175 Reviews

Fantastic. I used all strawberries and added in one mashed banana. I also cut the sugar down to about 1/3 c, used applesauce in place of the oil, and used whole wheat flour. These were so moist and delicious. For me this recipe made 14 regular muffins (cupcake size). I love them and my kids did, too. NOTE: DO NOT USE the paper liners. We lose about 1/3 of the muffin as it sticks to the liner. However, the mini-muffins I made and sprayed with non-stick spray came out perfectly.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin April 12, 2011

I've made these a couple times and they are my husband's favorite (and I make a lot of muffins). They are moist and very yummy. I bought a potato masher just to mash the berries for this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornbeauty October 12, 2010

Our strawberries turned out really great this year and I used them in this muffin recipe. They had a wonderful juicy berry flavor. Very moist and tender. All in my family loved them and there were none left-over. I didn't use paper cups, just greased my muffin tin and they came out fine. Thanks for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 18, 2003

Looking through other reviewers, I made some adjustments and they turned out dynamite!<br/><br/>reduce white sugar and throw in brown,<br/>use applesauce, not oil,<br/>and CUT IN small chunks of cream cheese.<br/><br/>Pure heaven

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Culinary Experimenter April 29, 2014

These are very dense as other reviewers noted. I would definately soak the strawberries in a little sugar for 30 minutes+ before adding them to the mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sljohns March 25, 2010

I served these to company and my eight year old nephew declared "these don't have any taste." Now I didn't take it too seriously because an eight year old boy is hardly the best judge of good food. But I did think they lacked a little something ( another reviewer suggested a little brown sugar and extra cinnamon.) I did enjoy them and was pleased to be able to use fresh seasonal fruit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee April 18, 2009

These were quite good, but to be honest it's not something I'd make again. I expected much more flavour and personally didn't like the cinnamon in it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeBean July 20, 2008

The muffins were easy to make and froze great however I felt that they were missing something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Lori June 13, 2008

These were so easy to make and tasted great! I was only able to make 9 muffins though, and they all went fast at our playgroup!! I used only 1/2 cup sugar and they still tasted great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
walksambenet June 25, 2003

This is definitely the best strawberry cupcake recipe I've made! I love to bake and have tried many recipes and prefer this recipe over all the others. The ingredients list is perfect. The only thing I think is missing from the recipe is one very crucial step. After smashing the strawberries add the sugar to it and let it sit for about 15 minutes. This will enhance the flavor of the strawberries and give you the extra liquid needed to make this recipe turnout amazing and not dry as some has stated. Thank you for such an amazingly strawberrylicious recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Brooks August 07, 2016
Berry-Smash Muffins (Strawberry Muffins)