14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A must-try recipe for spinach lovers. Just so creamy and delicious. The only change I made was to add 4 cloves of minced garlic when the onions were about half cooked in step one. The chicken bouillon added heaps of flavour, and the nutmeg was a wonderful addition. This recipe is quick to make and, as a spinach lover, I'll be making it again. Just remembered, in the last few minutes of cooking, I also added a handful of baby spinach leaves that needed to be used. Thank you for posting this wonderfully flavoursome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder March 21, 2006

Exactly what I was looking for, thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaGNGa March 19, 2012

YUM! I really loved this recipe. It was creamy and full of flavor. I left out the nutmeg as I don't care for it much, but the dish was great even without it! Rave reviews from the SO and his family (and 15 year old son)! Thanks a lot for posting...this one is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smoofinator April 16, 2010

I microwaved my frozen spinach first before adding it to this recipe, but only because I started out making another recipe for creamed spinach but changed my mind and used this one instead. Good thing, too. I didn't drain my spinach but had no issues with that. Tasty, creamy and most importantly, something nutritious that my little one will eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood September 18, 2009

DELISH! I admit that I sort of expected it from the way the recipe sounded, but what I didn't expect was for my spinach-hating husband to eat *ALL* the leftovers. Greedy punk. :D What a fantastic blend of flavors this created. Thank you, Judy, for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) July 29, 2009

I used 'I Can't Believe it's not Butter' because I didn't have any real butter on hand, and it still came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulinka July 03, 2009

Very easy - very good. I will make often but will spice it up some for our tastes - perhaps some garlic or more onion...good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! March 16, 2009

Wow this was really good and easy to make!! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' in NJ January 10, 2009

This is the best!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reamerman9 January 01, 2008

I used to live in Chicago, and used to order the turkey platter at the Berghoff just because the creamed spinach, the best I have ever had, came with it. Now I'm far away and was happy to try this easy recipe. It doesn't taste exactly like the berghoff spich, but it is really good and anyone would like it. Very quick and easy to make too. I halved it easily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 01, 2007
Berghoff's Creamed Spinach