36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Beautiful cake.. beautifully presented. Makes a wonderful gift or take along to dinners, breakfasts, etc. because it looks and tastes so good. I made only a couple of minor tweaks: added 1 tsp vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the crumbs reserved for the top of the cake. Very lightly sprinkled the cooled cake with confectioners sugar for a nice finishing touch.
FYI We have an abundance of wild blackberries at the farm. I cooked them down with sugar until they were thickened and used them in place of the preserves--fantastic! I bet one could do this with nearly any fruit. I think I may try peaches next as they are in season now. Also, I have baked it in both 9 and 10 inch springform pan. It works best in the 10 inch pan and bakes at the time specified. It took much longer in the 9 inch pan and even overcooked the cake a little to get the filling to set. Still, it was delicious and every last crumb disappeared. Thanks for this recipe. It's a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phunny Pharmer August 18, 2011

Impressive coffee cake, that would please anyone. It takes some effort in the preparation but it is worth it. I made 2 - one with apricot jam and one with raspberry jam and both were delicious. I'm thinking about trying some sour cherry preserves next time - the possibilities are endless. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW December 20, 2009

Wow, this is very good and moist and so beautiful. Would be great for a brunch where you're trying to impress!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. February 21, 2014

I am so glad we tried this one! As other reviewers have said, this cake is beautiful. I made this as directed with the strawberry preserves. It tasted great! I can see where one could add or change the seasonings, extracts, nuts or vary the preserves to make a myriad of variations and I am certain they would all be tasty. I will certainly be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle March 16, 2013

Sorry (: - I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe. Most of all, that I haven't let you know how much we love the cake, how it orginally saved my life. I had already made something for a "Family Shindig" and was asked at the last second to bring a cake. DH wanted me to deal with our over load of blueberries. Having all, I chose your recipe. It wasn't just a success, but, was received with great reviews and requests for the recipe. I have made it with other berries and apples too. This review is realy a "Thank You" for a great recipe that is a much loved keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal September 19, 2012

This is really good! I didn't see any reviews about making ahead of time so I took a chance and made as directed except for putting on the streusel topping and baking. I just covered with foil and refrigerated over night. This morning at 5:00 am topped with the streusel and baked, it turned out beautifully! My mom's caregiver walked in and said OMG what smells so good. So good warm from the oven. Made exact except for almond extract, I just don't like it so I subbed vanilla. I had a little trouble spreading the dough, I tried spreading with a fork, then buttered my hands, then sugared my hands. Any hints? Other than that easy recipe to follow. I will make again trying different variations of preserves & fruits. Great recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nina22541 March 15, 2012

I loved this coffee cake! It is like a big cream cheese pastry and with the spring form pan, looks like I purchased it rather than made it.
It is delicious and although it took a little time to prepare, it is well worth the time! I used my homemade strawberry jam as the fruit, and it made it perfect!
For a beautiful, professional looking coffee cake, this is the one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catom58 November 22, 2011

This cake turned out very well. It was much easier to make than expected. I heated the strawberry preserves in the microwave for about 30 seconds which made them much easier to spread over the cream cheese layer. While I love nuts on things the rest of the family can be finicky about what gets nuts and what doesn't so the next time I will leave them off. (30)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie January 23, 2011

Amazing! I made this without the almonds and it was sooo good! Definitely my new favorite coffee cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny December 31, 2010

Fabulous! My daughter's new favorite coffeecake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc September 12, 2010
Berry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake