8 Reviews

A very good way to use berries! I made this with strawberries and raspberries. The two kinds of berries gives a contrast of flavors that is very delicious. So easy to make! My choice for nuts was pecans. We toasted pieces of the bread and served it with butter and strawberry jam. Good job Nurse Di!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz July 28, 2002

Made this for a pot-luck brunch. Very easy to make. Moist but did not fall apart. Loved the strawberry/blueberry combination. Only used two teaspoons of cinnamon and the flavor was subtle which is how I like it. Wonderful warmed and spread with butter. Umm umm good. Thanks Nurse Di.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust June 20, 2002

Very good. Will most likely make this again. A great use of fresh berries right now - a nice alternative to banana bread.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne P June 26, 2002

Just baked this bread but I used wheat flour and added raspberries along with the strawberries and blueberries. Yummmmmmmy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lannlawson June 12, 2012

I made this using raspberries and blueberries. It was not what I expected. Perhaps it would have been sweeter if I had used strawberries, but I would have liked it to be sweeter. I thought it would be a great way to get the kids to eat berries they might not normally try, they didn't like it. I think I will keep looking, but thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 August 29, 2008

I forgot that the cinnamon would make the bread turn out brown, so I was disappointed that the colors didn't show up more. I wonder, too, if adding more berries would have intensified the berry flavor. I used 2 heaping T of cinn, but didn't find the flavor quite strong enough. The crusty crust, with butter on it, tastes like buttery cookie-yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise July 10, 2003

This is an unusual and great tasting recipe! Batter seemed too thick when I was mixing it, but it came out very moist. I used 2 teaspoons cinnamon as one reviewer suggested, but next time (and there will be a next time and a next time) I would use the full tablespoon. Very very good and thanks Nurse Di for taking the time to share all your good recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie September 04, 2002

Incredible!! I was amazed at how yummy this bread was. I liked the pairing of strawberries and blueberries. Tastes delicious and looks very colorful as well. This bread turned out very moist and my family all gave it 5-stars. Thanks Nurse Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes August 19, 2002
Berry Berry Bread