167 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic. I used all strawberries and added in one mashed banana. I also cut the sugar down to about 1/3 c, used applesauce in place of the oil, and used whole wheat flour. These were so moist and delicious. For me this recipe made 14 regular muffins (cupcake size). I love them and my kids did, too. NOTE: DO NOT USE the paper liners. We lose about 1/3 of the muffin as it sticks to the liner. However, the mini-muffins I made and sprayed with non-stick spray came out perfectly.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin April 12, 2011

I've made these a couple times and they are my husband's favorite (and I make a lot of muffins). They are moist and very yummy. I bought a potato masher just to mash the berries for this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornbeauty October 12, 2010

Our strawberries turned out really great this year and I used them in this muffin recipe. They had a wonderful juicy berry flavor. Very moist and tender. All in my family loved them and there were none left-over. I didn't use paper cups, just greased my muffin tin and they came out fine. Thanks for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 18, 2003

These are very dense as other reviewers noted. I would definately soak the strawberries in a little sugar for 30 minutes+ before adding them to the mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sljohns March 25, 2010

I served these to company and my eight year old nephew declared "these don't have any taste." Now I didn't take it too seriously because an eight year old boy is hardly the best judge of good food. But I did think they lacked a little something ( another reviewer suggested a little brown sugar and extra cinnamon.) I did enjoy them and was pleased to be able to use fresh seasonal fruit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee April 18, 2009

These were quite good, but to be honest it's not something I'd make again. I expected much more flavour and personally didn't like the cinnamon in it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeBean July 20, 2008

The muffins were easy to make and froze great however I felt that they were missing something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Lori June 13, 2008

These were so easy to make and tasted great! I was only able to make 9 muffins though, and they all went fast at our playgroup!! I used only 1/2 cup sugar and they still tasted great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
walksambenet June 25, 2003

These were a fun, easy snack for the kids today. I used frozen strawberries and subbed coconut oil for the veg. oil and added a little ground flaxseed. The kids had fun mashing all the ingredients together. It seems like a very forgiving recipe. It would be easy to add nuts, chocolate chips, a banana, more or fewer strawberries (I think we had more strawberries than the recipe called for but we were just "eyeballing it"), etc.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Diner December 03, 2014

My muffins turned out well. I doubled the recipe, used 1 C of oat flour instead of all white flour, cut the sugar in half, substituted applesauce for oil, and added a mashed banana. Even with doubling the recipe, I only got 1 1/2 doz muffins...but they did rise well, and looked great. I agree that they need a little more flavor, so I think adding a teaspoon of vanilla could be a great addition. I've added a picture of my first batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crickylynne November 14, 2014
Berry-Smash Muffins (Strawberry Muffins)