8 Reviews

I barely had enough batter to make one layer so I put the berries on top. The cake didn't rise enough to cover the berries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maria t. October 11, 2015

Very nice and easy to make dessert. I didn't use all of the glaze, just thought it was too much! I used a mix of blueberries and blackberries. Made for ZWT 9 and "The Apron String Travelers"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim July 31, 2013

Aussie Swap #76: DELICIOUS!!! Made this coffee cake this past holiday weekend - outstanding and full of flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose May 28, 2013

Followed your recipe right on down, used a mix of frozen blueberries, raspberries & blackberries, & topped it with the glaze! This coffee cake was absolutely delicious, at least in the opinions of the 2 of us & a neighbor couple with whom we shared it! A nice keeper recipe, too! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 15, 2011

I loved the berry and the almond flavor but found the texture a bit odd - maybe a little gummy though it was thoroughly baked. I added a little vanilla and cinnamon to the batter but otherwise made the cake as directed. I skipped the glaze, which I don't usually care for and topped with a little whipped cream instead. Made for ZWT 7 for the Food.commandos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 23, 2011

Beautiful coffee cake! The almond is a showstopper and is perfect with the sweet berries and tender delicate cake. I made mine in an 8 in springform using vanilla bean yogurt and a combo of strawberries and blueberries. It took about 10 minutes longer to bake, but that could be my oven. Most breads/cakes seem to require a bit longer for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs June 23, 2011

I'm very pleased with how this cake turned out! I used the GF substitutions as recommended, and modified the yogurt & egg to vegan alternatives (chia egg and some soy cream cheese mixed with a little water). I love the almond flavour with the berries, might even add some lemon next time. I didn't bother with the glaze this time, but I would if I were taking this to a party or event, would be a nice touch. I found it needed more cooking time, probably due to all my subs, an extra 10 or 15 did it.....and although I was worried the edges would be really dry, that wasn't the case-the whole cake is very moist. Had some difficulty getting the cake batter to spread into the pan, but I know that's often the case with GF - even though it looked pretty sloppy going in, it looked great coming out. Thanks PaulaG! ZWT7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner June 19, 2011

This was excellent! Family loved it. Followed recipes as written, using frozen mixed berries. Easy recipe to make. Thank You. Made for ZWT7~Emerald City Shakers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 19, 2011
Berry Coffee Cake