Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    215 Total Reviews

    Showing 201-215 of 215

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2006

      Great cake! I made exactly as written - was going to replace 1/2 the oil with applesauce as others had suggested, but I ended up rushing to get it in the oven while we ate dinner, so didn't bother. Delicious - I'm trying to keep myself from sneaking "small bites" all throughout the day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      To be honest, I found nothing spectacular with this cake. It was edible, but nothing to rave about. I found the topping dull and the cake bland. I did not use nuts because no one eating it is fond of them, and I'm sure that could have contributed to some of the taste lost, but I'm not convinced having them would have cured it either. I sprinkled cinnamon on it and replaced the butter for the topping with cream cheese and whipped that and used it for topping for the second loaf (making two smaller loaves instead of one).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      DH says this is the best cake he ever tasted!Excellent flavor. I added a tsp of cinnamon & a tsp of star anise.Next time I will cut back on the oil and use applesauce, as other posters have suggested. The sauce was very good...reminds me of a pecan praline sauce.Will make again...and again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Overall the cake was good. I did add some cinnamon to it which went really good together with the apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      very good I did not make the glaze but I don't think it really needs it. I used 1/2 apple sauce 1/2 oil and used some water and apple sauce to replace the Apple juice. I only made a half recipe and it came out fine in an 8X8 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      This was the BEST apple cake I have ever eaten. DH really loved it. I'll be making this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      This cake was very easy to make. I baked it in a round 9" spring form pan, and thus it took longer to cook. The consistency was light and fluffy but the taste was not as good as I expected. I think it would be much better with a butter/sugar base instead of oil. The caramel sauce on the otherhand was absolutly delicous! I think I will make it and eat it with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      YUUMM!! This was delicious. This cake is very moist and the glaze put it over the top!! My family devoured it and gave it 2 HUGE thumbs up. The only change I made was to use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the 1 cup oil. I have a recipe that is very similar to this cake recipe (except it doesn't have the glaze) and it also called for 1 cup oil. Wanting to reduce the fat content, I substituted half of the oil with applesauce and it turned out perfect. Well, it definitely worked in this recipe as well!! Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      This is a very nice cake. DH was happy to have it to take in his lunch. The sauce is yummy. The next time I make this I will serve the cake warm with ice cream and drizzle slightly warm sauce over all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Oh my goodness i have never had a apple cake taste this good, it's even good without the amazing sauce. This will definatley be a family favourite! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Brought this cake to our annual church valentine sweetheart supper for a dessert. Out of all the desserts, and there were plenty, this was cake was gone. I didn't even get a piece! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Very good. I just made it and barely had time to let it cool before the kids got into it and gave it a thumbs up. I followed the directions and used all it called for. Great Apple Cake.. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Directions were easy to follow. I did cut back on the sugar by a half a cup, and used pecans instead of walnuts because they were opened. I`m not much on sweets,but have to tell you I tried one piece and of course had to "try" another.Not a great idea right before supper time. Maybe I will make a light supper so I can "try" some more. My Dh said it was excellent and to make it a keeper. Next time I may double the sauce recipe ,and see how it turns out. This would be fantastic served with ice cream. Thanks so very much Rose of Sharon for sharing this recipe. chef no. 199947

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Utterly and amazingly delicious. I could not be happier right now! I did substitute half the oil with applesauce. It worked just fine for me. One thing not to do though, is sub the cream for skim milk. I didn't have any cream, so I used milk, and it did not work well. I'm glad I found this recipe now, and I don't have to look for any more! Great recipe, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      This is a most delicious and moist cake that we both thoroughly enjoyed. The caramel sauce is wonderful! It was fudgy and caramely and very delicious and went very well with the cake. This is going to be a new favorite around here! Thanks so much for a fantastic apple cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.3
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    45%
    Total Fat 32.3 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 262.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 55.7 g
    223%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes