Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    215 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 215

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2010

      This is my only apple cake recipe from now on. It is everything and more we expected from it. Followed recipe exactly as we love everything in it. Had a light dinner so we could enjoy dessert. Priorities. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful! We made this for Valentine's Day and it turned out wonderfully! The flavors of the nuts, the apples, and the sauce really complement each other well. We also used pecans instead of walnuts. My children loved the sauce so much that they were licking up the spots where it had spilled on the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Great cake that is perfect for breakfast or a snack. We enjoyed it with coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      This is a fantastic recipe. My husband of ]45 years says it was the best cake he has ever eaten. I used Mac's for the apples, and dark brown sugar for the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Dense, sweet, rich, and lovely even with some modifications to make it gluten free... I used GF flour plus 3 tsp xanthan gum, added a quarter cup of yogurt, and subbed milk for the apple juice (just because I didn't have any juice.) I had to add a little extra milk to get the texture right but it cooked up beautifully and the sauce was great. I did add a little cinnamon and next time I would cut back the sugar by at least 1/2 a cup but that's just my taste. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      OMG-I could not stop eating this. It was so moist and even my ILs asked for the recipe. I didn't even make the glaze. These are my subs: cut back the sugar to 1.5c, used .5c oil and .5c whole milk, added 1 tsp cinnamon. Next time I may cut back the oil more and use applesauce as others have done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I have been on recipe zaar a while and I have never reveiwed a recipe, but this one "takes the cake" so to speak... I also followed the advice of fellow reviewers and cut the sugar 1 1/2 cups and also used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 of apple sauce. This is a great go-to recipe. I almost always have the ingredients on hand. My family is not really into sweets, so I wanted to try something new and they ALL raved on it...I should have made two! Easy easy...I could just go on and on! I make it a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Made this cake.. Just changed a couple things.. Instead of just fresh cut up apples i used dehydrated apple chips that were soaked in apple cider sugar and cinnamon and instead of the apple juice i used the cider that i marinated the apples in before dehydrating them. I gave a piece to my roommate who said he didnt like apple cake and he took one bite and couldnt stop.. LOL. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      This is a wonderful cake! Reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 or 1 2/3 cups makes it perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Excellent moist, dense caramely cake. Everybody loved it and it was super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Well this recipe is appropriately titled!!!! We really enjoyed this. I did need the entire 50 minutes baking time -- and perhaps could have added another 3 or 5 minutes. I also added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. The glaze is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon & replaced 1/2 of the oil with apple sauce. This was a big hit. Shared with friends & everyone enjoyed it. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      This was way too sweet for my taste. If I were to make this again, I would add some spices & use tarter (green?) apples. On the 1st day it was way too oily & sweet. The next day I only had half a slice & that's just the right amount or it gets too sweet/greasy for me! Try a sharper apple as I found the sugary glaze drowned out the taste of the apple. This cake freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This is so good! I made the following changes. I used half oil and half applesauce (homemade sugar free), this decrease the oil taste some were talking about. The cake wasn't oily to me. I added cinnamon and nutmeg too. The sauce is amazing with this cake I doubled it and used about 3/4 of it. I also decreased the sugar by 1/2 c. The cake was not too sweet and super moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Excellent!! I love apple cake and am always searching for the best recipe. Well my search is over. My oven is often unreliable in terms of temperature and when i took it out at 50 min i could tell it was slightly overdone. I was worried but no need it was quite moist despite this. Like other reviews i added cinnamon and nutmeg. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I'm sorry I can't agree with the other reviewers on this one. It came out way too dense for me. I was looking for a moist, light, fluffy cake. It had okay flavor, but not what I wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      OMG!!!! This was just wonderful! The glaze really makes this cake. I used MacIntosh apples - next time I think I will mix them with a couple of Granny Smiths. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

    • on January 03, 2009

      i made them twice and i didnt get to taste it...oh blimey...anyway, i used 1 and haf cup of the juice...it was more easier to stir...thumbs up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Wonderful cake! I prepared the recipe just as described with addition of cinnamon and cloves. My guests loved it and all asked for some to take home. You've got 5 new devotees to this recipe. Thanks for a wonderful treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.3
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    45%
    Total Fat 32.3 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 262.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 55.7 g
    223%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes