219 Reviews

We love anything with apple in it and apple cakes are favorites. This is a wonderful recipe, but we prefer to substitute orange juice for apple. It seems to cut back on the sweetness. Other than that it is fine as written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 October 19, 2008

What a fabulous recipe this is! I made it with splenda for baking and splenda blend brown sugar to cut down on the sugar content, and it turned out great...sure is yummy when it is still warm from the oven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc October 09, 2007

Absolutely delicious and moist! My family and coworkers loved it! So easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carla F. February 15, 2016

Very good. A keeper. I did half oil and half Apple sauce. It's very moist. To me this recipe was screaming for cinnamon so I added a heaping teaspoon. I used a skewer to poke holes and after the glaze set you could still see the holes so I made another batch of glaze to fill them up. I don't think it will be to much. I also added a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla to the glaze. This is very delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gumyrocks2 November 25, 2015

This cake is very mildly flavored on its own. You'll definitely want to add a good amount of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. We really enjoyed it and didn't find it to be oily, just moist. The caramel glaze is delicious. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophie1017 September 01, 2015

This was delicious!... soooo good! And it definitely serves more than 12... 5 rows of 3... 15 pieces brings the calories down to 507 (and if you're counting calories, you can have 1/2 a piece without too much guilt).<br/><br/>I used freshly ground whole wheat flour (I like to try whole wheat flour and wasn't sure how that would work... it was great!). The caramel sauce was amazing. I'm so excited to find this recipe. I had lost my favorite apple cake recipe and am so glad I found this.<br/><br/>Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW February 09, 2015

I found this cake to be too sweet. I might try making it again with 50% less sugar in the glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hang N. November 27, 2014

The VERY best apple cake is Blue Ribbon Apple Cake from America's Test Kitchens. It's involved and time consuming, but well worth the effort. The Food.com cake given here is much easier, but a cake made with oil can in no way be as good as one made with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brette P. September 25, 2014

I made this as per the recipe, but did add cinnamon. It took a lot longer to cook than it said (about 30 mins extra). Didn't feel greasy or oily like some reviewers said, but did taste a little bland and perhaps a little oily too. Wasn't horrible but was nothing special either. I won't make this again, might try tweaking the recipe to add more flavour and reduce some oil or something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saire April 12, 2014

Bland Bland Bland Read the reviews... Everyone has made changes then reviewed their changes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veronica R. March 06, 2014
Best Apple Cake