Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bertha's "highly-Requested" Macaroni & Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bertha's "highly-Requested" Macaroni & Cheese

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2008

      Made 1/2 a recipe easily and used some Montreal Steak Seasoning Montreal Steak Seasoning and Lawrey's Seasoned Salt Grilled Ground Meat Puffs, avoiding MSG. Requires a few steps but is worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I liked this macaroni however i would decrease the amount of egg as the taste of it came through. DH and DS thought it tasted like an omelete I however liked it but i dont think i would make it again as i would be the only one eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      It was cold and rainy yesterday and we thought a big bowl of macaroni & cheese would be perfect...and "perfect" it was. We particularly liked the addition of the Lawry's and Accent seasoning. Once again this proves that you don't need complicated recipes and expensive ingredients to have a lovely dish. Thanks for sharing, Meg Williams.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      My kids LOVE this recipe! Even my in-laws who don't like mac n cheese went back for seconds saying they'd never had anything like it. This is the best mac n cheese EVER! Thanks for posting...KUDOS to Bertha!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      I thought this mac and cheese was awesome! I loved the heartiness of it with the eggs. It was definitely very good. I couldn't eat that much of it though because it was so filling, so we have lots of yummy left overs :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      There's something about this recipe that keeps you going back for more. I'm so picky when it comes to macaroni and cheese and this was DELICIOUS! Next time I'll only add 1T of sugar and the only change I made was I started with a white cream base, used Half & Half I needed to use up in lieu of evap milk. I wasn't sure about the eggs, but it turned out well. Meg, thanks for sharing Bertha's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      This recipe had a lot of good flavor. I think I would have liked it a littler more creamy. I will try it again but will try not actually simmering the pasta with the liquid first and see if I get a moister end product. The addition of the egg reminded me of the Mac & Cheese that my high school cafeteria used to make over 40 years ago, which I thought was one of their best dishes! I might even try adding a couple of eggs to my own posted Mac & Cheese recipe. Thanks for sharing your mother's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      I found the addition of sugar puzzling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bertha's "highly-Requested" Macaroni & Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.0
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    45%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 105.4 mg
    35%
    Sodium 339.1 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 21.4 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites