218 Reviews

I don't understand people that give something 5 stars and say it was delicious, then proceed to list all the things they did to the recipe to make it better. As posted, this recipe is not good. I almost didn't make it because it doesn't have any seasoning whatsoever and way too much oil, but decided to trust the reviewers and go for it. Mistake. It has no flavor, is too oily and just plain blah. You'd be better off dipping the slices of apples in the carmel sauce and skipping the cake.

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrilljoy October 01, 2010

As written this recipe is not very good - WAY too oily (like leaves a puddle of oil on a napkin). However, now I see that other reviewers have reviewed it with added spices and half the oil, so I guess that's where the 5-star rating comes from and I'll try again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS September 12, 2010

Absolutely delicious.. Couldn't have been happier with the way it turned out.. Yes I made a few alterations, instead of using 1 cup of vegetable oil, I used 1 cup of melted butter, and I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, a quarter of a teaspoon of allspice and a small pinch of ground cloves to the flour and it was perfect. The only drawback that I could find was that the cake is so yummy that it goes too fast. I only made it today and it's nearly all gone.. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bevs5kids June 15, 2010

Yummy..... This recipe will make exactly 24 medium sized muffins.....your average cupcake size. -----I made these, put small amounts of the glaze on top of each and sprinkled them with nuts. Be sure to cut the cooking time down a bit and cook at 325 degrees instead of 350 degrees.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soleil Luna February 06, 2009

Easily my new favorite Fall recipe.. and I am definitely more of a pumpkin fan than apple but this cake is amazing! The few alterations I made were adding a teaspoon of cinnamon, substituting the cup of oil for 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, and adding a little bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to the glaze. And don't forget to poke some holes in the cake before adding glaze so it really seeps in! DELICIOUS.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
i3ritt September 11, 2010

I reduced the sugar in the cake by 1/2c. and was tempted to reduce the sugar in the glaze by the same amount(wish I had). This cake is very good & moist (I also added cinnamon & nutmeg per other's suggestions). It is very, very sweet. I think the glaze was improved with the addition of a 1/2t. of vanilla extract. If I make again, I will reduce the sugar more. Thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau June 16, 2010

Very moist cake. I replaced half the oil with apple sauce and cut the sugar back to 1.5 C, it turned out wonderfully.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dorisfarrar October 20, 2009

This cake has been on my to-do list for years, ever since I saw chef MarieAlice's picture of the cake. I made the cake today with Cortland apples. This cake lived up to all of my expectations. I'm glad I had the suggestions of other chefs to poke holes all over the cake with a tooth pick before pouring the sauce over it. I spread about half of the glaze over the warm cake, waited about 15 minutes for the glaze to set and be absorbed and then spread the remaining glaze over the cake. This is truly a fantastic cake.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 20, 2009

I found this cake to be too sweet. I might try making it again with 50% less sugar in the glaze.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
transbreakage October 18, 2009

I have made this a couple of times. Very good. I usually keep the recipe as posted...HOWEVER, I have started to add 1 Tablespoon of RUM to the glaze. VERY HM HM GOOD. It send it right over the top in house. Perfect for the holiday.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rev.CCJ August 22, 2009
Best Apple Cake