8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm a true blue Bermudian and used to make this all the time and decided to whip up a batch as I haven't made it in awhile...I needed a little reminder on the proportions of the ingredients and ended up here! I did it the way my mom used to by adding a little cornmeal to the mix. I also rub butter into the dry mixture-it gives the bread more taste and makes it really moist. I also use heavy cream instead of regular milk which also makes the bread more moist and tastier.<br/><br/>Someone here said they remove the salt because they like sweetness...I think it's important to add salt for flavour-it just adds a little something and doesn't make the mixture salty at all. If one likes sweetness, maybe add more sugar but it's important to add the salt!<br/><br/>This johnny bread is so good...we like to eat it with sharp cheddar cheese-deelish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bermudagirl31 March 22, 2013

I tried this recipe this morning and my family loved it, They wanted more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chinaeyezz April 30, 2011

These are so good. I made them for lunch today. It was a spur of the moment decision. So easy to make. I used 2/3 whole wheat flour. I made them in a cast iron skillet and ate them with butter, raspberry preserves and coffee.My kids inhaled them :) I will make them many times more. Thanks for posting. Made for zwt5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* June 02, 2009

Absolutely delicious spread with butter! Made for the Dining Daredevils ZWT 5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess June 01, 2009

This is delicious. With butter or without. We prefer them without butter. I omitted the salt. I like the sweetness. I used skim milk. Thanks Lazy Gourmet :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 30, 2009

Great breakfast biscuit. Very easy to make with ingredients that I always have on hand. The batter is very thick...more like a dough. It is very important that you fry these on low heat so that the centers get cooked. These puff up nicely in the skillet during the cooking. Thanks for sharing. I will be keeping this recipe on hand for many breakfasts. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 30, 2009

Great recipe and so easy! This was the first time I had ever made Johnny Bread and I liked it very much. I had some cantaloupe on the side and also some strawberry jam on top.Thank you for posting this! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah's Kitchen May 28, 2009

I have great fun making breads, & this one was PURE JOY ~ Very simple (almost rustic), & especially nice with a homemade strawberry jam I had on hand! Thanks for a great, simple, keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed while in the Caribbean with ZWT5]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 28, 2009
Bermuda Johnny Bread (Caribbean)