extra apples from apple picking. I did make a few adjustments after reading other reviews. First, I cut the recipe in 1/2 and baked in 8x8 for 25 min. Only 1/2 c sugar and 1 egg. 1/2 c veg oil + 1/2 c unsw applesauce. Then another dab of applesauce and some water to get the "apple juice". Pecans instead of walnuts (as that's what I had around).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      I do not know if this was just mine, but the cake tasted an aweful lot like oil, and I didnt even put in a whole cup. I guess I am used to butter. Also, I am not one for spices, but maybe some cinnamon might give it more flavor. I was saving this recipe and wanted so much to like it when apple picking time came! No one will eat this, sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Oh my goodness, this was so delicious!! I eat a very healthy diet and I think this cake was well worth the calories but next time I may try using half apple sauce and half oil as other reviewers have suggested. Aside from peeling and chopping the apples, it was also really simple. I gave big pieces to a couple of my fiances' friends on football Sunday and they came back for seconds. I'm so glad this is the recipe I chose for my first apple cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This was quite yummy!! I cooked it for 50 minutes but, will cook a few minutes less next time. I only used half of the topping as, I was afraid the cake may be too sweet. With half the topping, this cake was perfect for us!! Thanks for the delicious recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This was wonderfully moist and yummy. My husband raved; saying it was the best non-chocolate cake I've made. And other than the apple chopping, it was very easy to assemble. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I took this into work and they rated it. they all loved it but didn't know it was apple cake, next time I'll add some cinnamon to give it that traditional taste. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      I used this recipe for a fall-themed pot luck luncheon at work. I have never received so many rave reviews! the cake was easy to put together. I used macintosh apples b/c they were in the bowl on our table. it ended up very sweet (which was fine with me), but I had accompanied the dish with Slow Cooked Cinnamon Applesauce (slow cooked cinnamon applesauce) which was tart and it was an excellent compliment. I am already looking forward to making this cake again. great find - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This is my second attempt at apple cake and this recipe was much better than the last! I used half whole wheat flour, 1/2 c LESS sugar, and added about a tablespoon of lemon juice (my apples were not tart). I used 1/2 & 1/2 for the caramel sauce and it worked fine. The only thing is the sauce made too much so unless you'll use it for something else I'd halve it next time. Yum, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.3
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    45%
    Total Fat 32.3 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 262.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 55.7 g
    223%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes