218 Reviews

OH MY! this was the best cake ever. I made this recipe for my family and they almost ate the whole cake in one evening because they loved it so much. I will try adding a touch of Cinnamon to the recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JC #2 March 10, 2008

This is an excellent recipe. I have an apple cake recipe that I have been using for years but this one was a little different. I followed the recipe exactly except for putting in a few golden raisins and cooked it in a tube pan. Had to cook it about 60 minutes. I can strongly recommend this recipe to anyone as it is simple to make and very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. J March 06, 2008

Wow!!! Sooo moist even without the sauce..loved it. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook February 27, 2008

This was the first recipe I tried on Zaar. The cake is amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deltagyrl February 23, 2008

We loved the cake. It reminded me of the cake my g'ma used to make. DH loved the sauce I drizzled over. Thank you for an old fashioned recipe from my childhood. Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 22, 2008

This is the yummiest apple cake you will ever eat. My husband said when I review it to tell you he gives it 6 stars! You will not be disappointed in this lucious cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephana101 February 20, 2008

Fabulous cake!! It is truly addictive and hard to walk away from. As suggested by other reviewers, I used half the oil and replaced it with apple sauce. When I make it again, I'll double the sauce recipe because it is just too delicious! Thanks for the amazing recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angiepangie February 17, 2008

found this very easy and a great sweet tasty pudding. will make again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bevs kitchen February 14, 2008

I followed the recipe and mine turned out very wet and soggy. None of my family liked it much. The caramel flavor was little bland for our liking and the cake texture was very gooey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asiaford1 February 14, 2008

This was a fantastic cake that I will make again. I did take another reviewers suggestion and used 1/4 cup apple juice and 1/4 cup rye and it was a nice addition and gave the cake some additional depth. I left everything else the same and served with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos February 09, 2008
Best Apple Cake