Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bermuda Johnny Bread (Caribbean) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bermuda Johnny Bread (Caribbean)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2013

      I'm a true blue Bermudian and used to make this all the time and decided to whip up a batch as I haven't made it in awhile...I needed a little reminder on the proportions of the ingredients and ended up here! I did it the way my mom used to by adding a little cornmeal to the mix. I also rub butter into the dry mixture-it gives the bread more taste and makes it really moist. I also use heavy cream instead of regular milk which also makes the bread more moist and tastier.<br/><br/>Someone here said they remove the salt because they like sweetness...I think it's important to add salt for flavour-it just adds a little something and doesn't make the mixture salty at all. If one likes sweetness, maybe add more sugar but it's important to add the salt!<br/><br/>This johnny bread is so good...we like to eat it with sharp cheddar cheese-deelish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      I tried this recipe this morning and my family loved it, They wanted more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      These are so good. I made them for lunch today. It was a spur of the moment decision. So easy to make. I used 2/3 whole wheat flour. I made them in a cast iron skillet and ate them with butter, raspberry preserves and coffee.My kids inhaled them :) I will make them many times more. Thanks for posting. Made for zwt5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Absolutely delicious spread with butter! Made for the Dining Daredevils ZWT 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This is delicious. With butter or without. We prefer them without butter. I omitted the salt. I like the sweetness. I used skim milk. Thanks Lazy Gourmet :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Great breakfast biscuit. Very easy to make with ingredients that I always have on hand. The batter is very thick...more like a dough. It is very important that you fry these on low heat so that the centers get cooked. These puff up nicely in the skillet during the cooking. Thanks for sharing. I will be keeping this recipe on hand for many breakfasts. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Great recipe and so easy! This was the first time I had ever made Johnny Bread and I liked it very much. I had some cantaloupe on the side and also some strawberry jam on top.Thank you for posting this! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I have great fun making breads, & this one was PURE JOY ~ Very simple (almost rustic), & especially nice with a homemade strawberry jam I had on hand! Thanks for a great, simple, keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed while in the Caribbean with ZWT5]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bermuda Johnny Bread (Caribbean)

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    24%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 274.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites