18 Reviews

This was pretty good, even my hubby liked it. I was looking for an apple crisp so I changed it a little bit. Used 16 oz of sliced and cored apples instead of the fruit. Used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and nutmeg. And 1/4 cup evaporated skim milk, I agree with another review and will up that to 1/2 cup next time. For the crisp I used 1/4 Splenda brown sugar substitue instead and I didn't have any fat free plain yogurt so I used 6 oz fat free sour cream and it turned out good. Loved how easy this was, will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teribug12 April 27, 2009

My only criticism is that the Splenda gives it a slightly artificial taste, but that can't be helped if you want it to be core/diet. It is peach season here, so I substituted fresh sliced peaches for the berries, and it worked great. I didn't measure them, just added enough to fill the baking dish. Since ginger goes well with peaches, I added a small amount of powdered ginger, about 1/4 tsp. I also followed the suggestion of another review to cut down the yogurt to 6 ounces. It resulted in a crispy crust. Everyone in the family loved it, including my husband, who hates anything that he perceives as diet food. We will make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tikidoc August 22, 2008

Not bad, but not great either. The topping never got crisp, just chewy. Also, this was definitely not sweet enough for me. Not sure I'd make this again. UPDATE: I made this again, but doubled the sugar and only added 2 tablespoons of yogurt into the topping. It made the topping crisp and sweet! So much better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar Doll March 31, 2015

Delicious! I made this for breakfast this morning & really enjoyed it. I used a box of instant vanilla pudding instead of the "cook & serve" kind (couldn't find it in the store), and it was just fine. I used 6 oz. of fat-free vanilla Greek yogurt (all I had on hand) instead of the plain yogurt in the topping. The topping was too thick to spread on top, so I added a little skim milk to make it easier to spread. It was still a little too thick, so I'll probably add a little more milk next time. Even so, it browned and crisped nicely in the oven and tasted great. So easy! I'll definitely make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outtatime September 07, 2013

The fruit filling was very tasty! But I might prefer a little less spice. The topping seemed more crust-like than crumb-ish which is different from crisp recipes I have used before! Interesting! Thanks for sharing! ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau March 08, 2009

This was the first Core recipe I tried and it was great! I loved the almond flavoring. It added just the right flavor to make the topping unique. The fact that it was so easy and quick to make was another added bonus. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jilllongstreet January 07, 2009

Made this today and we really like it. I made it just was put down except I added a bit more whole grains to the topping. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bea A Gal... January 05, 2009

Good, but not great. Next time I am going to do the suggestion of others and decrease the yogurt to 6 oz. and use apples or peaches. I think I would like it better with vanilla instead of almond extract also. I will try again and experiment with Core Foods.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara from Missouri December 03, 2008

Very good, but not exceptional. This is great for those on a diet, and for those not liking their desert too sweet. I served this with strawberry frozen yogurt. Also cut down the yogurt to 6 oz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Living la vida a belleza August 24, 2008

I'm sorry but this recipe turned out awful! I followed it exactly and it was not a pretty picture! First of all, there is WAY too much nutmeg! A Dash would have been sufficient. The topping was not crispy and I let it stay in a little extra time, too. I was so disappointed because since I've started my diet, I have been avoiding dessert. This was a let-down. Also, I wish I would have read the tips in the reviews before I made it. Thanks anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amygarcia May 08, 2008
Berry Crisp - Weight Watchers Core Recipe